roof top tents

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 17:54
ThreadID: 83456 Views:5107 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
hey guys i was wondering if anyone could recomend some roof top tents for me.. i just recently bought a troopy that has a tm full length roof rack on top of her.

so will the sides of the rack be a problem for the tent to sit on? any advice would be apreciated thanks kai

Reply By: Dasher Des - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 18:29

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 18:29
Do a search on Roof Top Tents on here and you will find heaps of information. The same question has been asked numerous times before
AnswerID: 440796

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 19:12

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 19:12
Hi there! The rack will only be a problem in that it will make the tent really high. Troopy's are high already and the tent will probably need an extension for the ladder. I bought mine on Ebay and the quality is good and made in South Africa. Many of these are now copied and made in China but i have no idea what the quality is like. You will have to do your homework to see what suits you for price and quality. MichaelImage Could Not Be Found

AnswerID: 440801

Follow Up By: hicksy - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 19:42

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 19:42
yer thanks mate.. yer it looks great.

yer and my troopy is lifted few inches, so will be geting very high.
I have seen ones that come of the back might be better cause i might be able to cut the back rail off.

other then that may just buy a good double swag as we are a young couple.
FollowupID: 712685

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 22:17

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 22:17
Hey Michael, is your awning a ARB or similar.We have bought a mozzie net for ours (ARB) but never used it yet, just wondering if it will look like that.
Nick
FollowupID: 712713

Follow Up By: uneekwahn - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 22:40

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 22:40
Nick, I've got the ARB awning and the mozzie net and that's pretty much exactly what it looks like :)

Jason.
FollowupID: 712718

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 23:35

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 23:35
Gday Nick, Jason. Its from a guy on Ebay, based in Melbourne. Its all made in South Africa and i assume a lot of the gear comes from the same factories.. I only used the net for the first time last week camping at Thredbo. Its a breeze to fit, it takes about 1 minite to set up and within a few minutes, the flies are pounding at the screen..well worth the extra $100. It has a zip near the vehicle to gain acess to it and a zip on one end. regards Michael

FollowupID: 712724

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Jan 06, 2011 at 07:21

Thursday, Jan 06, 2011 at 07:21
Thanks Guys.
FollowupID: 712732

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 22:58

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 22:58
In a Troopy there is plenty of space inside for a full sized bed. Have a look here for some ideas re setting up a Troopy for camping.

Val

AnswerID: 440825

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 23:36

Wednesday, Jan 05, 2011 at 23:36
Thats what i was thinking Val! Perfect vehicle for a decent bed.. Michael

FollowupID: 712725

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 06, 2011 at 05:15

Thursday, Jan 06, 2011 at 05:15
I saw this post and immediately thought of John and Val, you could do FAR worse than follow their advice and lead, they have been doing this a long time and know their stuff. Hi guys, cant thank you enough for the info you gave for my trip last July.

Tony.
FollowupID: 712729

Follow Up By: hicksy - Thursday, Jan 06, 2011 at 12:29

Thursday, Jan 06, 2011 at 12:29
yer thanks guys much appreciated.
i Think i might take ya up on that. build a good false floor and maybe just a awning off the back.
then buy a double swag then we can still sleep outside if we want :)

thanks heaps
FollowupID: 712756

Reply By: Justwanderin - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:39

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:39
Hi there, not sure about the height issue with the troopy but I can recommend a Howling Moon Rooftop. I have had one for several years and done the Cape, the Simpson, and Central Australia with it. 6 weeks at a time. Tent was awesome, even in the rain and wind, no problems at all.
AnswerID: 441259