Mazda Bravo B2500 SDX
Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 11:57
Gecko (Qld)
Could any owners past or present of a 4x4 Mazda Bravo give me any advice on what these cars are like including expected fuel consumption.
Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 12:26
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 12:26
Gecko
I have just sold my B2500 4x4 after owning it for 8 years.
On highway and not exceeding 100 km/hr expect 10l/100 km.
I have towed a
Kimberley Karavan, weighing about 1.6 tonne for more than 60,000 km and averaged 16.7l/100 km. That was averaging 87km/hr. That was on all types of road and terrain.
Do not use airbag
suspension but use heavier duty springs and possibly only Aussie Super Springs. That would depend on your requirements.
A great vehicle and I have just replaced it with a BT50 4x4.
DW
Follow Up By: Gecko (Qld) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 12:29
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 12:29
Good to hear, thank you for your reply.
Seem
well priced for what they are and will possibly fit my requirements.
Hope you are Ok with the flooding
Regards Gecko
Follow Up By: P and JM - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 14:36
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 14:36
Thanks for the info DW. We have just purchased a 2005 4x4 freestyle model, done 81,000 ks so hope we get a good run from it.
Cheers P&J
Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 15:39
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 15:39
They are good - but............not wishing to put a dampner on them make sure the gearbox is ok as the courier and
ranger (same thing different badge to the mazda) have problems with 5th gear. the problem is not only when towing is/has taken place. rgds
Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 19:43
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 19:43
In almost 120,000 kms I had no problems with 5th gear. I never towed anything in that gear.
I am aware of most 4x4s that tow usually end up with a 5th gear blow up if they have been using it while towing.
Check the gearbox oil to see if there is any unwanted particles there.
DW
Reply By: mark I - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 19:07
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 19:07
Hi Gecko,
I have the same in the Courier, 2000 model, as stated the gearboxes can be a problem, mines done 260,ks and touch wood is still ok, but the other problem is Head Gaskets, which is what happened to me only recently, have the cooling system checked and make sure you put in an early warning system to warn of overheating problems.Otherwise not a bad vehicle.
Follow Up By: Gecko (Qld) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 21:50
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 21:50
Thank you so much for you reply, l am still sold on the vehicle and hope to inspect as soon as the flood waters recede. I am currently trapped buy water at all three of the available exits into
Brisbane but are 57 meters above river level so should be ok. My heart goes out to all others affected.
Reply By: didiaust - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 21:14
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 21:14
We have to part with ours this Friday to pick up the BT50. Has over 200,000 on her and we believe another 200,000 still left . We need a bit more towing power
Di
Follow Up By: Gecko (Qld) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 21:55
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 21:55
Di, Thanks for the reply.
Do you think a Bravo B2500 would be worthy of towing a 1100kg jayco camper (Not in 5th gear) or am I expecting to much as this is my plans
Regards Gecko
Follow Up By: didiaust - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 05:47
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 05:47
Hi Gecko
I am no mechanical "x-spurt"
well I am a drip and an unknown quantity but we towed a Jayco Eagle then a 16' pop top with no worries
Di
Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 21:24
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 21:24
Gecko
I have a 2001 bravo, without my camper on I average 11lt per 100kl and 13.5 with the camper on. The cars done 305000 kl and only had the clutch replaced due to noisy thrust bearing. They can have g/box problems with 5th gear if towing or carrying heavy loads. If they are serviced regularly they are a reliable car
Murray
Follow Up By: Gecko (Qld) - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 22:04
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 22:04
Thank you for your reply, I think that this is acceptable fuel economy for a 1.8 ton 4x4.
I previously had a 3ltr V6 4Runner with 33" mud terrains and use to average 20lts/100 on Hwy not towing( Don't ask me why as it was before my daughter)
I hope only to tour and tow camper now so should be suitable.
Regards Gecko
Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 23:00
Tuesday, Jan 11, 2011 at 23:00
Hi there Gecko, those 4 runners were a gas guzzler, 20 sounds pretty high for freeway but must have been the 33's making it alot thirstier then they already were. I know they only had small fuel tanks (just over 60L for memory). My mate had an RV6 and around town was lucky to get 350k out of a tank, that was without bullbar and running standard road tyres, were also proned to doing head gaskets as
well and i think for a 3litre motor quit gutless, had to rev the crapper out of them to make them get up and go, but very comfortable to ride in I thought. SR5's were really nice inside and out, with the flares and wider alloy rims. Sorry no nothing about the BT or any other mazda lol Hope whatever you buy serves you
well............Regards Steve
Reply By: kikstarter - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 01:11
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 01:11
Hi Gecko,
I had a 2002 one for nearly 7 years, did a reasonable amount of towing a camper trailer, and a lot of 4x4 work.
Always managed to get out of where I went, averaged about 12/100Km.
Had a few problems when it was new with it overboosting and blowing the intercooler hose off, but once Mazda made some adjustments this problemwent away.
I can concur that the 5th gear problem is common, as I did my fith gear cog around 120,000K's one day just driving around the suburbs luckily. When I rang Mazda for a cog they were a on the shelf stock item so that told me it was a pretty common problem.
I also did a head on
mine around 150K, which the mechanic told me is also a bit common, and caused by the radiator getting a bit blocked as they get older.
Mine was serviced for every service, as per the manufacturers hand book, but the overheating problem was'nt picked up.
Overall tho I was happy with it and would have bought a BT50 but the other half wanted a wagon not another work ute.
K
Reply By: - mazcan - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 02:03
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 02:03
hi gecko
i have a 1997 bravo diesel d/cab and it has towed a lot of trailers etc in particular an old high model viscount 16 ft 1280kg c/van
and it has an after market safari intercooled turbo and
snorkel = 98kws on it and upgraded the clutch to a B2600 plate to handle the extra power
and it handled the van really
well and used 15l/100km's at 90-100ks /hr also used 5th at times but not constantly
uses 10-11 L/100km's normal running highway speed
did have to replace head gasket at 140th/ks and while off did the valves which is basic sense while it's off and replaced valve guide oil seals also
but found the cylinders were in perfect unworn conditon and doesn't use any oil have changed oil every 5000ks since new
have never had any overheating problems even towing in 38deg heat in hilly country
-tech electronic gear on the motor and is so basic to service and an easy engine to maintain with good access
things like glowplugs and injectors are right there on top un-obstructed by anything
i was also able to get a second battery under the bonnet on right side as
well and made my own battery box /brackets that have stood the
test of time even on the csr
i got ape springs oz pk
perth to add an extra rear leaf to
the springs and i put a set of toughdog foam cell shocks allround this transformed it to a very stable towing vehicle where as before the van used to control the mazda when not using wdh
i can say i'm happy with
mine
Follow Up By: - mazcan - Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 02:06
Wednesday, Jan 12, 2011 at 02:06
hi
forgot to say i added a 2.5inch exhaust and truck muffler when i did the head job
and that has made a big difference to it's power band at all times and was
well worth the money