An ExplorOz 4WD Club

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:16
ThreadID: 83517 Views:4460 Replies:18 FollowUps:40
I have been thinking for a while about the benefits of being part of a 4WD Club. There are places that are only open to members of a 4wd Club such as the Sand Dunes past Portland and lots of others. There are also some insurance benefits to memberts of Clubs affiliated with the VAFWDC, Vic Assoc of 4WD Clubs and some other things.

In a sense ExplorOz gives me access to lots of the other things that clubs offer, such as trips and chinwagging and learning useless stuff about tyres and fridges and eskimo's, but I think we miss out on other Club benefits. Part of the thing I liek about EO is that participation is optional in trips and things, and generally you get a mob along anyways. There are clubs nearby to where I live and breathe but I cannot commit to attendance at meetings etc that I think we could do via a Facebook page and online meeting type approach.

There would be some costs involved, to cover things like affiliation and regiatration and other running costs but thats part of life I reckon, anyhoo I am canvassing the proposal to setup a 4WD Club centred around EO and wondering what others think. So others, what do you think?

Bonz

Reply By: Ruffy-Dan - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:23

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:23
Inuit's... They're called Inuit's now a days, not Eskimos.
AnswerID: 441104

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:35

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:35
hmm Those Icecreams with biscuits either side are called Inuits eh? I thought they were Eskimo's , see I am still learning

FollowupID: 713043

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:46

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:46
"Those Icecreams with biscuits eiother side are called Inuits eh?"
I thought they were 'Icecream Sandwich' assuming we are talking about the same icecream. We are in different States'

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 713069

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:03

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:03
Actually they are called Eskimo Pies ! hahahahaha

FollowupID: 713083

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:20

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:20
No Bonz, the Eskimo Pie has chocolate (of sorts - compounded these days (damn, blast)) around the ice cream. According to the web site it has some cocoa in it though.
FollowupID: 713088

Follow Up By: Hollywood - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:08

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:08
I prefer the chilli cheese pies from Mrs Macs on a commercial level. A Big Dads smokey over a sausage roll at a medium level franchise, and a pie and peas from a dodgy pie van in Qld. But an eskimo pie???? Who would clean and skin an eskimo???
FollowupID: 713100

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 20:37

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 20:37
An Inuit an Inuit Hollywood not an Eskimo, who would skin an Inuit? I know how to catch one...You kick him in the Ice Hole! But skinning and preparation are a whole other thing.

FollowupID: 713111

Reply By: ob - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:32

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:32
Personally I think the idea has some merit, not sure about the difficulties of administration but it would be the only club Oz wide so certainly some benefits there

ob
AnswerID: 441105

Follow Up By: Time - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:50

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:50
Not true.

Check Downunder 4X4 Club. It is an Australia wide Club with monthly meetings held via a Chat Room. The Club is incorporated in NSW I believe
FollowupID: 713046

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 15:30

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 15:30
Great idea that

FollowupID: 713053

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:58

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:58
It will never work. Too many people would be kicked off because of the Chit chat rules. No point of a club if you can't talk to other members
FollowupID: 713073

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 17:02

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 17:02
Its not the Forum Des, so Club Rules would apply.

FollowupID: 713076

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:07

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:07
Time, the Downunder 4x4 club looks great. I'll be sure not to miss the next club meeting to be held on 21st of January 2006!!!

FollowupID: 713085

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:52

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 14:52
Hi Bonz

Other than being a member of VKS 737, I have no affiliation with any other club, 4wd or otherwise. What you are suggesting is something that I would get involved in, even though from my locatrion, you can forget me attending any meetings or such.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 441108

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 15:02

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 15:02
meetings would all be online Marc I reckon

FollowupID: 713048

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 15:29

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 15:29
good point from "Bonz" ..... this in effect Marc could be the first "meeting" towards setting up a club, we do a lot of "meetings" hookups ect on line at Doomadgee as it is impossible to get all togeather, those on it are often in Brissy, Cairns, Norminton, Isa and could be anyware is Aussie ....
This thread will be the starting point and the next thread will ask for more details and so on and then the first meeting to arrange a "phsyical meeting" will be also on line and then it all falls togeather .....
Could be interesting as they may want to gather in our back yards Marc, ya never know eh, would be good to meet some .......
Joe
FollowupID: 713052

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:36

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:36
Sounds like an idea Bonz.

