NP PAJERO

Submitted: Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:46
ThreadID: 8369 Views:2078 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
Thinking about buying a new pajero 3.2 turbo deisel. Does anyone have one and any problems?

Reply By: john - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:48

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:48
Sorry i forget to say that it would be an auto gls
AnswerID: 36559

Reply By: brett - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:57

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 20:57
I've got a manual and no problems, just put some ARB suspension in which gives about 40mm lift, used to scrape the sidesteps and towbar a bit before this. Go to www.pajeroclub.com.au and have a look, plenty of info for you there.
AnswerID: 36560

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 21:00

Friday, Nov 07, 2003 at 21:00
gday john.
dont know to much about them but ive read a few times about ripping back bumpers off easilyback by popular demand
:-)
AnswerID: 36562

Reply By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 22:43

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 22:43
Let me say first up I like Pajeros I bought one new in 97 and it is still the best compromise on\off road vehicle I have owned. I have a few problems with new independent suspension model. Firstly it rides very harshly, I have trained people in several with different brands of tires and unless the pressures are very low they all ride harshly. Also the independent suspension unlike the previous beam axles compromise serious offroad work. eg as 2 wheels indepently rise to climb a rock all the vulnerable parts below, diffs gear box etc effective drop down. Ground clearance is a problem. The motors are both good tho the 3.2 is a bit noisy I prefer the 150 kw double overhead cam 3.5 V6 I had in my 97 model to the current sohc available now It gave better fuel consumption than my 1HZ tojo does now and twice the power. The pajero also has the best standard LSD I have used. Cheers RobCairns Offroad Training & Tours
AnswerID: 36643

Reply By: harry5 - Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 23:32

Saturday, Nov 08, 2003 at 23:32
I have a NP GLS 3.2 did auto and am extremely happy with it. it has heaps of power am getting around 10.5 litres per 100km around town on a trip towing a caravan is probarly 11lits. i had 2 petrol NMs before,but i find the Diesel out pulls has more acceleration off the lights and is about !/3 cheaper on fuel.It is a great highway car very comfortable i use it regularly on sand no worries except once when neglected to let a bit of air out these things only happen when you say you wll be home in time for her who must be obeyed to go shopping. i dont think
you will be disapointed thje auto/manual combination is great for towing plus i like the resale. I dont know about the new 3.8 petrol but would go the diesel.Have only had the NL since June 8000Klms no problems
AnswerID: 36652

Reply By: brett - Sunday, Nov 09, 2003 at 16:01

Sunday, Nov 09, 2003 at 16:01
They have just dropped most of the prices and the diesel is now cheaper than it was, I think it's only about $1500 now, was over $3000 before, at $1500 you'll have your many back in fuel in less than 2 years, not sure what the 3.8 is like but on paper doesn't look much better than the 3.5, if that's the case the only choice would be the diesel.
AnswerID: 36673