Quotes for new vehicle (I'm confused)

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:14
ThreadID: 84581 Views:4276 Replies:12 FollowUps:32
I am in the market for a new troopy so rang dealer 1 and got a quote emailed. Right now ring dealer 2, told him quote from dealer 1. Dealer 2 emailed me with his price. SIXTY CENTS cheaper. Am I missing something or doesn't dealer 2 want business. I didn't think a cash purchase of nearly $70k was something to be taken lightly and felt he may have quoted something more realistic. Needless to say dealer 1 will get my money. Any ideas why dealer 2 would quote (to me) such a ridiculous price difference.

Arlo

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:21

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:21
Hi Dave. Probably RRP has been used with a 60 cent discount. I have heard of buyer agents that can do the haggle for you and in doing so save you considerably. Have a google for someone near you perhaps? Cheers
AnswerID: 446437

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:42

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:42
Thanks Leigh
Arlo

FollowupID: 718819

Reply By: mattd - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:27

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:27
Tip 1. Don't tell them the previous quote amount. Get three quotes, work out the best, and negotiate with that one to get inclusions added..

Tip 2. A broker can be handy. Used one in Melbourne. Quoted price of 2010 VX Landruiser diesel. $103,000. Broker price included delivery to my house, full mats all through and both tanks filled, $93,000 all up. Told him what I wanted, he got back to me within 24 hours with the price and it was easier than dealing with a dealer!!!

Personal message if you want his details.

Good luck, it should be enjoyable, not a struggle!!!

Mattd
AnswerID: 446439

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:43

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:43
Thanks Mattd
Arlo

FollowupID: 718820

Reply By: ob - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:28

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:28
Well Dave I would guess you haven't worked in a dealership in a position to see what margin there is in your $70,000 purchase. I understand you are shelling out $70k but I am pretty sure the dealer doesn't get to put anything like that in his pocket.
I would also venture that if want to hold an auction go to an auction yard.

ob
AnswerID: 446440

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:46

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:46
Thanks ob.
Arlo

FollowupID: 718821

Follow Up By: Member - Leon A (SA) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 19:47

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 19:47
spoken like a true salesman
FollowupID: 718851

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 21:16

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 21:16
Well said ob, people (db1) think dealers get their cars for free!!! 'n pocket all that money!!! maybe they both quoted their min. cost to you - obviously still not good enough!! should they tear up money to sell you a car for less?? have a think about it - it's like you paying them extra $$$$$ above their quote, would you do that?? I don't think so, same comparison, be FAIR! hoo roo
FollowupID: 718864

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:59

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 20:59
The last few times I've bought a 4WD, the difference between the highest and lowest changeover was $8000.

We do live in a capitalist system - make the most of competition and ignore sob stories from salesmen.
FollowupID: 718965

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 21:12

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 21:12
G'day again, I guess the original quote was 60c difference, I can't see where they can accomodate $8000, where do you think $8000 should come from? maybe company bonus's? only sometimes calander year end to catch up on numbers, hoo roo
FollowupID: 718968

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:58

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 13:58
I think using a broker is a great idea when purchasing a new vehicle, especially if you are a private buyer.

The problem for private buyers is that all the fleet and government buyers are getting substantial discounts to the price you will pay, meaning as soon as you drive out of the car yard you have just lost the difference between what you pay, and what the fleet and government buyers pay and thiswill run to $thousands....

A broker may not get you to the same price, but they will at least negotiate something more than you probably can, and as someone pointed out they may get other inclusions that provide better value for money.

Good luck with your purchase, ‘The Landy’

AnswerID: 446443

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 14:11

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 14:11
Thanks mate.
Arlo

FollowupID: 718823

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 14:07

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 14:07
When I bought a new VW recently I got a price off a broker and then hit the dealer up for the price less what the paid the broker.

We came to an agreement $500 under the broker price.

Broker wasnt pleased but what the hell its my money.