I am not on Facebook for a few reasons, and at this stage have no intention of going on it. I would think there are many others like me too.

If this is to be part of an "EO 4WD club" and meetings to be held online, I suggest a part of this website be created for the necessary online chatter regarding club matters.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 441126

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:42

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:42
Hiya Dave! How is the lovely Nora?

I wasnt wanting to make additional work for the busy David, as I know his to-do list is as long as the your arm. But I reckon theres something there too.

By the way I may make it to Silverton for the inaugural Club Meeting, if all things line up.

FollowupID: 713068

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:57

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:57
Bonz, in my opinion it would keep all members within the website.

Nora says G'day too.

Wondering if you need track files for Silverton ???????????????

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 713071

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 17:01

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 17:01
Dave, after 7 years of the Outback Challenge, I reckon I know the area reasonably well. Was wondering what offroad activities you had in mind for the gathering up there? Are you thinking of doing some Rock work, say Willangee/Poolamacca area?

FollowupID: 713075

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:56

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 16:56
Sounds like a good idea to me, with technology these days any thing is possible.

I find Skype is a great form of communication but not too many people are using that at this stage.

Good luck with it Bonz.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 441129

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 17:12

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 17:12
Administration would be the big issue.

You would obviously need some sort of organising committee, in which case the club would need to be "Incorporated" to protect the assets of the committee members from the results of litigation, as we are one of the most litigious societies on the planet, it would not be a case of if it happens, but when.

Becoming "Incorporated" is far from an easy process!

I was Commodore of a large Bayside yacht club whilst it was going through the process of becoming "Incorporated", what a nightmare.
AnswerID: 441132

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:05

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:05
Yep thats what I was trying to remember, we went thru that with the Table tennis Club here, wasnt a huge drama, I guess the drama reflects the actualy activity, not a lot of people have died playing Table Tennis, but Boating .... and Offroad driving ... nah Thanx for the heads up.

FollowupID: 713084

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 17:44

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 17:44
Gday Bonz
Little Wes and I will go along with that Bonz . Kathy told me to make friends or there will be no one to come to my funeral . I told her I was trying, and she said yes I was.
Murray

AnswerID: 441138

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:08

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:08
LOts of people will come along Muz, just to be sure .......

FollowupID: 713086

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:05

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 18:05
Hi Bonz

Brilliant idea and one that David should look at very seriously.......Part of being able to join in on the chit chat and being a member of the 4X4 Club, you have to be a member of ExplorOz======more members on here instead of visitors etc, which in turn will increase the current number of members which in turns brings in more $$$$ for David and Michelle.

AnswerID: 441141

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:25

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:25
you have to be a member of ExplorOz======more members on here instead of visitors etc

That's a very narrow minded view, in fact it is views like this that made me fore go my membership, If this is the attitude then I will be happy not to become one of the elite boys club.

However knowing Bonz I would suggest that this was not the platform he had in mind.
FollowupID: 713103

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 20:00

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 20:00
3GoBush

You may think that it is a narrow mined view but it was never intended as such. I think that Exploroz is not an elite boys club for the simple fact that non members, just like you have posted, can express their personal views without having to be a member.

There does however come times when to get the full advantages of many organisations and clubs, including there on EO, one does have to join as a member. What I was stating was that such a proposal may lead to visitor wanting to become members and enjoy the full benefits of such.

The strength of any club or organisation is through its members and if everyone had the same thoughts as you, then is great site may never exist.

FollowupID: 713107

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 00:29

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 00:29
Nothing elitist about being a member of a club GB. Simply pay your fees to join & you'll be in. I suppose the number of additional visitors that may sign up Steve will depend largely on how much the extra cost will be & how many trips are organized to make it worth their while.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 713145

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 16:20

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 16:20
lol knowing Bonz ....... Gosh I barely know him and I live with him!

