Fitting transmission cooler on Rodeo TD Auto Dual Cab

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 18:38
ThreadID: 84433 Views:1897 Replies:3 FollowUps:0
We have a Rodeo Td Auto 06 model. We only tow a small 14 ft van, Tinnie on the roof and the back of the ute pretty well laden, (usually full of home brew), however a mate suggested that a transmission cooler may not be a bad idea. I asked my mechanic, who I have a lot of confidence in, (i am no mechanic), and he said that it could not be fitted because the inercooler would be in the way. Any thoughts? cheers...

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 20:27

Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 20:27
Gday Pet
Can it be fitted somewhere else? I remember that some of our machines had oil coolers behind the cabin with a small fan.

AnswerID: 445818

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 21:42

Thursday, Feb 17, 2011 at 21:42
Cruiser ones are fitted in front of the radiator and the aircon on opposite side to intercooler Not a huge one but it works.

Other way we used to do Coronas was disconnect the pipes that went through the radiator and fit a cooler in behind the bumper.
Not quite so practical on a 4by though.

AnswerID: 445824

Reply By: tacr2man - Friday, Feb 18, 2011 at 06:45

Friday, Feb 18, 2011 at 06:45
Its a good idea to fit a trans cooler when towing fitting infront of radiator wont detract much
from radiator airflow, Most radiators with auto have heat exchanger built in , if not possible due to room then try and put in airstream elsewhere at front but allow for ground clearance , and flying gravel etc . I have mounted them horizontal under pickup bed and fitted a electric fan . relayed thru electric engine fan switch . Heat is a killer for auto trans , synthetic oil is another useful change in extreme conditions .
AnswerID: 445836