Your'e halfway across a creek crossing & the engine stops,(Bummer) wot now!

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 08:56
ThreadID: 84459 Views:5311 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
G'day all, I guess this ha happened to a lot of people, experienced & the not so experienced, what did you do? how did you do it 'n did it work first time?? Looking forward to you're reply's.

Reply By: nick - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:22

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:22
Well simple, send SWMBO out with the winch cable and controller to winch us out.
AnswerID: 445956

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:29

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:29
hey nic, with the winch 'n battery under water she is the smart one.. lol
FollowupID: 718272

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:23

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:23
Ask for help, travel with a buddy and be prepared for it to happen.

AnswerID: 445957

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:30

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:30
Also a good opportunity to wash the windows.

FollowupID: 718273

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:39

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:39
hey arb, for the windows it needs about 2 metres deeper....
FollowupID: 718274

Follow Up By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:45

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 10:45
The sign at the car-wash does not recommend that.....

FollowupID: 718275

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 11:43

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 11:43
Happened to us when we were crossing Gin Creek between the Mort and the Burke Rivers.

I said to my mate, gee I have never used a Tirfor before, how do you use one of them. He showed me the finer points of using one which I was oh so grateful for.

When he had winched the ute out I said maybe I should have a go as you seem to be buggered. I had to take in all the information about the use of a Tirfor while giving him encouragement on how well he was doing. I think I did well in this area as I didn't even have air con.

Have also pulled a ute out backwards using a Hiab and retracting the boom with a rope tied to a tree, have to keep shortening the rope which makes for slow progress. At least the 2 battery's held out.

AnswerID: 445961

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 12:08

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 12:08
If you have seen 'Northern Safari' by Keith Adams (available at exoz shop) he was travelling alone and got stuck in the middle of a creek. Amazing solution was to get a tree branch (some 200mm dia) wedged and tie a steel cable to car and around log. With a smaller branch as a winder and his wife on the starter motor he hand winched himself out. Just amazing bit of self reliance.

Purchase this movie as it well worth the watch many times and just a great travel documentary of a guy in the '60s.

AnswerID: 445962

Follow Up By: RoyHarvey - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 16:47

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 16:47
Long time since I saw that movie at the Norwood town hall, and I rcall it as an absolute classic.
If I remember correctly after 30 + years, Keith didn't have an axe so he had to shoot down a tree with his 303 rifle.
The other part that (I think) I remember was replacing a thrust washer in the gearbox but cutting a new one out of a body panel.
Not sure to this day if some of it may have been scripted but it was very convincing.
FollowupID: 718293

Reply By: Muntoo - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 13:19

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 13:19
Keep turning the key with in in gear. Only smart thing you can do really.

Especially up here.
AnswerID: 445966

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 17:29

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 17:29
If the engine will turn over freely you might as well try starting it. If it's taken a gutfull of water then turning it over will likely burn out the starter motor.
Winching or towing out of gear is the safest option.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 718297

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 14:08

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 14:08
i do find this very interesting ..... it almost seems to me that it is "common" to have happen ???????
My job/s for the last 10 years have taken me to places where it is NOT an option to own a car that has even the slightest chance of cutting out in any depth of water (excepting the snorkle going under) as they have mostly been in remote crocodile prone areas and any water over 400mm deep would very most probally have a croc in it.
We have had it happen only once, Mazda Bravo without snorkle, in Arnhem Land heading from Maningrida to Jabiru, lost traction and slid into a hole, shut off motor so no water intake but water was up to the windscreen, got the kids to high ground and hand winched it out, about 4 hours work in muddy water known for having salt water crocs in it ... NOT FUN AT ALL .......
If i owned any 4wd that i could not trust in water i would get rid of it fast, it could well cost you a life .. we had a brand new diesel hilux (08) d/c 4wd with snorkle, it stalled on us going through a 500mm crossing i will NEVER buy or trust one again :-)
Joe
AnswerID: 445967

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 23:22

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 23:22
mate half metre of water ain't much???

my old girl was in half metre and didnt even flinch!!! but then mines 3 inches highr then stock!

but at least you have a good rig now!!
FollowupID: 718320

Follow Up By: Jezza77 - Sunday, Feb 20, 2011 at 12:18

Sunday, Feb 20, 2011 at 12:18
running an 08 dc hilux myself and never had an issue with water a lot deeper than 500mm, and it has had a good work out in the last two weeks with all the rain the darwin has recieved, at least you stuck with toyota though
FollowupID: 718346