AnswerID: 446445

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 15:15

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 15:15
And the broker's time and trouble!

FollowupID: 718827

Follow Up By: dbish - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 15:24

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 15:24
Bit rough on the broker!! When i was working for a Ford dealership in the country, Goverment deals have no tax for a start. But the tradins we generaly had people lined up to buy them as they were local govt vevicles & customers knew the vehicle. This helped the bottom line dealing with Govt vehicles.
FollowupID: 718829

Follow Up By: Member - Tanka (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 17:45

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 17:45
I'm sure said broker will now start to charge all the legitimate customers an upfront fee. Nice going.
FollowupID: 718844

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 20:47

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 20:47
I would have bought off the broker but the dealer was cheaper.

They only put out a mass mail to selected dealers so not a big time issue I would think.

No different to playing one dealer against another.

I would never ring up for a price as they have no idea who you are and could be another dealer just fishing..

At least go and face them to ask.

FollowupID: 718858

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 21:40

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 21:40
You probably think car dealers have no scruples, what you did is bordering on dishonest.
FollowupID: 718869

Follow Up By: Ruffy-Dan - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 08:57

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 08:57
The Dealer was only cheaper because you had a price from the broker.

You're right, not a massive loss of time but still... it is his chosen profession that YOU commissioned.

Very different to playing one dealer against another.. you have employed a broker to do something you didn't want to do and then didn't pay him..

You don't need to ring for prices.. you just diddle brokers instead.

I don't know what you do, or in the past have done, for work but i'm sure you place a value on your knowledge, skill and time so why would you think that someone else shouldn't?

Dan
FollowupID: 718901

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 10:23

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 10:23
Well Im very sorry I seem to have upset so many.

However I only rang a broker and asked for a price and he responded.

Same as the dealers I went around They were happy to give me a figure.

All were very good except the one who offered me a car for $1000 more than I found it advertised on Carpoint when I got home.

Certainly everyone has a skill and knowledge and what about people who ring up tradies for a price and never get back to them. Same thing.

Worst job is Real Estate where people go for trips around houses for something to do on a boring day. No intention of buying anything.

Far worse than what I did.

From now on will keep my business to myself I think.

FollowupID: 718906

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 21:03

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 21:03
So when you get a quote from 3 tradesmen, you pay the two you don't use, for the work they did in preparing quotes ???

Believe me, the cost of preparing unsuccesful quotes is built into the cost of sales.
FollowupID: 718966

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:00

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:00
So do you or just take the first quote or what.

Most people give a free quote anyway that's part of business.

Once again a thread has degenerated into personal bashing.

I only said what I did to point out it got a cheaper price and don't think I

deserve quite the comments thank you.

Its no different asking a broker for a price than asking several dealers and taking the cheapest one.

I could have asked several brokers and taken the best price which would have been no different to asking the dealers..

I'm over it.

FollowupID: 718970

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 23:19

Saturday, Feb 26, 2011 at 23:19
Well I'm with you Graham, done nothing wrong in my book. Took the best price you could get. No different to using an insurance broker to get a quote for insurance, you don't have to take their quote. They are not upset if you don't get insurance thru them, end of the day you take the best price.

Peter Horne

"There is no substitute for cubic inches"

FollowupID: 719074

Reply By: Rod W - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 15:33

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 15:33
Have you played around in this site ? http://www.toyota.com.au/landcruiser-70-series/prices?WT.ac=Toyota_ShowroomPage_SUVSand4WDS_LC70_Prices

Don't rush take your time.
AnswerID: 446448

Follow Up By: Rod W - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 15:46

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 15:46
Last August I was in the market for another Troopy. I looked at the new ones but their dash with all that airbag stuff didn't impress me cause there is suff that I will want to fix to the dash. And they wanted lots and lots of $$$.

