Fuel tank maintance
Submitted: Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 18:49
SDG
A mate and I were having a discussion today about fuel tanks. While it is good pratice to always check/replace fuel filters, is it also a good idea to occasionally drain the
tank? Thus removing any sediment. Most people seem to have a favorite servo that they go to religiously, trusting that place, but those who are travelling will always be at a different servos, therefore getting different levels of cleanliness in their fuel.
Personally I have never done it, nor know of any one else who has.
Reply By: Mudripper - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 20:03
Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 20:03
Hi SDG,
With the amount of dirty fuel that I regularly come across I actually get in to the habit of removing the fuel
tank about once a year. Just last week I replaced the fuel filter on Dad's magna and couldn't believe the amount of dirt that came out of the filter. So I blew out the fuel lines as
well. Mind you, we only replaced the fuel pump and filter about 10 months ago and cleaned out the fuel
tank back then. I can imagine the amount of rubbish in there now... Some times I wonder how it gets past the fuel pump. We are now on our 3rd fuel pump in about 9-10 years (probably not too bad I guess, being all made in China).
We usually fill up at one servo, but not all the time.
I'm in Tassie by the way.
Tim.
Reply By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 22:28
Monday, Feb 28, 2011 at 22:28
Hello SDG, with my current vehicle which I got in late 2006 I drained both tanks when the low fuel light came on, mainly to see how much was left in each
tank when light came on, also to see what dirt was there. They were clean of sediment and only a few drops of
water which I put down to condesation from running low levels. I suppose I had better check them again this year,before I do my trip to
Perth and back after the last few years trips around the country.
Rob Mac
Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 01, 2011 at 08:35
Tuesday, Mar 01, 2011 at 08:35
When i had my daewoo lanos. i pulled the
tank out and looked in it. at that time it was approaching three years old, and there was a thin layer of sediment (dirt) in bottom of
tank.
well i cleaned that out and replaced filters.
Don't know what the laser or old hilux has got yet but me thinks i will be under both of them before too long.
Especially as i want to do camerons corner and other exploring!!! or i might just buy an 80 series, decked out.