Its definitely not what I had in mind however it may well work like the gatherings, members and non members get together and have a great time. The one thing that ties us all together is a shared love of the bush and offroading/camping/caravanning and I have seen that work a treat at all EO things I have attended.

Steven is right though, there are many ways to react to something and getting in as a member and tryign to change things is the one I opt for, have all my life. I am a lifetime member here and intend to be so for the time of my life. So far it has been.

One thing I am acutely aware of is that using the internet as a medium has lots of disadvantages, communication being amongst the highest. We rarely mean what others read our posts to mean. Face to face that all changes and we have the benefit of reading facial expressions and body language, and we can see how big the other person is and if they have a stick or not. That tends to influence what and how we say things.

Anyways, all input is good input guys and appreciated.

FollowupID: 713247

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:02

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:02
What a great idea Bonz. I've been involved with all manner of clubs during the past 40 something years and apart from my Gun Club all have been very hard work for a few members of the executive. This idea basically does away with the hard work of arranging meetings etc for the Secretary, the back slapping from the President etc and the other mongrel (Treasurer) who is always chasing you for $$.

I was a member of a 4x4 club where I live but they weren't doing the things I enjoy - desert trips and large National gatherings - so opted out after 2 years with them. Meetings were a bit of a joke with perhaps 6 - 8 members showing up each month.

I vote we hold the face to face at Silverton and get it up and running. On the EO webpage would be great but I also use Facebook to keep in touch with friends and family (esp grandkids) so that's nothing new to me either.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 441151

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:14

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:14
I agree Bonz it's a good idea.
About 4 month ago my wife and I attended a local 4wd club with a view to join,as we entered the 'club house' we were given the usual stares as you'd expect then sat down for the monthly meeting. No-one bothered to ask if they could help us so we just sat there until the usual 'generl business' phase. I'm not backward in coming forward so I stood up and told them who we were and why we were there. The reply was "Oh welcome" by the secretary. At the end of the meeting the President came over and I thought we may get some reaction, he ask a few inane questions and then excused himself so that he could supervise the setting up of the tea and biscuit service. My wife and I hung around a while attempting to make small talk with the locals but generally it was difficult. We are very open people and have no problems talking to anyone. We left after the meeting closed............one month later we attended again, generally the same response and I ask if there was a monthly trips away and the reply was yes and someone produced the annual calendar...trip planned for the Vic High country was full. That was it for the rest of the year. I missed the third meeting and I havent been back for the new years meeting as I haven't received the promised 2011 calendar yet. I know it's important to keep attending meetings etc but some times one cant get there for a variety of reasons, therefore its difficult to 'connect with members' unless they really really go out of their way to make you welcome. Im not blaming them, it's just the way it is.

I'd welcome an online 4wd club

Cheers for now.................Jeff
AnswerID: 441153

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:40

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 19:40
I had they same experience. Was it a club out west of Sydney? Mike
FollowupID: 713105

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 20:10

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 20:10
No it is southern NSW
FollowupID: 713109

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 23:02

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 23:02
We had the same problem at one of the largest clubs in Sydney,Most outings were full befor they were listed.
Cheers Dave
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 713135

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 23:11

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 23:11
Jeff that's quite a common experience for newcomers to many organizations. Meetings in particular are often quite uncomfortable places to start off at unlike a trip where you get to know people far easier. An online club too will be hard for some to get a word in with the same few dominating the discussions. The heart of any 4x4 club is undoubtably the trips & would be interesting to see how regular events would be organised accross the country.
To cover affiliation, insurance & incorporation fees, membership to a club would need to be around $50 a head on top of EO membership so it could be difficult to sustain numbers over time. How it would be associated with a profit making business could have it's own problems too.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 713138

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 23:29

Saturday, Jan 08, 2011 at 23:29
"Most outings were full before they were listed."
Dave that happens all the time in big clubs. Association policy for most trips is no more than 10 in a convoy which are often filled before it's even posted. An online club will be no different having trouble finding trip leaders prepared to put the time in to organize & lead runs.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 713140

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 01:15

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 01:15
Hi Jeff,

Sorry to hear of your treatment, but it also shows how an online 4WD club could work for many people. While this may sound like a new idea, the West Coast 4x4 Club Inc has been around for 13 years now and has been an on-line club since day one.

