Best Caravan Park for security

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 10, 2011 at 20:53
ThreadID: 84918 Views:3891 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
We are looking for a caravan park in Alice Springs for 2 weeks - plan on leaving van for a couple of days at a time and tent camping during the 2 weeks. Which park would offer most security?

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Thursday, Mar 10, 2011 at 21:25

Thursday, Mar 10, 2011 at 21:25
The McDonnel Ranges CP is my pick - an organised operation - spotless amenities - their van storage compound is right at the rear of the offices and workshops. Their tariff is probably the highest in the Alice. On our number of stays there, we have never had any specific concerns re security for ourselves or our goods.... we just employ the usual 'lock it up' routine as we would anywhere.
We did stay at the G'day Mate across the road last year just to try it out - seemed quite ok, and there is a $ saving there - facilities are quite good. We asked why they had no public phone........"we had problems with the 'locals' hanging around here all day and creating regular nuisance - no phone, no problem anymore".
The McDonnel has 3 or 4 public phones but I've never seen "the locals" in there... I have no idea why (but then, I don't understand the Alice :-o).
AnswerID: 447878

Follow Up By: Snoopyone - Thursday, Mar 10, 2011 at 21:29

Thursday, Mar 10, 2011 at 21:29
Second that We stayed for two weeks with no problems.

Didnt like some of the others with wandering" locals"

FollowupID: 720228

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 12:51

Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 12:51
MacDonnel Ranges for sure. Stayed in the cabins straight across from the pool area. (Three pools in total) Clean, modern and quiet.

There is plenty to do for the kids with jumping pillows, playgrounds, games room and cycle cars. They also do an astronomy night, which I thought was pretty good.

The shop is well equiped and has some of the cheapest soveniers around.Well lit, well maintained and clean communal areas (eg: BBQ's). Super friendly staff and as mentioned by Darian.... it seems to be off the radar for the locals. It's "just out of town" location makes attributes to the quiet atmosphere.

I've been there twice and several others before hand including hotels/motels. But after being to the MacDonnel Ranges CP, I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Fab.
FollowupID: 720263

Follow Up By: wendys - Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 17:23

Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 17:23
We left our van stored at McDonnell Ranges CP for several weeks, while we did the Finke NP and then the Simpson Desert area. We have always stayed at that CP when in Alice (several times now) - have had no worries about security there. To be fair, have not stayed in any others there, but with the way things are in Alice now, really would not want to be right in town.
FollowupID: 720285

Reply By: outback epicurean - Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 07:58

Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 07:58
3rd the McDonnell Ranges C/V park. Alway stay there and while more expensive, facilities, security, entertainment etc always spot on
AnswerID: 447885

Reply By: aka - Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 08:52

Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 08:52
Stayed at a wangarradi caravan park on Ilparpara rd not the flashest but big sites, shared ameneties ,very quiet and nice owners and 8 ks out of town so no trouble
AnswerID: 447890

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 23:41

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 23:41
Similar area to Wanngardi, we stayed at Temple Bar which is behind Wanngardi which was closed at the time, and further from the road. Very safe, very quiet, lovely location. The amenities are far from flash, but the price is very cheap to match. Lots of semi-permanents so a nice friendly village atmosphere.

FollowupID: 720490

Reply By: Member - R and R Troop (NSW) - Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 09:26

Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 09:26
Thanks for those replies - I have now made a booking at the MacDonnell Ranges CP.
AnswerID: 447896

Reply By: Charlie R - Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 18:57

Friday, Mar 11, 2011 at 18:57
Macdonald range tourist park would have to be the best Ive stayed in, good friendly people and far enough out of town for trouble.... Ive stayed there several times and will be again this June, may see you there if you are touring in june..
AnswerID: 447944