HZJ105 alternator upgrade

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 16:37
ThreadID: 84969 Views:3111 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
G'day,

My alternator has failed and I'd like to know of a good quality upgrade to the original .... or should I have the original repaired?

Thanx

Lunar

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 18:29

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 18:29
bosch make a 120amp alternator that will fit but you will have to make a few modifications
AnswerID: 448110

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 22:00

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 22:00
I'd stick with the original factory alternator. Chances are its just worn brushes and they are relatively cheap to replace. Just need to find an autoelectrician who still remembers how to take one apart.

Aftermarket alternators are a bit hit and miss. Heard a few complaints about some of the cheapies not going the distance.

Out of interest, Toyota are now selling remanufactured factory alternators at about half new price. Contact your dealer's spare parts dept for details.
AnswerID: 448137

Follow Up By: ob - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 16:15

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 16:15
Had a chuckle when I read your comment about finding an auto sparky who remembers how to take one apart. A mate of mine had the alternator die on a late model Commy door so he took it off and went to a sparky who said he would need to get the whole car to him as the later models did not have a regulator/rectifier but were hooked directly to the vehicle computor and needed to be tested as such.

The wonders of modern technology.........lol

ob
FollowupID: 720533

Reply By: Member - jethro - Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 22:01

Sunday, Mar 13, 2011 at 22:01
Toyota are now doing a remanufactured part cheaper than the cost of the new one and you get the genuine warrenty too, they put a suffix on the genuine part number of 84. To look at one they would pass of as new, give them a call and see.
Worth the call.
Jethro
AnswerID: 448138

Reply By: Lunar 1 - Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 08:08

Monday, Mar 14, 2011 at 08:08
Thanks, I'll chase up the Toyota replacement option.
AnswerID: 448158

Popular Products (11)