New 4WD But Which One?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 09:14
ThreadID: 83319 Views:5302 Replies:7 FollowUps:4

Related Pages

The time has come for me to start looking for a new 4WD but I'm not too sure which way to go?

I want solid axles front and rear and am looking at either a Nissan or Toyota but open to any suggestions.

My job makes me travel about 1000 k's a week so I'm looking at whatever will give me the better fuel economy. I'm not a lead foot and hardly ever feel the need for speed so it doesn't need to be a rocketship.

I'm also after a turbo diesel (prefereably 6cyl). Has to have power steering and AC.

I need to carry bits and pieces for my job so a ute is out of the question. The rig will be setup for camping/touring with fridge, 2nd battery and so on.

My budget will be around $10K - $15K.

Thanks.

Reply By: Turbo Lux - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 11:15

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 11:15
Siringo

I think you may be looking at either a GQ Patrol or 80 Series Cruiser, both vehicles will have a few km's on them by now, the patrol will be cheaper and as always easy to fix with bullet proof running gear, the cruiser will be more comfortable to drive and will also offer possible a factory Turbo Diesel that will give more power than the old GQ, the GQ will cost less to buy than the 80 series as well. The hard part will be finding one in good condition, they are getting harder to find!.. You could also consider a Discovery as it will give you the live axle option but only offer a 4 cyld diesel.

Happy hunting...
AnswerID: 440183

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 12:42

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 12:42
Hi Siringo,
I agree with what Turbo Lux has said above.
I think you maybe asking a bit to get an 80 TD for 10-15K. This is the going price for petrol models.
Even an old girl like mine(91 1HT-D GXL) with log books, service history and 318 000k's on her, you will be looking at anywhere between 18-25k. Seriously they are not cheap. And the 96 Multii-valves are even dearer and rarer to find.
It took a good mate 9 months to find an 80 93 1HD-T GXL with 310 000K's on her.
Either the Patrol 4.2 TD or 80 4.2 TD with suit your needs.
BTW, if you do find an 80, especially a TD, make sure the Big End Bearings have been replace every 100 000k's, the turbo isn't kind to them. It's about a $400 plus oil & filter job from a workshop.

Good luck with it all & happy travels.

AnswerID: 440191

Reply By: Siringo - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 15:11

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 15:11
Thanks for the replies people, much appreciated.

I read after I posted that Prado's can fold up to 180 litres of fuel, I know they have IFS but that may be worth considering as I wouldn't need to worry about an extra fuel tank or jerry cans.

Hmm, I must admit I'd like to buy something with a bit less than 300,000 on the clock, I think I may have to start saving a few more $$$'s.

I thought of a Range Rover, I drove one many many years ago and I've never forgotten how great the visibility was, only thing is, I think they're hard to find in diesels.
AnswerID: 440202

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 15:55

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 15:55
Prado's started in 96, they are 90 series (first shape) up untill 03 (2 series) then the 120 series was made (3 series) then the 150 (current shape) the first diesel in the prados wasnt untill 2000 (series 2 with clear blinker lights) but you would be pushing to get a td for 15k unless it had huge klms, petrol on the other hand 3.4L V6 heaps arounds with in your price range, they have a 90L main and 69L reserve the 120 has 2x90L = 180L but you wont get one of them for the $$ After having the petrol and currently the diesel (both 90 series) I wouldnt hesitate in going back to petrol, not much difference in economy at highway speed bit more around town but take into account diesel dearer to service and requiring oil changes every 5k (a must) then theirs buggar all difference. Personally think the petrol is actually a better engine then the diesel which are prone to blowing/cracking heads (mine did at 104k) and cost 3600 to fix. By the sounds of it the type of driving you will be doing the IFS will do the job fine, unless your rock hopping or really pounding it accross ruts IFS wont be an issue. The 120 with the D4D engine would be the go (great power and economy) but not in your price range. Discos, rangies great vehicle but have very little back up in certain area's and were some issues between the TD 5 and TDI but I have no personal experiance with them but have seen them in action and would eat the prado off road but then Im talking more harder stuff. Maybe jump on the website/forum for landy's/discos etc and see what you can find. Alot of people dont like them for certain reasons and maybe rightly so I'm not sure but we nearly bought one before the prado but some one said to me dont buy one of them there heaps and blow heads, well guess what so do prado 1kz's. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 712094