I decided to go for a 2008 Troopy being the last before airbags. I picked one up from an auction house (ex govt) with 36,000ks for a fixed price prior to it going up for auction and $12000 cheaper than buying it from a caryard. It also had the mandatory used car dealer warranty.
FollowupID: 718832

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 16:24

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 16:24
Thanks Rod
Arlo

FollowupID: 718837

Reply By: urbanus - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 16:07

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 16:07
I have been told that some dealers, despite appearances of independence, can be sharing a common computer system and therefore able to see each other's quotes, floor stock, deliveries etc.

Some tips to mitigate:
- don't inform dealers of other quotes
- let them know you are ambivalent on make and comparing one make/model against another
- time purchase near end of quarter so dealers close to next incentive level give a competitive quote
- request quote for cash and driveaway
AnswerID: 446452

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 16:27

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 16:27
Thanks mate
Arlo

FollowupID: 718838

Reply By: Member - Tanka (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 17:23

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 17:23
It may be time consuming, but I have found better quotes are obtained in person rather than by email or the phone. A lot of places will just quote RRP over the phone, as they would no doubt get a lot of time wasters and other dealers looking for pricing.
Also dealers will be more open to throw in accessories with a vehicle than drop the price by the same value, as they are only losing the difference between their cost price and RRP.
I have also had success by saying things like, if you throw in one of these (name accessory) I will purchase one of these (name accessory.)
I usually have a list with me of the specifications of the vehicle I want, accessories fitted and how much I am prepared to pay. If you do this and are not too rediculous about it, you can usually get somewhere.
Also, be mindful that how you treat your dealer, could well be the way he treats you when it comes time for Warranty/Servicing Issues.

Cheers Tanka.
AnswerID: 446459

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 17:34

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 17:34
Thanks Tanka
Arlo

FollowupID: 718843

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 18:14

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 18:14
I agree with all you say Tanka.

FollowupID: 718845

Follow Up By: dereki - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 18:15

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 18:15
Not sure how true it is but my brother told me that 95% of people who leave a dealership do not return to buy a car. So if you are at the car yard, and seem interested, they will do whatever they can to stop you leaving.

D
FollowupID: 718846

Follow Up By: Member - Tanka (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 18:29

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 18:29
Dereki, that sounds like it could be right. I think that if you are fair dinkum, put down a proposed deal, and tell the dealer that you will sign up if he can come to the party. They will do a lot more for you than if you are just going to get his price and "think about it" or ring around.
To me it's about getting the car you want for what you are happy to pay for it rather than trying to screw the last dollar you can.
I think if you expect honor, you need to show it yourself.

Just for the record, I have no links with car dealers or the industry.

Cheers Tanka.
FollowupID: 718847

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 19:58

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 19:58
Thanks to all who replied with advice. My situation is that I live on a station some 500km from dealer 1 and nearly 1000km from dealer 2. I explained to BOTH that it was a genuine purchase and that money was immediatley available (super payout). I told BOTH dealers that I was only talking to them. Dealer 1 and only because of probably knowing the area (only my assumption) much more helpful. Yes I understand tyre kickers etc but I went to great lengths to explain to BOTH my circumstances. Anyhow dealer 1 will receive the cheque in the next few days. AND I AM HAPPY TO BE ABLE TO BUY MY FIRST NEW VEHICLE.

Arlo

FollowupID: 718852

Follow Up By: Member - Tanka (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 20:17

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 20:17
Well congrats on your purchase Dave. Enjoy getting her dirty.

Cheers Tanka.
FollowupID: 718853

Follow Up By: ob - Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 23:54

Thursday, Feb 24, 2011 at 23:54
Dave, may I also add my congratulations on the purchase of your new Troopy. Having owned a few different 4WDs and several of them Toyotas IMHO you have chosen wisely and should enjoy many years of trouble free motoring and exploring. No I don't own, work for, or ever have had any affiliation with a Toyota dealership or for that matter any other brand. I ask this question more out of morbid curiosity than anything else. In the OP you say (among other things) "rang dealer 1 and got a quote emailed. Right now ring dealer 2, told him quote from dealer 1." OK, in followup 5 of 6 you say "I told BOTH dealers that I was only talking to them." Sorry but I am a bit confused as to whether you told dealer 2 about the quote from dealer 1 or that you told both dealers you were only getting quotes from them individually.

