Internet Providers

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 15:16
ThreadID: 8472 Views:1435 Replies:12 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Not the typical 4wd question but am presently with OZEMAIL but have noticed that TPG have a similar service for $8.00 cheaper. Does anyone here use them and if so are they reliable as a provider.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: jamcage - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 15:29

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 15:29
Chris

I have used TPG in Canberra for nearly three years and no problems. Sister in law uses TPG in Penrith last 12 months also no problems.

Not sure what area you are in though.

Jason
AnswerID: 37015

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 16:24

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 16:24
Hi Chris, I've been using TPG for about three years and recently went over to their ADSL deal.

Have been very happy with the service. The system has gone done once or twice over this time but compared to the hassle’s people seem to have with other ISP's they are pretty good.
Cheers
Alex
AnswerID: 37021

Reply By: howesy - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 17:05

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 17:05
Go to your search engine and type in "whirlpool forum" It is a forum that goes into internet providers big time. They have TPG as one of the most consistantly bad performers and one of the most complained about providers. Most complaints related to speed. To back it up I was with them for some time and since I left them I have never looked back my connections are consistantly faster and more reliable. the best two providers I found on a dial up for speed and reliability were Ozemail and Optusnet so I suggest you stay where you are. Do yourself a favour check out the ISP forums.
AnswerID: 37030

Reply By: srowlandson - Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 17:57

Wednesday, Nov 12, 2003 at 17:57
I have set dozens of clients up on HEAPS of different Isp's Braodband ADSL plans.

TPG seems EXTREMELY slow, with a high contention ratio.