Gone Bush (WA)
Things have turned bad with 2 major bush fires in
Perth.
Our daughter and her husband and new baby have abandoned their house in Roleystone. Quite a few houses have been burned down, she doesn't know if hers is amongst them.
Good luck to everyone in that arrea and around Brigadoon.
Reply By: OREJAP - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 19:09
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 19:09
Hi Gone Bush (WA), I have been watching a little of the ODI in
Perth (Cricket) & saw the smoke in the background of the WACA....dreadful & the wind is not helping things at all. I hope your daughter & family are safe as for everyone in the danger areas. Remember, houses & some possessions are replaceable lives are not. Hope there are no lives lost. I am sure everyone's thoughts are with people affected in our disaster areas throughout Australia. Best wishes to all.
Follow Up By: Member - notso - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 19:50
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 19:50
Hi gone bush bloody bad isnt it Hope everything is ok with your family
weve just arrived
home from
Perth to Nambeelup near Mandurah and it looks like afire has started around North Dandelup
Me missus me mad dog n me
Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 20:00
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 20:00
Hi GB; i certainly hope your daughter's house is unscathed, but i bet you and Mrs Bush are just glad that she and baby are away from it all.
After a year like last year, this year continues down
hill; now while Victoria drowns,
Perth burns (there are four areas with reported fires).
Good luck to you all.
Reply By: Road Warrior - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 20:26
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 20:26
Fingers crossed everything is ok.
I'm still hearing sirens from fire trucks even where I live, but that seem to be because some a-hole has lit a fire in the bush/wetland behind the Bunnings in Cannington
The water bombers have certainly been busy this afternoon.
Follow Up By: westskip - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 23:02
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 23:02
Fire behind Bunnings seems to be more near Ferndale on the other side of the river. I'm a member of the Canning Regional Park Volunteers and we have done a lot of work around Ferndale removing exotic plants and replanting with the correct natives. I just hope all our work hasn't been wasted.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 21:04
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 21:04
G/Day GB
I hope all is
well re: your daughter and family, there are certainly testing times in Australia at the moment.
Reply By: Gobumpy - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 21:09
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 21:09
Gone bush
Mate im feeling your pain been watching the smoke and bomber planes we live near jandakot airport we experienced bush fires 12 months ago in munster we lost 2 sheds wth all our 4wd gear and camping gear we managed to save the 2 houses one being my grandmothers place got her out in time and the other my parents place they were on way
home from a campfire escape when they got the news it was coming anyway long story short i know what the next day and weeks will be like for them so if they need any help at all please call ill be more than willing to lend a hand alot needs to be done even if the house has been saved. give us a call on0433780513
thinking of ya mate
Scott n Lara
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 21:47
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 21:47
Sincerely hope they are Ok Reckon the fires are worse than our floods and they were bad enough.
A lovely area around there when we were there in 2009.
G
Reply By: kingswoodwagon - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 22:25
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 22:25
While were on the subject,
What websites are the best for tracking real time fire positions?
Ive been using
hotspots for a while now - but im sure there are better sites around. This site doesnt seem to have kept up with the times - its a bit clunky.
Thanx in advance
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 11:41
Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 11:41
We use
Fire Sentinel.
For up to date WA fire warnings
FESA
Mh
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 11:43
Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 11:43
PS Sentinel is not always really up to date. You can see the time of the last pass on screen and there is sometimes several hours lapse.
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 22:41
Sunday, Feb 06, 2011 at 22:41
Thanks everybody. I really appreciate your support. Scott & Lara, I think you must be special people, very kind.
Tomorrow will reveal the situation but we think that the fire may have passed by their house just down the valley.
cheers everyone, thank you.
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 12:12
Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 12:12
Hi GB, glad to hear your family and their
home is OK. We feel for all those who have lost their homes, we live a little further along the hills from there, we were coming
home from down
Albany way when we noticed the smoke and was wondering where it was until we hit Armadale, when we were going along
Albany Hi/way in Kelmscott we could see the flames coming over the
hill and racing down the side, was terrifying to say the least.
D
Reply By: steved58 - Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 19:50
Monday, Feb 07, 2011 at 19:50
Just back from my daughters place in Kelmscott hills spent the night protecting the house all ok now but can't go back in when we leave police
road block
It was quite frightening at times I feel for those that lost their houses we saw a few go up and the explosions we heard were terrifying
I am going to rest now
Ps the firies did a great job what would we do without them
Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Feb 10, 2011 at 21:38
Thursday, Feb 10, 2011 at 21:38
we were evacuated 11.30 saturday night ,took 3/4 hr to move us and 30 birds 2 cats, 4 snakes were not allowed back till monday, all is good in the swan valley again. we also now have this electronic device working due to power spike. still havnt recieved the fesa alert even though we are registered