Winch under water?

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 20:57
ThreadID: 84146 Views:7761 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Just a question for all the old and bolds out there. If we take a situation where the winch is under water and the vehicle has stopped mid way through a water crossing, will the electrical winch still work? Has anybody been in this situation where you have had to get out of the vehicle run the winch out from under water plug the cable in and it works? I understand that prior preparation of having the cable plugged in and winch out around the bonnet or on the bull bar but will it work?

Reply By: Eric Experience - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 21:26

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 21:26
Will.
The winch will work as normal,But when you get home you will need to clean and dry the relay box to prevent corrosion, and also drain the gear box oil to get the water out. Eric
AnswerID: 444348

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 17:45

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 17:45
Main reason (2nd was to clear front so more air gets through radiator) I moved my controller inside the bonnet

K.A
FollowupID: 716566

Reply By: Will 76 Series - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 22:34

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 22:34
Eric,

Thanks, I have not done this myself but was curious about the connection still working from the winch under water. I have read numerous winching articles and threads but it doesn't seem to come up. Often you see vehicles towed or snatched out but rarely winched from under the water line?
Appreciate any other comments or experienceed comments?

Will
AnswerID: 444354

Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 23:07

Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 23:07
Yes generally.

I have done this a few times and the winch has worked for as long as I have had battery power. Keeping in mind that as the engine is not running and charging the batteries, the winch won't run for all that long.

AnswerID: 444357

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 08:19

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 08:19
We did exactly that in 1980 with FJ40 in the Jardine river on Cape York.
In those days there was no ferry, any vehicle access was by sea on a barge or ford all the rivers. The current pushed the vehicle sideways as the driver approached the log causeway in metre deep water. It ended up in the water to roof height at the rear and top of the bullbar at the front with the diffs high centred on the logs. Petrol engine, dizzy well under water and with no other choice but to try the winch we plugged the lead into the Warn high mount and away it went pulling the cruiser up onto the log ramps and then 50 yards through the swamp to dry land on just what was in the battery. After changing all the oils, draining water from the fuel tank and drying out the ignition the old girl fired right up and we did day trips for four days from our camp on the southern bank to all the points of interest on the tip. The return crossing was uneventful with the old 40 series chugging happily through the river making a bow wave with the windscreen as the water was to the top of the gearstick during the crossing and over the bonnet.
AnswerID: 444374

Follow Up By: Member-George (WA) - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 13:49

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 13:49
Did someone keep a lookout for croc's Cheers
FollowupID: 716532

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 14:03

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 14:03
In those days it was only two years (1978) since croc hunting was banned. Very rare to see one at all and most that were seen were very wary of man and also pretty small. They disappeared pretty quick when seen.
Nobody ever worried about crocs in the rivers, we used to walk across the Jardine at dusk every day, stand in a metre of water and catch barra in prawn nets as they swam past.
These days it is 30+ years since the hunting stopped, all those little ones have grown to be big buggers, they are very territorial so have moved further and further up rivers etc to establish their own territories so are very widespread and of a size to snack on people.
FollowupID: 716534

Follow Up By: Member-George (WA) - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 14:17

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 14:17
The good old days, Peter. Cheers
FollowupID: 716538

Reply By: Will 76 Series - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 08:43

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 08:43
Peter, what a situation lucky to get out by the sounds of it.
Thanks all for the comments.

Will
AnswerID: 444375

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 09:20

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 09:20
Hi Will,
I’ve got a mate that has an old winch with open electrics on it that needs cleaning up once it’s been under water. Mine is fully enclosed and it’s never needed cleaning. I imagine either variety should be capable of working underwater – check with the winch manufacturer and don’t buy one that can’t survive a soaking.
AnswerID: 444377

Reply By: sweetwill - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 11:13

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 11:13
Hello all.
A little of track but i have been thinking about my Anderson plug at the back of the hilux as it is near the tow bar and has power to it all the time when it goes under water would it blow the fuse cheers bill.
AnswerID: 444397

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 14:42

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 14:42
No it will not blow the fuse.

Most 12V electric fuel pumps are submerged in petrol while running and don't blow fuses or the car up ;-)
FollowupID: 716542

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 16:45

Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 16:45
arb sidewinder.
thanks for that it did worry me cheers bill.
FollowupID: 716552

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 08:59

Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 08:59
what can happen over time with Anderson plugs that are out in the weather is that dirt can build up around the connections and eventually they corrode and then the dirt and corrosion does start to bleed very small currents between the positive and negative. We had this situation on a couple of work utes where the battery would slowly go flat over a week or so, thought at first that the battery was crook but a bit of testing showed current flowing when all switched off. Started disconnecting things until it stopped and it turned out to be the anderson plug, was all good after we pulled it apart and cleaned it. Have had similar problems with winch control boxes over the years too.
FollowupID: 716626

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 09:07

Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 09:07
Ozhumvee.
thanks for the headsup i will keep an eye on the plug,cheers bill.
FollowupID: 716628