Submitted: Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 18:46
the redbacks
Hi Guy's,
my brother has a Nissan Navara 2.5 turbo, NEVER towed a van, never been of-road been on beach 4 times max, done just on 30,000 klm's, on take of from a standing start and then on to higher speeds it smokes heaps {& i mean heaps}
of black smoke. it has never burnt oil, & has had all it's
services with Nissan dealer.
Nissan's reply to this is "over fuelling" to much EGR ?? [whatever that means} or really crappy dirty fuel !!
would this be a suitable answer if this was your car ??
he is now using BP fuel not the local servo that was 6c cheaper
Cheers for now
Dave & Maz
Reply By: Madfisher - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 19:25
Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 19:25
Is this the model with the DPF in the exhaust. I would be taking the Narava to an indepentent diesel mechanic for his opinion. For what its worth Nissan are famous for fobbing people off with warranty issues. Had he been using Bio diesel by any chance?
Follow Up By: the redbacks - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 19:42
Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 19:42
Hi Madfisher,
yes this model does have the DPF fitted, as does mine purchased at the same time mine does NOT smoke but i have done 40,000 clicks,and i tow a Lotus track van off road, & no he has NEVER used Bio diesel
but many thanks for your reply
Redbacks
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 21:01
Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 21:01
Reason I asked we have some naravas in out mixed fleet and two have blocked DPF. Nissan are coming up with all sorts of excuses that its not their fault.
I think we will be sticking with toyotas in future though.
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 21:02
Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 21:02
And ours have done about 30000ks also.
Pete
Reply By: Dust-Devil - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 20:12
Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 20:12
D & M
"would this be a suitable answer if this was your car ??"
Well it depends on how you look at it:
(a) Yes! it is a suitable answer if suggesting possible causes for the black smok.e
(b) Yes! if it is a sub standard fuel issue that is causing EGR and/or over fueling problems. If this is the case then the responsibility lies with the fuel supplier.
(c) No! not suitable if it is a Nissan Dealer attempting to baffle your brother with bullchit into thinking it is something outside the ambit of Nissan responsibility if still under warranty.
Your brother has taken a positive step in commencing to use BP fuel, at least for the time being.
Firstly it is normally/usually excellent clean fuel, albiet a tad higher in cost.
Secondly, your brother may see an immediate response for the better from using a different fuel source. It's not necessarily going to fix his problem as the damage to the EGR etc may already have happened, but it may give him an indicator that fuel was/is the cause.
Thirdly, should your brother or anybody else for that matter have a fuel problem with their vehicle that can be traced/shown to be BP fuel then BP will fix same without any problems. Just make sure you keep their fuel dockets.
If it is not a fuel quality problem then there is a myriad of things that could be causing his problem, that only a proper testing and diagnosis by Nissan on their exclusive computer diagnostic equipment will identify.
DD
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 20:45
Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 20:45
An injector service may help
Reply By: patsproule - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 21:04
Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 21:04
It's over fuelling for the available air mass. So first step is to
check the obvious - are there any air intake restrictions? Blocked / dirty air filter? Loose or split turbo hose? EGR Valve stuck open? There is no way it will need injectors cleaned at 30,000km.
Pat
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 22:03
Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 22:03
Spot on Patsproule.. You can't clean common rail injectors, you can soak them and cross you fingers? Air restrictions are the more common cause. If the car has only done 30,000kms it's a warranty job either way, take it back to your Nissan dealer and tell them to fix it.
Reply By: Hollywood - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 21:09
Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 21:09
Have a sticky beak into the air intake past the EGR hose. If it has oil in there, its the EGR valve.
Follow Up By: patsproule - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 21:55
Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 21:55
EGR has nothing to do with oil! Oil will come from the crankcase breather regardless of the state of the EGR valve.
Follow Up By: Hollywood - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 22:04
Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 22:04
My bad, I have called it the wrong thing. On top of the breather is a 'valve' to stop oil going into the intake. Thats the one I am talking about.
Follow Up By: patsproule - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:21
Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:21
PCV - Positive Crankcase Ventilation. It's fairly normal for them to leak some oil there - I wouldn't be concerned at all about that.
Follow Up By: Hollywood - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 18:25
Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 18:25
Mine put oil into the intake blew a huge amount of smoke, so I put a catchcan on it to stop that problem.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 22:05
Monday, Jan 31, 2011 at 22:05
Take it back for warranty, 30,000kms you said. Warranty Warranty Warranty.. Or Consumer Affairs.. Pretty Simple.
Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 19:08
Tuesday, Feb 01, 2011 at 19:08
Every second d40 I see has heaps of black smoke under acceleration. It's a free 'extra' from nissan, along with dodgy wiring looms, no bash plates, bonnets that don't catch and door handle replacement every second service.
I'll bet you start noticing other d40's smoking off the lights and up hills now.
Follow Up By: patsproule - Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:24
Wednesday, Feb 02, 2011 at 11:24
and problematic DPF's, and crook rear diffs, broken leaf springs, random jumps into limp
home mode or even full no go mode for no apparent reason....