Reply By: Tanka - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 17:40

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 17:40
Agree with all the suggestions here, with the addition of, maybe also consider a Pajero. The diesels can be harder to find, but are still a nice car. They are underrated offroad and are very nice to drive on it. They are a bit unloved 2nd hand and can be priced accordingly, Similar limitations to Prado with IFS and 4cyl Diesel. There are a couple on carsales, some better than others. Take your time to look around. Pick the car on its individuals merits rather than a badge when buying to a price, ie you are probably better off with a Landy with 100k on the clock than a clapped out Nissan with 600+ and vice versa if you know what I mean.
AnswerID: 440221

Reply By: Siringo - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 17:49

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 17:49
My first 4WD was a Mitsubishi and I really ended up hating the IFS, but in my next 4WD I will be putting in at least 1 locker so that will help somewhat.

I'm not settled on petrol vs diesel. From my experience diesels are great economy wise off road, but they lack power on road unless you add a turbo, but then you eat the fuel up.

Does anyone know which motor is more efficient a 6cylinder toyota diesel or a 6cyl nissan diesel?
AnswerID: 440222

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 00:14

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 00:14
From what I have read (not personally owning either) the toyota's are better in the fuel department, the 100 series with the factory t/d's are down in the 10L per 100k range when cruising even the old 80 series with the t/d were getting that as well, I believe the patrols are up around the 12/13's when crusing 4.2 not the 3 litre, this is all based on no towing or off road, Im just talking freeway driving, I may be wrong and possibly am in regards to the nissans its only what I have read on forums but I know for the sure about the cruisers as we have 2 in our family (Im not one of them unfortunately) My uncles will do tens on open roads, 13 round town and 15/17's pulling his 23 foot van with boat on roof and all the mod cons you could possibly have in a van and the cruiser normally has the outboard in the back and other stuff he lugs around, he reckons out of all the 4wd's hes had its the best. I have put my hand up for it if he trades it in but he doesnt like the GVM on the 200 series, loves the grunt as he's test driven one but the weight is an issue for him. I get 13.2 round town in the prado and just come back from been away at xmas and mine was 13 freeway driving sitting on the posted speed limits all the way and its a 1kz 4 cylinder turbo diesel, so the bigger boys 6 cylinders are doing better then my four. The only way I get just on tens is with sitting on 100k no head winds and no off road, to crack the tens I need to be closer to the 95k and I will get 9.8L per 100 and not running aircon. My mate gets 11.2L per 100k out of his 06 VX petrol prado 4 litre 5 speed auto with 6 on board running his climate air all the way 2000k round trip, bloody great for a big petrol motor. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 712144

Follow Up By: Siringo - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 09:45

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 09:45
Thanks for the info there Steve. I know a bloke who bought a new Hilux with the D-4D motor in it, I'm guessing it's the same as in your Prado and he wasn't too thrilled with his economy, I just feel that the 3 litre motor isn't big enough and you have to flog it to get to and stay on speed, hence the poor economy. I don't know how the 3litre Patrols cope? Takes me back to the 4 cyl commodore days.

I think I may home in on the 100 series cruisers. Still not sure whether to go petrol or diesel. I'm going to look at fuel economy and running costs and go from their. I'm guessing a petrol 100 series will be easier to find and cheaper than a turbo diesel.

I think I can even increase my budget. Thanks everyone.
FollowupID: 712167

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 22:07

Thursday, Dec 30, 2010 at 22:07
Increase you budget and get a turbo diesel V8 Troopy!
AnswerID: 440240

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 00:12

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 00:12
At that budget look for a 1986-1989 HJ61 - Landcruiser factory turbo-diesel with the 12H-T motor. They don't come up often.
AnswerID: 440252

Follow Up By: Siringo - Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 09:35

Friday, Dec 31, 2010 at 09:35
Thanks Phil, I will look into them, may be getting a bit long in the tooth though, but I guess I can only get what I can afford. Thanks again.
FollowupID: 712166