As that once famous (or should that be infamous...lol) politician was once quoted as saying......"please explain"

ob
FollowupID: 718888

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 13:31

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 13:31
ob

At the risk of boring everyone this is how it went. I rang dealer 1 and asked price of new troopy. No trade, cash deal (As I can't go to dealership due to distance I explained in full re getting super payout, money in my account etc) So I made it clear I was not a tyre kicker. He gave me a price and I told him I would call another dealer and get back to him. He seemed OK with that. I rang dealer 2 and told him price dealer 1 quoted and so then he quoted as I said earlier 60 cents diff. So dealer 1 and 2 know of each other. I didn't ring and say things like "Mate, dealer such and such offered me $3000.00 better. I was upfront with both and not in anyway interested in playing games. Mate I hope this sorts it out for you. All old Dave wants is a new troopy.

Arlo

FollowupID: 718916

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 21:08

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 21:08
" they will do whatever they can to stop you leaving. "

Yep - at one dealership I had to say VERY loudly "If you don't give me the keys to my car NOW, I am calling the Police".
FollowupID: 718967

Reply By: Harry and Ann (WA) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 00:29

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 00:29
HI DAVE, why is the broker abble to get $10gs of the price quoted from the dealer ?
AnswerID: 446501

Follow Up By: Member - Dave B1 (QLD) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 13:18

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 13:18
Hi Harry and Ann,

Guys that was mattd (not me) who mentioned $10k off using broker. He may be able to give you details. I had never really heard of the idea until he mentioned it.
(WA will be one of my first trips when get new troopy - always wanted to get over there)

Arlo

FollowupID: 718915

Reply By: cycadcenter - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 02:14

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 02:14
Hi Folks,

Here in the USA the car market it seems is a little more regulated and upfront than it is in Australia.

Every new car MUST have a sticker on the window which spells out the specifications of the car, estimated fuel consumption, and options on the car.

The base price is also indicated, with the price of all the options along with the recommended retail price. Certainly makes walking around a car dealership easier with it all spelled out on the window.

Regarding buyers services, Costco (soon coming to a city near you in Oz) have an excellent program where they have associated themselves with manufactures and dealers to provide cars at dealer invoice cost plus usually $200-$1000. All you have to do is go to the Costco website fill out what you want and the dealers will respond through the website and give you a list of cars which meet your specification.

Select the car you want, notify the dealer, give them ususlly 24 hr to prep the car and pick up the car.

I've purchased three cars this way knowing that I'm always getting the best deal.

BTW the other thing that gets me with Australian cars is the premium for metalic paint. Never seen that anywhere else.

Bruce

Fallbrook USA
Childers Qld
AnswerID: 446503

Follow Up By: ob - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 12:18

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 12:18
Wasn't it in the good 'ol USof A that the manufacturers of vehicles like Winnebagoes had to have a notice posted on the dash containing the instruction that the driver was not to activate the cruise control and then vacate the drivers seat to go back to the on board kitchen and make a cuppa?

ob
FollowupID: 718909

Reply By: TrevorMR (WA) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:07

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:07
The RAC WA offer a member service where you can buy vehicles at fleet prices -http://www.privatefleet.com.au/RAC/ I would imagine the other automobile clubs would offer a similar service. Don't have any personal experience but might be worth pursuing.
AnswerID: 446564

Reply By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:26

Friday, Feb 25, 2011 at 22:26
Hi Dave, Having reference to your eventual purchase as below, as long as you are happy with the price, the dealer has made a dollar, and you are another happy troopy owner.

AnswerID: 446568