Hilux vs D22 Navara vs D40 Navara

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 20:44
ThreadID: 84333 Views:15637 Replies:5 FollowUps:4

I'm looking for advice to help choose which ute to buy. Looking for dualcab, diesel, 4x4, manual. It's down to Hilux vs D22 Navara vs D40 Navara.

Done the searches and there's heaps of positives for each. If possible, it would be good to hear of any problems with these models.

Thanks...
Michael

Reply By: iijmartin - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 21:12

Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 21:12
Hello Michael,
I went thru same search last year but wanted vehicle as tow tug. So needed 3000 kg tow capacity which whittled it down to 3 - Navara D40, D-Max and colorado. Read enough forums on clutch issues to sway me towards auto. Bought the Navara D40 just a bit larger inside than my 2nd choice D-Max. Have been extremely happy with the Navara has plenty of power - even more after a Steinbauer chip for extra grunt for towing. New model Ford could be worth looking at.
AnswerID: 445346

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 21:14

Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 21:14
Hi Michael,
New or second hand?
Manual or auto?
You towing or just touring?
If your towing, what weight?
Off road or all H/way?

Hmm, not that I have either make, depends on what you want to do.

AnswerID: 445347

Follow Up By: mikeyandmary - Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 21:37

Sunday, Feb 13, 2011 at 21:37
New or second hand? NEW
Manual or auto? MANUAL
You towing or just touring? TOURING
If your towing, what weight? N/A
Off road or all H/way? 85% Highway/City 15% outback (Innamincka/Flinders etc)

FollowupID: 717600

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 06:31

Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 06:31
Hi Michael,
Ok, A new one, What fruit can the dealers throw in for you? Canopy, Bullbar, Driving lights, do you need roof racks? I know you mentioned N/A for towing, but ask them to fit a towing pack, a selling point down the track.
Petrol or diesel?
The links below are from the RedBook. So they are a guide only.
Both of these are Diesels from this PAGE
Navara ST D40
ST-R D22

Hilux's
From these PAGES

Depends on what level of extras your after and what price you what to pay for them.

I reckon Michael you've got some reading ahead of you and some sums to do.
And hopefully some will come forward will the pro & cons of owning each vehicle.
Good luck with it and happy trails.

FollowupID: 717633

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 12:16

Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 12:16
The D22 is not in the same league as the D40 and Hilux however the D22 is very affordable and does the job. The Hilux is the best to drive IMO and has the biggest payload and roomier cabin, however the Nissans can legally tow more weight. The new 550 D40 has a V6 TD with heaps of power and will attract buyers wanting to tow at the heavier end of the scale however is a $60k rig and only available in 3 colours. I would suggest taking a test drive as all are good products.
AnswerID: 445396

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 13:18

Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 13:18
We have d22s and d40 in our rental fleet. The d22s have been more trouble free to the extint the boss is not buying any more d40s.
FollowupID: 717666

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 13:23

Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 13:23
Only talking about the vehicles from a design and drive point of view. All vehicles can have problems, curious to know what sort of issues the D40's are suffering from.?
FollowupID: 717667

Reply By: Steve W - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 14:01

Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 14:01
Hi Michael after a lot of thought and consideration I went for a GXL Land Cruiser Ute seems to me that they are better on fuel/service etc than the rest. I checked around and could not find a slip on camper that I could live with. I own a steel fabrication business so I made my own. I showed it to the local 4wd shop and they reckon it is one of the best they have seen. Heaps of storage, double bed, room for Gen set, two 20l fuel,fridge and spare wheel, soft sides and windows flyscreened. I kept record of costs and the shop reckon I would be cheaper than most on the market, but better build. We can also change the layout to suit individual needs. Best part it will fit any tray the same size!!!

AnswerID: 445405

Reply By: Patrol22 - Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 17:46

Monday, Feb 14, 2011 at 17:46
Also a discussion at THIS thread that you might like to read.
AnswerID: 445421