Submitted: Thursday, Mar 03, 2011 at 22:29
Member - John C (INT)
Hi all would be great to hear from any one with info re Caravan Parks in
Alice Springs, heading up in May. Will have 2 camper trailers + 2x camper vans 2 adult's per van/trailer no kids, no dogs, powered or non powered sites ok.
John C
Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Thursday, Mar 03, 2011 at 22:43
Thursday, Mar 03, 2011 at 22:43
I have stayed here:
Alice-Park
It was great, I seem to recall free pancakes in the morning.
Derek from ABR
Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 13:54
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 13:54
I'd second that. Have stayed here on quite a few occassions and found it to be a very good
park with excellent ammenities, particularly for kids. I usually try and grab an ensuite site which is a little more $. Having your own shower and
toilet is fairly handy.
They are booked pretty solid so I'd be making enquiries now for May.
Reply By: ss--ss - Thursday, Mar 03, 2011 at 22:49
Thursday, Mar 03, 2011 at 22:49
Hi , I've stayed at two caravan parks. The big4 & the g'day mate.. Big4 is pretty expensive , we preferred the g'day mate one better...
Make sure you visit or stay in the gorges at the west macdonald ranges, one of the best parts of Australia , close to Alice.
Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 01:09
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 01:09
Hi John
We have been to two; one was nice and quiet and out of town, with roomy grassy sites, poor and old amenities but priced to match. We really liked it there.
Next time we couldn't get in as it was peak season, long weekend and show weekend. We were not happy with our second choice.
Read my reports and reports by others on these parks and other
Alice Springs CPs at
Alice Springs CPs on Badgers
Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 06:59
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 06:59
Hi John C,
We stayed at G'day Mate when we were there but it was a few years back now so don't have up to date information. It was reasonably priced and amenities were good.
Heather
Reply By: Nicko 57 - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 06:59
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 06:59
macdonald ranges
park very good
big
park good
toilet blocks
cloes to town
joe
Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 07:31
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 07:31
IF you are doing the gorges in West Macs, consider Ormiston Gorge in the National
Park. It has showers (not treated
water), good clean amenities, peace, cheap and great vista.
After all the rain the
waterhole should be full and still swimable (just) especially after a walk in the Pound.
1 hour west of Alice.
Follow Up By: Maya M - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 12:13
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 12:13
I was just out at Ormiston on the weekend, heaps of
water in there but I wouldnt reccomend the
camping with a campertrailer, the sites are too small for a car and camper, and IMO too close to the day car
park and all squeezed in close together.
I would think its better for people in little camper vans. I guess each to their own but we sussed it out for ourselves for campertrailer
camping and decided it wasnt relly designed with that kind of
camping in mind.
its still raining here in the centre on and off so I would say there would still be
water around in May. bit cold for swimming by then though!
Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 13:15
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 13:15
Maya
Good point about the restricted space.
Image Could Not Be FoundI walked the western 1/3 of the Larapinta Track last May, I can assure you the swim was good at the end of the day!
The previous year we stayed with our CT at
Glen Helen and regretted it.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 21:12
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 21:12
We squeezed into the very sloped dirt patch at Ormiston and it was worth it to do the Pound Walk starting early morning. Get there early in the afternoon to get a place, and shower before the rush as with solar hot
water it doesn't last the distance.
Camp grounds without showers (just pit
toilets) that were good were
Trephina Gorge in the East Macs and Redbank in the West Macs - choice of
Woodland campground or eight only sites up on the Ridgetop - fantastic up there.
Mh
Follow Up By: Maya M - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 15:27
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 15:27
thanks for
the tip Motherhen, we had been wondering where the best spots were, havent been out to redbank yet. we checked
glen helen after we visited ormiston and it was very dissapointing.
it seems crazy that there isnt more
bush camping with a bit of space between sites, a few trees around. it doesnt seem like rocket science but I find it hard to find the spots that are like what I remember as
camping from when we were kids. in the terrirtory it seems like you have to pack everyone in like sardines... I cant understand it when there is so much space here to use.
but we'll head out to redbank before the hoards arrive.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 17:27
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 17:27
Hi Maya
Simply messy irresponsible people doing the wrong thing have spoilt it for the majority. There are a few
places you can still
free camp with no amenities in the West Macs, and these are usually listed in good
camping books. We looked at one but it was too sandy to risk taking our heavy rig into, and we preferred to
camp on site to do walks early before the heat of the day.
Parks fees in NT are very cheap and worth visiting (if we can fit in amongst the bollards that set up
camp sites for in most cases camper trailers and tents).
Park camp sites often have free gas barbecues too, and they prefer these to be used where provided rather than wood barbecues to reduce fire risk.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 18:04
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 18:04
Maya
I tried to send you a MM as this is getting off the original question.
But if you have the time and energy make sure you do the climb to Counts
Lookout, the
views are apparently magnificent. I did a climb to a
lookout to the west which was spectacular, but Counts is apparently even better and both are superior to Mt Sonder.
Redbank is a more closed in narrow gorge than Ormiston,
water temperature will be a bit cooler.Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 18:26
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 18:26
Hi Mark
Where is Count's
Lookout? I have not heard of it. A couple who we shared the Redbank Ridgetop with took the walk to Mt Sonder.
Water at
Redbank Gorge can be surprisingly cold. There is a tale of what happened in my West MacDonnells 2008 blog in My Blog.
Mh
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 08:07
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 08:07
Hi John
We have stayed in them all and they are all good, some better than others. One that does not get much attention is the Wintersun, which is a good clean
park, not as big as some of the others and close enough to walk into the CBD.
Follow Up By: Member - Jdub - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 08:55
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 08:55
G,Day John,
We have used many over the years, now a regular at G,Day Mate.
It has survived a mangement change, now with more room under the palms.
Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 16:42
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 16:42
Gooday,
Would definitely go Wintersun, great location, great amenities sensible tariff. Have stayed there on numerous occasions, last time September 2010.
Boroma604.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 18:48
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 18:48
If you want to stay in town, then a big thumbs up from us for the Wintersun as
well. It is on the northern side of town, and very
well managed. Lovely, polite, and helpful management, which seems to be rare these days, especially in very busy locations.
Fred.
Reply By: Member - John C (INT) - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 18:59
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 18:59
Thanks for all the info great to have people willing to share their experiences, this is first hand info from people that have been there and done that. John C
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 20:25
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 20:25
Enjoy the trip John.......wish I was able to get back out there this winter.
Ahh maybe next year :~)
Fred.
Follow Up By: Member - John C (INT) - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 21:21
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 21:21
Thanks Fred will do, going from Alice to
Longreach then home 3 weeks
Reply By: Ruffy-Dan - Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 22:00
Friday, Mar 04, 2011 at 22:00
Hi John,
Stayed at the afore mentioned macdonnell range holiday
park.
Free pancake breakfast on Sunday morning from memory.. Great slide show and folk singer thurs night?? i think..
Nice big grassy sites. Large
well equipped
camp kitchen.. even had a concrete service bay complete with oil disposal for those so inclined to change engine oil mid trip..
DAN
Follow Up By: Bob - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 10:52
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 10:52
At $40/$45.00 per night for a powered site the pancake is hardly free.
Follow Up By: Ruffy-Dan - Wednesday, Mar 09, 2011 at 23:54
Wednesday, Mar 09, 2011 at 23:54
Wow,
Has it been that long since i was there.... i recall something like $23.00..
I need to get out more
DAN
Reply By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 15:50
Saturday, Mar 05, 2011 at 15:50
Macdonell Range would have the best reputation but most are pretty good.
Make sure you lock everything up though or things will go walking!!! Including when your home.