Landcruiser revamp
Submitted: Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 09:25
mike39
Getting my truck rego. checked this morning the mechanic told me that Toyota are going to bring back the (previous) 6 cyl. turbo diesel in the cab chassis and troopy.
He thought something to do with govt. fleet purchases not wanting v8 engines.
Any other rumour this direction?
From what I have heard about the v8 it could be a good strategic move. All that complexity without any real benefit.
mike
Reply By: CSeaJay - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 10:07
Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 10:07
Mike,
I offer the following points:
1) Yes I also heard that Gov fleet purchases have difficulty justifying a V8. This is unfortunate because the "no V8 rule" is an old rule aimed to avoid pollution and waste. The new engines actually satisfy the reasoning behind the rule.
2)) Your statement about the "complexity of the V8 TD without real benefit" will be challenged. Power is better, torque is better. Consumption is at least not worse. Emissions down. It may be more complex like any other new car engine, but there is real benefit.
2) I understand that the V8 complies with the newer tougher emission standards, whereas the previous engines do not. (I do not have conclusive knowledge on this but that was what was said when the V8 TD came out)
Having said the above, I do agree that Toyo should bring back the workhorse "tradesman" models both in the ute as
well as the wagon.
CJ
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 10:41
Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 10:41
I thought the Troppy/utes had the same power and torque in the V8 as the old TD 6, cost heaps more to rego (in Qld) but its Goverment so they don't pay anyway, cannot see why there would be an issue there.
Maybe has something to do with feul quality issues, the older cruiser could handle a bit of bad fuel, wher as the V8's, like all the "modern" stuff are bad reactions to sub standard fuel.
Toyota still sell the 1HZ (non turbo) in south Africa, you cant get a V8 76/78 if you wanted to.
Shane
Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 19:41
Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 19:41
Shane no V8 70 series in South Africa, only 1HZ.
The 200 series is the only V8 Landcruiser over there.
Reply By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 12:31
Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 12:31
The government would have to walk away from Euro 4 and the soon to be introduced Euro 5 polution controls that they introduced in January 2007 if that was the case.
Surely it would be 1000000 times easier to change the 'no V8 rule' for government departments than it would be to go back allowing higher polution vehicles that don't meet euro 4 into the country. Nissan could also bring back the 4.2 if that was the case.
Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 12:35
Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 12:35
Sorry hit submit accidently.
The point being that the V8 rule was brought in to minimise polution, but technology has moved on, so why would they allow higher pollutiong 6 cyl vehicles to be brought in instead of lower polluting V8's.
Though admittly we are talking about the same federal government that counts the farts of 400 camels owned by tour operators in the Carbon "polution", but doesn't count the farts of 1000000 feral camels because they are in the wild, so anything is possible.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 12:57
Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 12:57
Cant be sticking to the" NO V8" rule or Barnaby wouldnt have had a 200 ser to give a bath .
ROFL
Dont drive in flood water ANNA says Barnaby says doesnt apply to opposition LOL
Follow Up By: Gary.L - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 16:09
Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 16:09
From my point of view, working for government department in WA, you really need to justify why you need V8 vehicle.
At the moment, it's relatively easy because the troop carrier has some features that no other vehicles have (11 seater, bullet proof 4x4) that only comes in a V8 configuration. If a 6 cylinder motor was an option, it would be the one that we would be getting. Real shame cause I like the V8.
Reply By: olcoolone - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 19:37
Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 19:37
It's an urbam myth.
But I did hear a story from a reputable source that Nissan are going to bring back the TD6 and in three years time the MQ Patrol with 3 speed auto box!
South Africa has the 1HZ only in there Landcruiser 70 series and the are bought out here in small numbers for off road use only or under special permit.
Every where else in the EU world they have the V8.
Why would you want to go backwards and the price the government pays for vehicles they easily make money when the sell them at auction in 3 years.
End of the day the governments of the world stipulate emission standards and the poor car company's have to follow.
This myth may of been started buy the knockers of the new V8 D4D or the people who think the 1HZ series of engine are and will be the best engine ever made.