As the founding secretary of this club, I am more than a tad biased, but I do believe that on-line clubs are the way to go. I am still the secretary of the club and even though I have been in the USA for the last 6 months, club members would barley be aware I was away - except that they haven't seen me in person. The only physical meetings are the annual AGM plus the comittee gets together maybe 2-3 times a year, virtually all club business is by the internet and the committee meetings are more an excuse to have a beer. I attended the last meeting by Skype!

Anyway, the point of this is to say that an internet based 4WD club can and does work very well. The key to it is to have a good website, members need to be able to see what is going on, add themselves to trips and put up trips that they are leading without needing a web master to post everything.

Also, it needs to be incproporated to protect the members and the committee. Afterall it is a motorsport and accidents do happen. In the 13 years, while we have never had anyone hurt, we have had several rollovers for a variety of reasons and its just good to know as a member and committee member that your liability is very limited.

FollowupID: 713149

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 10:11

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 10:11
Hi Captain,

Just a point about incorporation and the degree of protection that it gives to members and executive members. Its a common misconception that if a club is incorporated and has insurance then all will be well, and members are all protected from any personal liability and risk.

But its a bit more complicated than that. Incorporation brings with it many of the responsibilities of a corporation. If there is an incident then everything has to be in order - all the "I"s dotted, "t"s crossed, books and finances in order, meetings properly minuted etc etc or the insurers and their legal people may be able to claim negligence (or worse - irresponsibility) and bring a damages claim against both executive and ordinary members.

Also members, and executive members retain a degree of personal liability for some years after they cease to be a member or serve in an executive position - the time probably varies from state to state, but currently 5 years in the ACT.

Sure, its not often that people get caught in a worst case situation as a result of club membership but is does and has happened. I have been involved with a fair few incorporated bodies including a number of years as Exec Officer for one mid sized one, and the requirements are fairly onerous if the risk of personal liability is to be minimised.

I think your suggestion is an interesting one, but we all need to be aware of the responsibilities that come with incorporation.

Another thing to consider is how it could be set up within ExplorOz without exposing D&M.

Val

FollowupID: 713356

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 11:44

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 11:44
Hi Val,

Agree with all your comments, crossing the t's and dotting the i's is very important and needs to be rigorously followed, sometimes to the amusmement of members who wonder why one has to be so pedantic about documentation. But by the same token, provided all is done properly the chance of any member or executive having a liability problem is close to zero.

I am not sure how Incorporation could be set up under ExplorOz, its not available for profit making organisations. However, one with more legal knowledge than mine should easily be able to work out some umbrella organisation structure.

FollowupID: 713367

Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 09:33

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 09:33
Bonz, I'm a member of the Vic Pajero Club which is affiliated with the state body "Four Wheel Drive Victoria".
This affiliation gives access to public liability insurance in the event of an accident during a club run trip.
This all comes at a cost however and the fees payed to 4wdVic are quite substantial and must be considered.
You may even find you have to get national coverage as it is going to be based as a national club.
This last 12 months have seen a tightening of the insurance criteria by the insurance underwriter/s and ONLY club members are covered. If we invite "guests" on our trips now we have to ensure they (and that means every individual) have a temporary membership of our club and pay a fee to 4wdVic for public liability insurance.
It's very messy and it takes time to organise so you just can't invite someone on the spur of the moment as all the paperwork needs to be in order.
All clubs affiliated with 4wdVic are in the same boat, some do and some don't comply but in the event of an accident with a visitor and the club isn't covered then the WHOLE club and it membership is liable.
Accidents can and do happen but if you don't dot your i's and cross your t's then some legal eagle will look for the richest pickings to carve up.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 441209

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 13:25

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 13:25
Also worth thinking about, is if you use the name ExplorOz then it will implicate the owners of this website!
FollowupID: 713216

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 16:13

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 16:13
Yep Shaker I am across the name thing, will see how it goes

FollowupID: 713245

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 13:17

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 13:17
Great idea .......but not without it's challenges.

