Submitted: Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 22:05
Taf68
i recently bought a 2002 automatic V6 petrol mitsubishi challenger. I am a little concerned that the fuel economy is less then i expected. I am currently getting 480 k from the 70 ltr tank. If i am working things out correctly then this is about 15 ltrs/ 100 k. Not what i was hoping for.
I have added a bullbar, aluminium not steel, a 2 inch emu
suspension lift, and a set of all terrain bridgestones. While i realise these wont help the fuel economy i am still surprised at how little return i am getting from the 70 litres.
Just wondering what everyones else thinks, particulary fellow challenger owners,
Taf
Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 23:03
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 23:03
Hey Mate
I good friend of
mine had a challenger and those are about the right figures. He used it mainly a a family wagon and the fuel ecconomy was an issue for him as
well. He eventually sold it for that reason and bought a subaru out back for the family duties.
He was happy with it other wise. My Adventra returns between 13 - 17.5L/100k depending on the conditions (towing/town freeway etc)
Reply By: Steve D1 - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 23:22
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 23:22
My Triton runs slightly better, approx 12Lt/100
Same motor
Reply By: kend88 - Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 23:55
Saturday, Feb 05, 2011 at 23:55
I have had a 2003 Challenger with same specs as yours for 5 yrs.
I assume you are checking how much you actually put in the tank to refill it rather than assuming you have used 70 litres. There is still a good 100km plus of fuel in
mine when the low fuel light comes on.
I get around 450km around city (15.6 L/100km) and about 600km on a trip (11.6L/100km), from 70 litres.
I averaged just under 16L/100km on a 16,000km trip where I towed a 1.7 ton caravan for about 90% of those kms, and was pretty happy with that.
KenD
Bris
Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 11:10
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 11:10
The auto is costing you 2l/100 the b/bar 1/100 lift1/100 ats 1/100 so I think you are doing
well. The challenger is the most fuel economic of the med size v6s. We have a man and a auto v6 Jack and the av diff is 2/100. But the auto is quieter and smoother and more relaxed flat road tourer. When you refill it how many litres are you puting in, then we can work it out for you. If you go till the light comes on then I reckon you would only be puting 60l in.
For eg My Jack has an 85 L tank , but it touches the empty mark at 70l used.
Follow Up By: Taf68 - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 19:06
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 19:06
Thanks for all the replies , I really appreciate the information. seems i need to provide a bit more information .......
i have twice emptied the tank to the stage where i have had to literally had to coast into the servo on fumes. Each time when filling up i have put in just over 72 litres, filling up the tank unitl the fuel is right at the rim of the fuel cap. I have then reset the trip clock and have got 485 and 484 k's done , wt which pont the light comes on. I then have enough fuel in the tank to go about 50 K's before the car splutters to a halt... a fact i can unfortunately testify to.
Hope that the further information helps
Taf68
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 19:21
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 19:21
The only way to be accurate is to fill it to the brim and set the trip meter
Next time you fill it take the number of litres you put in and divide that into the km on the trip meter.
Dont worry about whats left in the tank.
Its what you have to put in it to refill it that matters.
My light comes on with differing amounts in the tank depending on loading, car attitude, facing up
hill or down. .