Fuel filler cap

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 07:27
ThreadID: 85089 Views:2610 Replies:7 FollowUps:29
G'day All
I was at the mechanic the other day and he told me how his wife taught him something about cars that he didn't know in 20 years of working on them. How do you tell what side of the car the fuel filler is on? I have 2 cars and the filler is on opposite sides of each. I'm forever pulling up at the wrong side of the bowser. If you look closely at the fuel gauge, most cars have an arrow pointing to the side that the filler is on. Its usually next to the picture of the petrol bowser.
Neither of us could believe we had never noticed it before :-)
Some cars don't have it (VW?) but most seem to. Now quickly run out and check yours :-)
Sorry to all those who already knew this profound information. Mike

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 07:34

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 07:34
I have another one for you if there is no arrow on the gauge.
Pop the fuel door release before you drive to up to the pump & look in your 2 outside mirrors to see which side you can spot the open fuel door.

Stu
AnswerID: 448621

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 07:42

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 07:42
Would you believe that neither of mine pop?
FollowupID: 720863

Reply By: Fab72 - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 08:56

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 08:56
Captiva has the arrow. Mitsubishi Lancer doesn't. Not required on my Harley.
AnswerID: 448627

Follow Up By: Member - Graham Watson (SA) - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 09:59

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 09:59
My 2005 Lancer does, but ny 90 series Prado doesn't.
Graham Watson

FollowupID: 720873

Follow Up By: Polaris - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 16:08

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 16:08
My Cagiva has two arrows - one for each tank.
FollowupID: 720895

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 20:41

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 20:41
My Lancer is a 1993... a little bit more mature than yours Graham....lol.
FollowupID: 721025

Reply By: Tim - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 10:21

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 10:21
And....
If there is no arrow, which ever side of the instrument cluster has the fuel gaugue is the same side as the fuel cap.
So if the gauge is on the left of the speedo its on the left of the car.
So simple but I also only found this out in the last few months.
AnswerID: 448634

Follow Up By: shanegu6 - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 11:06

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 11:06
Not correct, the nissan patrol has the fuel gauge on the left of the speedo but the filler is on the right side of car.
FollowupID: 720877

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 13:25

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 13:25
And there's no arrow...

FollowupID: 720885

Follow Up By: Tim - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 18:29

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 18:29
Well that rule has always worked for me? I'm guessing it's not the latest model Nissan? I regularly drive a few at work and they are all as per my rule of thumb.
FollowupID: 720910

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:07

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:07
Definitely not the latest, it's a GU

FollowupID: 720923

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 10:54

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 10:54
My 80 series has the little bowser on the right side of the instrument cluster while the filler is on the left side of the vehicle.

No arrows.

Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 720959

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 11:27

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 11:27
And on my Holden Rodeo the arrow points to the right [drivers side] whereas the filler cap is on the left [ passenger side] ., and from a OHAS perspective all Australian vehicles should have the filler on the left.
AnswerID: 448637

Follow Up By: Member - Bill B1 (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 11:44

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 11:44
If that is confusing, then look for the nozzle on the graphic in your fuel guage and that is the side the filler is on.
Bill B

FollowupID: 720880

Follow Up By: den57 - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 14:23

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 14:23
If all fuel filling points were on the left then one side of the bowser would never be used.
Do believe they mix them up for just this reason, that is to say that half of the vehicles will fill from the left side of the vehicle and half will fill from the right.
Den
FollowupID: 720888

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:24

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:24
"If all fuel filling points were on the left then one side of the bowser would never be used."

I hope you are joking...you can drive in from any directon so left/right is irrelevant. Never seen a bowser that, by design, had to be reversed out of.

Gret

FollowupID: 720925

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:38

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 22:38
I have often wondered about that too, with so many of our ppl getting killed whilst filling their empty tank on roadside, why aren't our Governments insisting that the filler is on the left side

Whom does one sue for accidental death?

How hard is it to design the filler on left?

Of course, manufacturers will say, don't run out of fuel, leaving them faultless
FollowupID: 720926

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:19

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:19
I think its mostly determined by whether the car is designed for left or right hand drive. European cars tend to have the filler on our driver side which is their passenger side. Jap cars are the opposite...usually.
FollowupID: 720932

Follow Up By: den57 - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 14:00

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 14:00
Explorer, when you say you drive in from either direction, that would be fine if you servos allowed for this but most servos have traffic coming in from one direction only and exit one way only. Therefore if all the traffic is going thru in one direction you need a mix of left and right hand placed fillers on vehicles to use both sides of the pump. ( Have seen a few vehicles come from the oppsite direction. Thats when some body does have to back up.)
As the van is attached most of the time we found that you only make the mistake of coming in on the wrong side once.
Have a nice day
Den
FollowupID: 720976

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 14:15

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 14:15
Den

Apologies - Im from the country where "most" servos dont have set in and out directions. I can see the need for this in some busier areas...though doubt it would even then = "most" servos..but maybe it does. From what Ive seen its a case of first in best dressed and following cars have to make their own descision based on what bowsers are free. I had to drive into a servo the other day front on to another vehicle as it was my only choice - apart from waiting for the guy who just filled up, paid and then went off to the toilet (after dropping something off in his car) to move...ignorance/arrogance/plain stupidity(?) at its best.

FollowupID: 720978

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 20:53

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 20:53
Two things.....
1. Don't people realise that the hoses on most bowsers are long enough to fill the car from the opposite side to where the filler is?