I've seen the club thing from the inside after 1 year as Secretary and 4 years as President of Australia's oldest and largest 4 x 4 club.(approx 1000 members) Also ran the Victorian 4WD Show for a few years.

Here are a couple or more thoughts.

A club needs some defining common purpose. Often this is a particular vehicle marque or a style of trip predominately engaged in by the membership.
What would the defining common purpose of the EO club be?

Who does the work? mostly it is the 5% who do the 95% of the work.

People join but then leave if they do not feel engaged.

Who gets to join, what are the criteria, should there be any criteria?

People don't join to go to meetings they join to go on trips and socialise with other members.

What about driver training before being allowed to go on anything more than an easy trip?

How is it tied to EO memebrship?

That's just a few to start with.

Essentially a club comes into existence when a dozen or so people have a common interest and want to formalize the association so as to engage with other likeminded individuals and possibly have additional benefits accrue.

I like to idea and would be happy to get involved in getting it off the ground.

AnswerID: 441243

Reply By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 13:44

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 13:44
Hey Bonz

I have seen some responses above talk about Public Liability Insurance, I have just changed some of my business to include extra activities, all I did was notify my Insurance Broker and he had my policy amended.

I would assume David would have appropriate public liability cover, this would be for all the trip gatherings that are arranged under the ExplorOz banner, eg: the annual EO gathering or trips and gatherings organized through the EO Forum / web site.

All David may have to do is speak to his broker and have them look at policy to see if it needs amending.
AnswerID: 441245

Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:44

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 14:44
Before we get too carried away here, I think we should do this:-

Michael and Michelle, as owners of "Explore Oz", would you like to go down this path?

Noel K.
AnswerID: 441251

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:08

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:08
David, my apologies, Michael should have been David.
I've got the dreaded flu.

Noel K.
FollowupID: 713233

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:59

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 15:59
No worries Noel,

I am well aware of that and will chat to Michael and Michelle, and David also! But its been a great body of information come thru, so we have a fair bit to chat over at the Nat Gathering eh?

FollowupID: 713244

Follow Up By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:13

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:13
Hey Bonz,
I thought you would be, I just thought I would put it to them direct. I think they will have to think long and hard as I guess they would be sort of, signing over control of part of EO to another group, and would lose the control over it, all though I'm sure this is not the intention.
One thing is for sure, it would be a bloody big club.

Noel K.

FollowupID: 713267

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:33

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 17:33
Yep I know what you mean and such is the actual closeness of the linkage to EO, that would come out of discussions with D&M. I am sure they will fly me over to WA to discuss, accomodation included as well as spending money ion the EO shop, to have the discussions.

Anyways as far as control, thats an interesting issue. One to ponder over.

FollowupID: 713272

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 19:25

Sunday, Jan 09, 2011 at 19:25
Gday Bonz
I am in Perth now, do you want me to wait for you ?
Murray

FollowupID: 713298

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 07:27

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 07:27
Bonz,

Great idea subject to David and Michelle's approval.
I had some involvement in setting up and running the Overlander 4WD club which was incorporated in 2005 in NSW and is affilliated with 4WD NSW&ACT.
It was initiated from the the Overlander Forum as a result of trip leaders running forum trips and uncomfortable about the insurance issue. The club has limited support from the Magazine.
The Office Bearers are based in different states and meetings are held on line via a chat room with an annual gathering each year in a different state.
It has had limited success with membership and from my perspective mainly because of the restricted face to face contact.
Good luck with getting it up if David and Michelle agree.

