UHF.....What can I get thats cheap?

Submitted: Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:16
ThreadID: 8367 Views:3460 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Hi all. I'm based in Adelaide and would like to get a UHF radio for when I get together with a few mates etc. Could anyone point me in the right direction for getting a cheap one? It doesnt have to be new, second hand is cool for me. I price new ones and they're around $350. At the moment I dont have that sort of cash, there's to many things I want to do (turbo for the old bj42, roof racks etc etc etc).

Cheers.......HB.

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:25

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:25
Hi Hellbelly:

Why not try a look at Ebay. www.ebay.com.au then put "UHF" into the search window. There are heaps there (I just looked). Should be able to score a bargain.
JackNo trees were harmed in the making or sending of this message.
However a great number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.
AnswerID: 36554

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:38

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:38
http://www.outerlimits4x4.com/PHP_Modules/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=9335

a GME TX3200 which im selling due to upgrade for $230ono and i also have a new base and lead and new stainless steel aerial for an extra $35

AnswerID: 36557

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:58

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:58
gday hellbelly.
if your only after one to use with your mates why not buy a hand held one under$100 and usually get two for about $100 not good for long distance but a couple of ks alright.back by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 36561

Follow Up By: Member - Russell - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 21:55

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 21:55
I agree. Hand helds are cheap and great for short distance stuff between cars etc.Russell S
Prado RV6
FollowupID: 26392

Reply By: mal - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 22:10

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 22:10
I am in the Salisbury area and have a few hand held radios for sale.
Good condition
if you are not happy, have your money back.
The radio's are the Icom uhf IC-40G they have 40 chan and full scanning fac. under $200

malott@senet.com.au
AnswerID: 36573

Follow Up By: Member - John - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 04:30

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 04:30
Mal, what sort of wattage are the unit? If the range of these is any good, better than el cheapo handhelds, would be very intersted in buying one. Believe that Icom's are a very good radio. Can you let me know some info on these units? I will be in Adelaide next Thursday, on my way through to Goog's Track. Thanks in advance. John
FollowupID: 26414

Follow Up By: mal - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 10:24

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 10:24
Hi John malott@senet.com.au
The handheld Icom IC-40G
5W ON HIGH POWER
600mW low power
40 channels
12 memory channels
scan and dual watch functions
repeater operation
user programmable time out timer
" " auto power saver
function diplay bachlight withauto shut off
diecast frame

If you are interested and going to be in town let me know a couple of days b.4.
Malcolm
FollowupID: 26418

Follow Up By: mal - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 10:24

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 10:24
Hi John malott@senet.com.au
The handheld Icom IC-40G
5W ON HIGH POWER
600mW low power
40 channels
12 memory channels
scan and dual watch functions
repeater operation
user programmable time out timer
" " auto power saver
function diplay bachlight withauto shut off
diecast frame

If you are interested and going to be in town let me know a couple of days b.4.
Malcolm
FollowupID: 26419

Reply By: Brian - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 07:53

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 07:53
I have a Uniden 40 Channel hand held at present till I can afford an in dash unit... but must say I am very happy with it! Range in the scrub is a K or 2 but in convoy tha's all you need. Big plus is you can acrry them with you for bushwalking etc to keep in contact with the rest of your group if you all get spread out... great for the "spotter" to give instructions to the driver for the tricky bits... in my GQ i mounted a universal mobile phone holder to the centre mirror mount and the UHF clips into it... so it doesn't roll around on the dash or in the glove box or on the floor.... very handy unit... ( I am actually buying a second one!)
AnswerID: 36590

Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 12:32

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 12:32
thanks brian.
the simple things are often the ones we look over.
a universal phone holder now that will save me searching under seats.back by popular demand
:-)
FollowupID: 26422

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2003 at 09:25

Sunday, Nov 09, 2003 at 09:25
i got a free speaker mic with my handheld and its great, for convoy etc, my mate used it on Fraser instead of the 27MHz CB as it was better quality sound. Also great for outside to inside comms, when theres a group and you're out of the car looking at the others having fun noone can hear the in-car units. Handheld are great, cheap and usefulLaterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
FollowupID: 26483

Reply By: Member- Rox - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 16:49

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 16:49
Hand held are also good when you cant see the track beyond
Some one can walk ahead in a tricky section and call you forward as long as you have a vechilar based one, or "hard right now" They can see your wheelsDesigning a new camper Heaps of choises
AnswerID: 36611

Reply By: bigboy - Sunday, Nov 09, 2003 at 17:00

Sunday, Nov 09, 2003 at 17:00
I SELL UNIDEN UHF PRODUCTS
IN CAR UNITS START AT RRP $269 SELL TO YOU $250 UH011
UH012 RRP $299 SELL $270
UH013 RRP $469 SELL $410
UH088 RRP $299 SELL $270
UH089 RRP $369 SELL $330
UH090 RRP $489 SELL $435
ALL PRODUCTS COME WITH A 12 MONTHS WARRANTY
ALL PRODUCT A NEW
ALL UNIDEN PRODUCTS ARE AVABLE .
BLACK RAT PRODUCTS . T-MAX . ENGEL . AXIS. ENFORCER - EFS . UNIFILTER.
MEGAVOX. CHEMTECH. KYB. NAVMAN. MAJESTIC. CUSTOM MADE 4X4 PARTS.

L.C. 4X4 PARTS DALBY QLD L.C. 4X4 PARTS (WHOLESALE)
0746696639 MOB 0408237653 DALBY - GYMPIE QLD AUSTRALIA
TUFF4BY@DODO.COM.AU
AnswerID: 36677

Reply By: Hellbelly - Sunday, Nov 09, 2003 at 22:32

Sunday, Nov 09, 2003 at 22:32
A big thanks to you all. Much appreciated indeed. I think at this stage I might go the cheapest option and get the hand held unit. Would be great if I could get two for around the $100 mark but we'll see how we go.

Thanks again....HB.
AnswerID: 36698