2. It was mentioned how for safety, fillers should be on the curb side.Well, here's an interesting snippet.....

The VE Commodore ute has the jack pack stored behind the driver's seat. Think about that. You get a flatty, and then you have to have your driver's door wide open to oncoming traffic so that you can loosen and removed the jack pack.

Having said that, it annoys me how people will drive for kilometres on a flat tyre before they realise, yet once they know they have a flat, won't limp a further 50-100 metres more to change their flat down a side street.

I'm convinced some people have a death wish.

Fab.
FollowupID: 721027

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 11:11

Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 11:11

I think most people do realise that but guess its a method not often employed because its easier to have your filler on the correct side...had a few laughs watching people try to fill up from the opposite side if they didnt quite park in the exact right spot for the filler to reach ...or it wasnt long enough in the first place. People dont like the idea of a big greasy rubber hose rubbing over their nice clean cars either.

FollowupID: 721073

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 12:25

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 12:25
buy a valiant - one of the few car makers that realised the best place was right at the back
- no more pulling up the wrong side again
AnswerID: 448641

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 12:34

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 12:34
yes my old LH Torana was like that too
FollowupID: 720881

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 16:21

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 16:21
LOL :-))

FollowupID: 720897

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 09:19

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 09:19
That was alright until you got rear ended.
The cap and filler pipe would break allowing petrol to gush out
FollowupID: 720948

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 11:53

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 11:53
Ah, yest the Valiant! Old enough to remember them!
I had a Falcon with the central filler behind the number plate. It was a dog of a thing to fill; too low, lots of blowback.
Then the plastic filler neck of the plastic tank developed a crack. Unrepairable, had to replace the lot. Not that that has anything to do with the topic here......

FollowupID: 720962

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 15:31

Saturday, Mar 19, 2011 at 15:31
Yes ,
The Patrol has the Guage on the left side but the fillers are on the right but no arrow etc as said.
However my main beef is with a lot of servos who fail to show where the Diesel bowser is for us oilers.
Some even have them around the back somewhere.
A sign of some sort showing where the different pumps are should be mandatory.
Often when I have the van on the back , my co-pilot has to get out and look for the diesel bowser whilst iI block the entire driveway sheesh.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 448654

Follow Up By: SDG - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:09

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 00:09
Around the back, and out in the open. Often allowing us to get wet from rain, while filling. Makes me think how much rain water might get in tank as well.
FollowupID: 720931

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 09:25

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 09:25
Often the Diesel pumps are either out the back in the open, or in the driveway closest to the road, reason for this is to allow trucks to get in and out.

Shane
FollowupID: 720949

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 11:11

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 11:11
That is my bone of contention also Dodger.
Having diesel or gas or both I find that there is often confusion over which way I should enter a service station or even which lane I should be in.

There should be a national colour code for all fuels.
Say Yellow for Diesels, Reds for Petrol and Purples for gas, and or signage for which lanes they are in. It is almost dangerous when travelling down the road and you are looking for the diesel or gas pump, especially with a van on the back.
And when you get onto the driveway the next question is where is the gas pump or diesel pump. You are usually stopped blocking traffic from entering or leaving the service station further increasing the pressure on you to make a quick decision. Phisses me off sometimes.

Heard a local servo owner say one time "You can tell anyone running on gas they start rubber necking about a hundred yards back up the road". Wouldn't you think that would have told this "Einstien" something about his signage.

Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 720960

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 12:09

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 12:09
The situation is improving re signage, but I've frequently haggled with the poor sod behind the till (not their fault). Often the response is "it's clearly marked on the pump", but the clear markings are above the guages, not high over the ends of the pump. More often than not, they say that I'm the first to complain.

I really get cheesed off with servos which insist on pre-pay. Ok, I know that there are drive-off issues, esp at night, but I was at one the other day (not night), and it was the only one of many pumps at this servo, mainly because of the poor layout of the pumps; ie it was hard to monitor from the till. No marks to the designers of the layout. Like the other signage we all bitch about, it wasn't till you pull up against the pump that one finds this small sign stating that it's pre-pay. Would have pulled up against another pump if I'd known this. To top it off, the flow was so slow (3L/min) that the auto shutoff wasn't working, hence I got hit with a gush of petrol when it filled over. I pointed out the fault to the till operator, but it was met with a shrug.

FollowupID: 720963

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 12:28

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 12:28
auto shut off?

not many have them any more at all

except for truck fills

peeves me having to stand there for endless minutes holding the lever while trying to get over 100l in at 3l an hour (well it seems like that)
FollowupID: 720964

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 16:21

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 16:21
Bout time colour coding of nozzels on bowsers was made mandatory , what is so difficult in following the UN system of colour , yellow = Diesel , Red = Unleaded, Green = two stroke etc etc.
FollowupID: 720993

Reply By: den57 - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 14:36

Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 14:36
I could be wrong here, but from memory the diesel pump is usually the last pump if there isthree pumps together, the other two being unleaded and premium. Called into woolworths in Cannonvale a couple of weeks ago and the diesel was the first pump instead of the last .Had the nozzle in the tank and looked at the price on the bowser and realized it was the wrong nozzle.Asked the attendant if many people fill with unleaded instead of diesel and she said yes, happens pretty often. Mentioned that the diesel pump was on the wrong end to what i am used to and of course its not her prob. Right or wrong , i always use WW fuel so maybe it is a WW thing that the diesel is normally last.
Den
AnswerID: 448734

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 11:16

Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 11:16

They obviously painted the one way arrows in the wrong direction. If you come to WA you are going to get very confused :)

FollowupID: 721076