AnswerID: 441319

Reply By: mikehzz - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 08:47

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 08:47
Even if the club idea never gets off the ground, I would be interested in forum trips. People doing day or weekend trips and wanting company. Its a good way to see places you may not have heard of and meet members as well. Its a shame about the insurance implications.
AnswerID: 441324

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 10:23

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 10:23
Hi Mike, up the top of the screen under members there is a Trips/Gatherings tab that carries all the planned trips etc that people on EO arrange. Non members can also register and attend. Also when a trip is seup by a member a post appears in the forum alerting people as to the trip/gathering.

Be great to catch up with you one day mate, the National Gethering is at Silverton this year, maybe there.

FollowupID: 713357

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 10:25

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 10:25
mike, the insurance implications are threats that generally never happen. There are people who continually organise EO gatherings that fly in the face of those who raise the implications. The reference to happenings is generally very vague like, "what if .......?" Lawyers will tell you it happens but references light on.

EO folks generally are good company, if you overlook they may sue you if you look out the corner of your eye at them. Yes, I am only kidding. That being said, I am heading up a group that incorporated in the last 12 months. 5% of the members did the work, while some didn't want to be part until the group was incorporated, yet are they so risk averse in the rest of their lives? I think not.
FollowupID: 713358

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 11:56

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 11:56
Thanks for the info. Cheers
FollowupID: 713369

Reply By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 13:42

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 13:42
If id did get off the ground, a concideration maybe to have 'branches' in each state and then as the club progressed, regional branches within each state eg. NSW..Southern Zone, Northern Zone, each Zone having their own committee, a bit complicated but you never know!!

Regards.............................jeff
AnswerID: 441362

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 14:43

Monday, Jan 10, 2011 at 14:43
I’ve been following this thread with interest, and clearly it has resonated with many who have a similar view.

What seems to be apparent is that people want to be part of a formal organisation but the way in which you meet is different. So instead of going to meetings, it is done by via the internet. I guess what follows is how does that differentiate it from what is currently available, is it what people want or would this type of set-up be simply a case of the same old, but the only difference is you meet via the internet? If it is the latter than maybe it hasn’t really achieved too much.

Some of the mains things that people are looking for are, access to trips, discounted and favourable treatment on vehicle insure, product offerings at reduced prices, and access to geographical areas that individuals may be excluded from.

One of the major obstacles that I think would need to be overcome is; how do you achieve membership of the Four-wheel drive associations and be covered under their banner? This is an important issue as it is probably the one thing that opens the door to many of the things people want.

I think you may need a training syllabus in place that demonstrates members have achieved a certain standard of four-wheel driving ability. This will most likely be a pre-requisite to gaining access to areas that may be currently excluded to individuals and potentially to cheaper insurance.

How would this be achieved in the context of an EO club offering?

Once you start heading down this track it really becomes a case of us saying we can do it far better than anyone who has gone before us, and is that really the case as I’m sure there are plenty of people involved in the current clubs that have a great understanding of the issues, and the drive to achieve positive outcomes. If we don’t want to set ourselves up in ‘competition’ to the current clubs and associations what other alternatives are available?

Trips – Under the EO banner any member can currently set-up a trip. If you want to go somewhere all you need to do is organise it and most likely people will follow. If you are the organiser you won’t have the problem of the trip being filled before it is offered.

Products – David & Michelle under the EO banner appear to have negotiated with some suppliers to offer discounts to members, but could this be expanded?

Insurance – This is possibly a little more difficult as it comes down to demonstrating that members of your organisation have ‘superior’ skills to warrant discounts. Maybe one way this could be achieved is for EO to negotiate with both four-wheel drive training organisations to provide certification for EO members, and certain insurance companies to recognise that certification and offer discounted insurance.

Access – It may follow on from the insurance point that EO organised trips that have members on it who have received certification are able to access areas not usually available to the general public.

Rather than reinvent the wheel here, is it worth following up with David & Michelle to see if some of the points covered above, which is a broad summary of what people have indicated they want, can be included in their membership offering, rather than having an EO four-wheel drive club that may be very little different to what is currentl available, and which may or may not be acceptable to the owners of EO.

Offered has food for thought.........and consideration.

Cheers, The Landy

AnswerID: 441373