12 volt shower

Submitted: Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:15
ThreadID: 83707 Views:16083 Replies:15 FollowUps:14
I'm sick of replacing the Primus 12v camp shower.
Happy to spend more money on something that lasts.
Any suggestions?
Karen & Bernie

Reply By: roberttbruce - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:24

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:24
ino where you are coming from there Karen...

each time i head out i fix/service mine but lost my patience last time & chucked it ... replacee it with a twine hws... the twine system is known to develop a leak at the hose so switched it off and went back to a kettle canvass & rose...
sometimes, but just for the pose, i fire up the twine
AnswerID: 442096

Follow Up By: Member - Karen B (WA) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:32

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:32
Thanks - will check out the Twine TWS website.
Karen & Bernie

FollowupID: 714202

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 15:54

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 15:54
I have had my Twine installed for almost 9 years and it has never developed a leak and it has done a lot of showers and miles.
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 714210

Reply By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:30

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:30
Hi Karen,
I too have been having the same issue went thru two this year. I have ordered a pump from Bias marine (Stirling Hwy) it has a built in pressure switch and is self priming good for up to 11lt a minute I will use a shower rose off my one of my old ones. The pump is $100.
AnswerID: 442098

Follow Up By: Member - Karen B (WA) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:36

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:36
Stirling Hway isn't far away, so will have a look. Seems to be a full time job replacing the cheap ones or fixing them up.
Karen & Bernie

FollowupID: 714203

Follow Up By: Member - Karen B (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 17:52

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 17:52
Hi Craig F,
Thanks for your reply. My partner has asked - Do you know what make and model the pump from Bias marine is?
Karen & Bernie

FollowupID: 714293

Follow Up By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 16:59

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 16:59
Hi Karen,
Its listed as a "Par-Max 2.9 5054JX" 11 ltr min Self prime to 2mtr Cut Off pressure 3.4 bar. Page 45 of the Bias mag. They are $99.90 and have a three yr warrenty.
FollowupID: 714438

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:38

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:38
Hi yu Karen,
When we first started camping we purchased a bilge pump from a marine dealer, clamped a piece of hose to it, plus a shower head.
Lengthened the wiring and put a cigarette lighter on the end.
The pump goes into a bucket of water the lighter into the socket in the vehicle, or into a battery pack, and away you go.
Generally find that about 10-15 litres is enough for two.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 442102

Reply By: Kirks - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:43

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:43
Hi Karen

Go buy yourself a $25 or $30 dollar Bilge Pump "12 volt" drop it into a 20 litre drum of water, hook it up to a battery and go from there hope this helps a little.

Kirks
AnswerID: 442103

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 18:03

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 18:03
I agree.

Mine is similar but uses 8 'D' size batteries so is even more portable.
It is a Coleman brand, has lasted around 6 years and cost $29.95 when I bought it.

Simply move the dunny out of the toilet/shower tent and stick the bucket and shower kit in.

No expensive showers for us but it is simple, practical and cost effective.

Bill.

FollowupID: 714216

Reply By: River Swaggie - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:45

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:45
Just buy yourself a Coleman Hotwater Unit and be done with it...Wait till they come on special....

That will fix your issues...
AnswerID: 442104

Reply By: rescue134 - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:53

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 14:53
try one of thees www.2daloo.com/camp_shower.htm have been around for a while kevin
AnswerID: 442107

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 15:10

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 15:10
or

Bumper Dumper
FollowupID: 714208

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 15:12

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 15:12
sorry that link shouldnt be there...lol..Dont advise have a bleep e ,shave and a shower ALL at once..
FollowupID: 714209

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 19:35

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 19:35
Just make sure you keep the car keys in your pocket!!!!!!! LOL

FollowupID: 714225

Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 15:59

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 15:59
Hi Karen, We have tried most showers including our current Coleman but here is the answer. Believe me this is the best and least expensive. Buy a $20 12 volt turbo shower off Evil bay or go into Jaycar. We have two square buckets I fill one with about 12 ltrs of water to the temp SWMBO wants. You drop the 12 volt motor end into the bucket & push the on/off button....presto shower at the heat you want NO dialing up temps or complaints it is to hot/cold & I am out of water. The bucket with YOUR water is in the shower with you so you can see how much you have/have not used & there is a stop go switch near the shower head to increase/decrease/stop the flow of water. We use the power from the vehicle/van or a 12volt battery pack. We had a 12 volt outlet (external) connected to the side of the van for any ext operation of 12 volt. I also unscrew the shower head placing the clean shower motor into my 20 ltr water containers & pump the clean drinking water into my van's water inlet. This saves lifting heavy water containers & the wife thinks it's great. We use this when bush camping obviously NOT in parks. We have had one of these yellow shower units for about 7 years & has never let us down. If the impaller gets jamed just undo one screw, wash the plastic blades & spry with CRC or WD40. The unit came in a carry bag with lead for cigarette plug or aligator clips to clip on to battery terminals.Well worth the $$$$ IMHO
AnswerID: 442112

Follow Up By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 16:31

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 16:31
I have used these for the last 10 yrs +/-. I have not had one last more than 12mths in the last 4yrs. I have each time returned them for a replacement so no problems with the $26 dollar outlay. What has been a problem is having it break on day 1 of a 6 day camp trip. As stated by Karen she too has had the same issue.
FollowupID: 714213

