Caravan Features

As seniority sneaks up on us we have started to look at caravans ,as a replacement for the trusty C/t that will eventually be beyond us to handle. We dont consider the wind up jobbies to be an upgrade & will go for a small poptop.
Used, of course, so someone else pays most of the depreciation..:))).
We now read the articles & reviews on new vans to get a feel for the job, & find
details on construction are scarce. One article on a new 18 ' single wheel van
raves on about the "specially selected axle"...good stuff methinks, then, on the
next page, is a pic showing slipper springs.. no thanks. This, on a $50k van, mmm.
Weight is rarely mentioned, but details on the TV are very inclusive. We know
buying a used van requires very careful inspection, but the waffle offered new
van seekers seems to bear little regard to the things serious buyers would
look at. Much research to be done, I fear. Will contemplate all that with a
month in Tassie ,starting Sat. Life must go on....sigh.....:)))))......oldbaz.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:11

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 14:11
Some helpful remarks would be

A Budget

B Size

C Type of terrain being traversed

D Comfort level eg Toilet shower???

E Type of suspension required

All will help get informative answers

AnswerID: 444030

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:42

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 17:42
OB
You know that the TV, Lounge layout etc are the iimportant things. As long as its got wheels it will follow you anywhere. Just dont worry about the stuff you cant see.
Enjoy your trip.
Mike.
AnswerID: 444045

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:51

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:51
Ooooooo - DO worry about the stuff you can't see. Strength, sound structure, freedom from water damage under the skin are all most important. It will follow you anywhere - unless it fall apart. We bought on body strength alone. The layout has proved satisfactory, and the small combined bathroom is a bonus that we would now not like to be without. There have been too many horror stories with caravans. TV? - who needs it when the big picture is seen all day through the car windscreen.

Hi agree with you Oldbaz; second hand is the way to go; sound condition is the next most important factor.

Solar power is my second priority.

FollowupID: 716145

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:59

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:59
Motherhen,
Me think one got through to the keeper.
Mike.
FollowupID: 716159

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 21:09

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 21:09
Yes, you had a hook dangling, but in a serious question which may be read by raw newcomers to caravanning in the future (when many newcomers have had their fingers burnt and they dream of retirement touring bleep tered), it should not have been said or needed to be shown in the light it was meant (facetious?).

Mh

FollowupID: 716161

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 10:21

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 10:21
Once again, wise words from our sage Motherhen :))). While I didnt take Michael
too seriously, I'm sure he is now suitably chastised for his flippancy. I think we
of EO may have to elect you as our patron, as you have amply demonstrated
your skills in offering advice & mentoring, so that we stray not too far from the
path of commonsense...more power to your pen, er...keyboard........oldbaz.
FollowupID: 716221

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 18:09

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 18:09
Hi old Baz, looking at your profile it would seem you like to get to a few spots that many of us black top people are not able to access & I guess the fact you have a camper trailer tells us you like to get into areas that on road vans are not capable of.
It's "horses for courses" I guess, but in my opinion the Pop Top concept is good & maybe in your case would suit your needs as it would pass under tree branches etc on bush tracks. So...... maybe an Off Road Pop top might be the way to go & if you want to keep costs down select a van that your existing vehicle will be comfortable towing. No doubt others with that type of rig on the Forum will better advise you.
By the way feel free to remove your dunce cap & move out of the corner as per MM at any time when you are ready. Sheeze!!!
Enjoy your trip to Tassie, It's a great place to visit & the climate is very easy to take, and good luck in your search for an "old fart" alternative to your CT.
AnswerID: 444046

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 10:28

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 10:28
Yes, I have enjoyed travelling in the outback, & the C/t lends itself to that. But I
have done most of the rough stuff now, with the exception of the Simpson, Cape
& Canning type treks, & would do those not towing, if indeed we ever go. I
suspect the van will be an onroad poptop & our touring a little more regular as
age slows us down, but will keep the C/t anyway...kids have discovered its joys
& use it regularly. Have sent MM. cheers....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 716222

Reply By: Madfisher - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:48

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 19:48
Have a great time in Tassie Baz, do you want someone to carry your bags, light the fire etc lol.
Wish I was going sob sob.
AnswerID: 444059

Follow Up By: Nev (TAS) - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 06:43

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 06:43
Look forward to catching up Oldbaz. Glad you didn't bring that Madfisher bloke though, as there will be some fish left for the rest of us to catch.
Hopefully the temperature will pick up a bit as down south it has been only low 20s.

Rgds
Nev
FollowupID: 716199

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 10:30

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 10:30
Thanks, gents, got to get out of this heat..I feel a Boags or three coming on.
Pete cant be that bad, he drives a Jack after all :)))........oldbaz.
FollowupID: 716223

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 20:01

Friday, Feb 04, 2011 at 20:01
God I would kill for low 20s at the moment, Bathurst is not as bad as a lot of places but I am over it. The hot nights means everyone is tired and grumpy.
Keep us informed Baz of what you are up to. Are you going on the day crossing or night?
Nev the only place I have slayed them in Tassie is Arthurs out of my mates boat, and he has not asked me back since lol.
FollowupID: 716327

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:04

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:04
Hi from Tassie, Oldbaz. You will hate it!

The climate down here is pretty hard to take - no humidity, no temperatures above 30 anywhere so far in our first 11 days here, fantastic cherries and berries, cheeses, icecreams, chocolates, no traffic to speak of, wonderful scenery and walks.....need I say more!

Enjoy the boat trip.

Cheers Heather G

Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 444061

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:10

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:10
Off road caravan for sale

Check out the link and see what an off road van would set you back.

Bonus is it's for sale in Tassie, pick it up down there mate.

That's one end of the scale, or check out my rig that can be had for around $35000-$39000 with dunny and shower, 2 water tanks, load shareing 7 leaf suspension + + +.

Mine is NOT for sale, love it too much.

Enjoy your trip mate, Cheers Colin.
AnswerID: 444064

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:38

Thursday, Feb 03, 2011 at 20:38
Hi Oldbaz,

We did a very similair thing recently and upgraded from a camper trailer to a van (labelled a cross-over). One thing I didn't want to do was lose too much off-road ability so a single axle was a must. Also, weight was the next thing, some vans are very capable of going off-road, but at +2.5T empty for some of the well know names, well they are just a big anchor.

Now while I wanted the creature comforts, I also knew that I still wanted outside cooking, a rollout awning and an inside dunny/shower - as well as true off-road ability (not too heavy and not too big but real suspension and good ground clearance). The more specific non-negotiable things you want the easier it is to decide - we settled on the AORC Quantum. While it doesn't suit all, it meets our needs and is just what we want.

Good luck with your search.

AnswerID: 444068