Pre cleaner

Submitted: Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 01:47
ThreadID: 84661 Views:1674 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
G'day is the GQ air filter pre cleaner good enough to use by itself

Reply By: AGNI4x4 - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 06:35

Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 06:35
Maybe in a wet environment but not in dry dusty conditions I wouldn't ....................... I even use a pre filter in snorkel as an engines biggest enemy is dirty air. My 2 cents worth
AnswerID: 446809

Reply By: nick b - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 11:31

Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 11:31
Do you mean do you need to use a air cleaner. a air cleaner removes fine dust.
Cheers Nick b

AnswerID: 446847

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 13:51

Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 13:51
The genuine GQ pre cleaner that sits behind the L/H headlight it has a proper air filter element in it
FollowupID: 719225

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 13:56

Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 13:56
mate you might as well open the aircleaner box and load it up with dirt!!!

for the 20- 50 dollars for an air cleaner as aposed to a new motor, From $500 to $20 thousand dollars or even more.

In air craft its called FOD or foriegn object damage. In a motor car or 4by its worse because of fine tolerances.

to run a vehicle without an aircleaner is crazy....

If you need to blow it out with high pressure and blower but you will still need to replace it.

they tend to clog up and its like you trying to breathe thru a straw.

FollowupID: 719227

Follow Up By: Batt's - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 14:08

Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 14:08
No worries thanks for that I wasn't sure how well they worked I'll stick to a proper air cleaner
FollowupID: 719228

Reply By: kiwicol - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 21:24

Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 21:24
Hi Batts, I have the 92 4.2 diesel

It has the same twin filter system that you have.

And the answer is yes. and to even improve performance fit a oil soaked foam filter.

I have done 380,oooks and have no oil usage between services.

Have done some real good desert trips with heaps of dust, (year of the outback )

Also have a supercharger fitted, really complements the 4.2 diesel, heaps of tourge.

Cheers Col
AnswerID: 446940

Follow Up By: Batt's - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 23:55

Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 23:55
Thanks Col sorry about the late response I've been away
FollowupID: 719690