Nissan patrol 6 cyl turbo diesel fuel consumption

Submitted: Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 16:26
ThreadID: 84468 Views:10485 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
can any one help with fuel consumption figures on patrol
I'm thinking of buying 6 cyl patrol turbo diesel ute around the 90's ?
coil springs ? + auto or man ? if you can give me any tips

ps any tips on how to use search on this forum ????
Cheers Nick b

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 16:47

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 16:47
You cannot get a 4.2td GU patrol with an auto box.
Fuel consumption on mine is...
Fully loaded with roof rack..... .......15.5Ltr/!00
Mt. without Roof rack ...... .....14.5ltr/100
Towing van Fully loaded + R/rack 19.5ltr/100

Yes they like fuel but just keep on going n going n going n going.
And mine has been tickled a bit with motsons stage 2 update.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 445973

Follow Up By: nick b - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 17:52

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 17:52
thats good Dodg thanks , do any models have auto 4 or 5 speed ?
your consumption figs are at what speed 100ks + /- plenty of power ?

and by the way i thort work was for thoses who dint have a misses.
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 718298

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 18:02

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 18:02
If you want a slush bucket (auto) you will have to go the Grenade (3 ltr) or the petrol 4.5 or 4.8 both juice chewers.
The speeds are at speed limit when no van and at 95kph towing van.

Wife loves fishing too.....yep I'm lucky.

Also the 4.2 is no race vehicle but will just hang in there when wanted.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 718299

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 17:52

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 17:52
G'day Nick

Like dodger my 4.2 (2005 TDI wagon with a bit done to the engine) gets about 14 l's per 100 on it's own and abt 16 - 17 l's per 100 towing my camper which weighs abt 1200 fully loaded.

great engine even if a bit old fashioned these days.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 445984

Reply By: Batt's - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 18:24

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 18:24
Gday I've got a 1993 mav/pat converted to a twin cab ute weighs about 2.7ton aftermarket turbo 33" tyres get about 12.1lts per 100km at 100 to105kph
AnswerID: 445988

Follow Up By: Batt's - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 18:26

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 18:26
oh yeh it's a manual
FollowupID: 718302

Reply By: Member - Graham N (SA) - Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 21:56

Saturday, Feb 19, 2011 at 21:56
Hi Nick
I have a 92 Patrol wagon 4.2 ltr with a roof rack I get about 15ltrs to the 100ks around town and on the highway sometimes a little better. With the T-Van on I get around 18ltrs /100kms so pretty similar to above not the greatest fuel consumption but you can't have everything.

Graham
AnswerID: 445996

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Feb 20, 2011 at 04:08

Sunday, Feb 20, 2011 at 04:08
G day Nick

Welcome aboard

7.8 km/lt normal driving, back and forward to work.

Am now up to 6.5 km/lt towing the Camper, since I had the injectors, and reset the fuel pump done.

Figures into a strong head wind and towing, on way up to Alice Springs (2009 trip) 5.2 km/lt but we were 4.7 tonne.

IN a Ute, you would be getting probably 1 km/lt more, but that will depend on the state of the fuel pump, and the injectors, and how your right foot is used.

If you are searching for fuel useage in trips...

1) Go to Treks
2) Go ExplorOz Treks
3) Go RHS os Australian Map, pick your state, then your Trek eg... Qld.. Cape York
4) Open Trek, in Pop Up
5) Go Fuel Supplies and Useage or read up on heaps of information
6) Go Fueltrek at the bottom of that paragraph

I love reading the blog and article's section

AnswerID: 446005

Follow Up By: nick b - Sunday, Feb 20, 2011 at 09:51

Sunday, Feb 20, 2011 at 09:51
Thanks every one for your replys GREAT a special thanks to Bucky for that oztrek fuel usage thingo very helpful thanks
i notice that the fuel usage on treks like birdsvill/canning dint use much differant to vehical loaded on the road . as i have read you need to carry 50% more when doing these type of treks (keeping in mind no fuel stops ) but quite often i find that this is not the case . any comments on this ?
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 718332

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Feb 20, 2011 at 10:07

Sunday, Feb 20, 2011 at 10:07
Nick , this is typical of several recorded trips -->

On a 6 day trip, 230lt 1133km 4wd trip from Birdsville to Alice springs via Hay river track we recorded everyone's fuel use and the 4.2 TD GU was worst of diesels at about 16lt/100km as below or about 22% less than my petrol Patrol.

4800 Petrol Patrol (Robin) 20.2lt/100km over the 1133km
60 series diesel 15.7lt/100km over 1133km
Navara 3lt nissan diesel 13.2lt/100km over 1133km
4.2 Patrol 16lt /100km
Pajero Exceed Petrol approx 19lt/100km
Range Rover V8 approx 22lt/100km

AnswerID: 446026

Follow Up By: nick b - Monday, Feb 21, 2011 at 17:09

Monday, Feb 21, 2011 at 17:09
Thanks Robin interesting the fuel consumption on the pajero
i'd be happy with the 16 lt/100 i would think this was in the desert & hard going with loaded vehicals ,was the hay road difficult ?
thanks for your reply
Cheers Nick b

FollowupID: 718508

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Feb 21, 2011 at 19:52

Monday, Feb 21, 2011 at 19:52
Yes and the Pajero was an automatic , whereas my petrol patrol was manual.

I wouldn't rate the Hay back then as hard but it has got easier.

We drove it near start of season and there were sections without any tracks in places and you had to walk ahead of car sometimes and find the next bit, but it was that year that the Hay track became popular and I think somw 200 cars drove it after us.
It was dry then and we even drove some of the Hay river bed - magic stuff - now its probably tp soggy.

FollowupID: 718524