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 19:13

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 19:13
I've been using the Jaycar one since they first started selling them many years ago. Usually get about 3 years out of one, sometimes more. And that's also using it with heated sea water. For $20, it's no big deal having to buy another. On our last trip, our friend used to spend ages setting up the instantaneous gas hws, then it would go on and off, causing much cursing. Eventually, he used ours.
What I like is one can adjust the flow without the pump or heat cutting on/off, and when I'm soaping and not rinsing, I just drop the shower head into the bucket, so it circulates. So simple, so good, so cheap.
That's my experience...
cheers,
Gerry

FollowupID: 714221

Follow Up By: Member - Craig F (WA) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 23:21

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 23:21
Hi Gerry,
I too have been using for years of late I have had no luck getting one to last went through two this summer. I have now set up a pump in my caravan that has a built in pressure switch and utilised the head off a old shower its all hard wired in the inflow is self priming and will work well on 2m of head using a 4m long outlet to the shower head, I have a colmen HWS that i have set above a 20l bucket and away I go. As I go away with wife and two daughters the shower gets a workout. I still carry the former style in my 4wd.
FollowupID: 714247

Reply By: westskip - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 16:27

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 16:27
Hi Karen

Like you we got fed up with buying 12v showers and took the simple way out ( no - not showering) by buying a solar shower bag, an extension tent pole and making a hook to hang the bag.

Remove plug from one end of tent pole and attach tent pole to bumper bar or other device, hang bag on hook, slide tent pole up to required height and presto you're away. In our case I extended the shower hose so that it fitted into our shower tent through the back window.

No moving parts and hot water from the sun.

AnswerID: 442116

Follow Up By: bks - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 21:27

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 21:27
I found that the solar showers never really got hot. However I must admit it being many years since I last used one.
FollowupID: 714235

Reply By: B1B2 - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 17:27

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 17:27
G'day Karen,
Looks like we have all had the same problem with the pump seizing. I bought a 12v bilge pump from a yacht shop and cut the old pump off then used the original switch and shower head. You can connect the wires by soldering, or use screw or crrimp connectors.
The problem with a bilge pump is they don't pump up to enough of a head height if it is too small a capacity.
The USA made 800 us gallon per hr I found was perfect for the job. I have used a similar pump outside in the garden for 25 years so it is reliable.
I know Jaycar sell Chinese copies of these red& white coloured pumps but I don't know about the reliability. Could be worth a try.
I use this setup for camping, and also in my caravan shower when I am saving my drinking water from the tanks,

AnswerID: 442118

Reply By: Member - Karen B (WA) - Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 22:11

Monday, Jan 17, 2011 at 22:11
Thanks for your help Explore Oz team and members. I now have plenty of options to investigate. I think the hubby may upgrade us to the vehicle shower option.
Karen & Bernie

AnswerID: 442148

Follow Up By: didiaust - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 09:00

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 09:00
Karen

We have used them all

1.Lifting a large drum to a shelf and attaching a shower head to the tap. ( too heavy to lift & shower tent too complicated to build- was 40 years ago)
2. Solar shower (Ok but not in winter unless we added kettle water)
3. Bilge pump (best ever but you still had to heat water and a nuisance late at night if you've been fishing)
4. Coleman & Primus( lasted a few years and we were stoked when we first purchased)
5. Caravan with shower (you have to remember to turn it on 15-20mins and also use lost more water) Now this Christmas the jet got clogged up so I was on my own and I resorted to a large bucket and a small saucepan to pour the water over me- I had a great shower. We do cary a solar in the van but I think I could "suffer" a bucket shower any time.

Di
FollowupID: 714255

Reply By: Member - Ann D (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 00:02

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 00:02
Hi Karen,

Over the years I have used a 10l garden spray unit,with a shower head attached.

Now days,I use a portable gas hot water system.

I first saw it on campertrailers.org,and purchases it. It's a Mercury HW60
cost at the time was $400 +del to WA.

From Rod's Country Camping gear 0418 423 610.

Ann
AnswerID: 442159

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 13:11

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 13:11
We use one of these:

pressure pump

with an normal shower rose and an in line tap. It is plugged into a small 7AH battery that lasts a whole trip.

We also use it for transferring water and running water in to our mains tap in the van when bush camped.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

AnswerID: 442201

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 18:50

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 18:50
i bought a bcf one off my sister, got blocked up with sand all the time, so i modified the rose, by making the holes larger on the rose. works everytime.
AnswerID: 442241

Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 21:48

Tuesday, Jan 18, 2011 at 21:48
Lots of info so far.Just would like to hear from folk with a vehicle based system-Twine etc?Pros and cons?
Considering one.
Mary
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

AnswerID: 442275

Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 00:15

Wednesday, Jan 19, 2011 at 00:15
Hi Karen, My wife hates free camping, but I have convinced her by having a portable toilet and tent, plus a 12 volt camp shower and tent (yep I have two!) She is really pleased with both and is quite happy if I boil the kettle and put it in a 15 litre container, temp is just right and she uses about 5 litres (the gas stove is on or fire alight so there is no extra effort.) We have had the $25 shower for 12 months so before Karijini I will replace the pump with a bilge pump for reliability (unhappy wife is unhappy camping). You would think that bilge pumps are reliable as you would not want to be sinking in a boat and the pump will not start!The cost of the Glind/twine system and the added dramas of starting the car and adjusting the temp just seems so expensive and unnecessary compared to the bilge pump system.

AnswerID: 442296