Submitted: Thursday, Mar 17, 2011 at 20:25
captash
Gday campers!
Just sold our sundowner offroad camper trailer and looking locally I found a 2002 Coromal Magnum 440 Rally XC. The problem is, its been left out in the weather and looks 10 years older than it is.
All the mechanics, fittings and fixtures appear to work
well. There is a fair amount of surface rust around rims and in other spots where there's steel. Canvas is A1 condition, as is awning etc.
Is $17000 too much to pay for this model at this age? I've searched the web and there are not too many to compare it with - most seem to be in much better condition?
Any things I need to be careful of?? Should I buy it?
Reply By: pepper2 - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 10:17
Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 10:17
The steel cables that are attached to the winch that raises/lowers the roof run over nylon pulley
wheels,after time the pulleys fail,early indications are that winding the winch requires a fair effort,cost from $500 up to repair,,price of van seems excessive to me.
Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 10:42
Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 10:42
Captash,
We have the later model 2005 Coromal Silhouette Pioneer and it is quite different, with fibreglass panels and the push out side kitchen. Before we purchased it we looked at the Magnum series and I seem to recall that the new price was around $18000 in 2004. So I would haggle a bit!
The main problem we have had with the silhouette is damage to the wiring on gravel roads. I managed to destroy the main loom that pulled out from the hollow chassis member. Easily fixed and now more secure. The Dometic three way fridge has several broken plastic bits after 5 years. We have travelled extensively on outback tracks.
Kingo
Reply By: Jarse - Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 15:32
Friday, Mar 18, 2011 at 15:32
captash,
The later Coromal Silhoutte Pioneers are selling for a starting price of around $20k+.
For the Magnum, particularly if it's looking pretty weathered - I'd reckon $15k max. But that's just my opinion.
John.
Reply By: captash - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 11:37
Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 11:37
Thanks Everyone for the advice.
Took a farmer mate along to look at it. Everything is A1, its just a bit weathered and faded. Decided to buy it.
Next stop....
Gawler Ranges!!