Nissan Patrol 1989 with wheel wobble (can't fix)
Submitted: Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:08
Leanne G
I have a Nissan Patrol 4.2 ltr diesel LWB. For 2 years now I have been trying to get a wheel wobble fixed by mechanics. It happens around 78klms turning slightly to the right and on bumpy roads, wheel starts to wobble side to side violently and when you slow down it stops.
To fix it have replaced tyres, hubs, draglink, shocks, damper. Have tried someone else steering box (no better). Checked back bushes (are OK). Have had too many wheel balances to mention.
Any suggestions as this is driving me and my mechanics mad.
Reply By: old patrol - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:14
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:14
Try this site for help
www.patrol4x4.comMine was fixed with new tyres. usual cure seems to be panhard rod bushes but only use rubber ones not poly. good luck
Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:25
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:25
That link doesn't seem to be working..
Try this one
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:26
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:26
Is it in fact fixable or a design issue in the Nissan.
I remember the tabloid current affairs programs doing programs on similar issues about 12 years ago and Nissan refused to do anything about it. I don't think it was resolved but the problem was not showing up on all cars just some.
That aside - similar issues happen in older series landies where the death wobbles can occur when backing off at higher speeds - very often it is the landrover equivalent of the king pins being ever so slightly worn or out of adjustment. So looking at your king pins may help.
Also tie rods etc.
Garry
Follow Up By: Leanne G - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:32
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:32
Thanks for the tips. I forgot to mention this is a 1989 model and only started wobbles 2 years ago.
Follow Up By: dbish - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:48
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 15:48
Had an old patrol in the workshp a few years ago same prob. The fix was replace the steering rod damper, Looks like a shocky. You say it was replaced but was it the correct one.
Reply By: Outback Gazz - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 16:20
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 16:20
Howdy Leanne
Had a 92 Patrol with same problem - replaced everything as you did and still got the wobbles. Mechanic eventually did an "on car" wheel balance and fixed the problem immediately ! This helped balanced everything that rotates instead of just the rim and tyre. Hope this helps !
Gazz
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 16:48
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 16:48
I had the same problem with
mine. I fitted a new genuine Nissan damper and had a good wheel balance . Then found one front wheel was slightly out of round.
Follow Up By: Member - Bill B1 (NSW) - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 16:23
Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 16:23
I am not up with the Nissan brand so this might be all irrelevant.
If you have leaf springs on the front, then your bushes at the front springs, may be worn and sloppy.
This is the cause of a lot of wobbles on the early Landcruisers.
Use those red ones (
orange) as they seem to last longer.
Reply By: happytravelers - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 17:34
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 17:34
Not sure about your older Y60 Patrol but the later Y61's suffer from the same problem. This is often fixed by removing the upper and lower swivel hub shims, this tightens up the swivel hub and reduces the freeplay which comes with wear and tear.
It's an easy job, undo the four 14mm bolts on the upper swivel hub bearing cap, remove the cap and shims and refit the cap, repeat for the lower bearing cap. Then do the same on the other side.
Jon
Reply By: Fab72 - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 18:31
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 18:31
Sounds like you've spent some big $$$ trying to solve this problem.
You mention you've replaced just about everything....at the risk of sounding too obvious...have you tried different wheels?
Come to think of it...what wheels are on there? Alloys? Steels? OEM or aftermarket?
Fab.
Follow Up By: Leanne G - Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 21:16
Sunday, Mar 20, 2011 at 21:16
No haven't tried changeing the wheels. Have no idea what they are, will have to ask my mechanic.
Thankyou for all the suggestions will give the list to my mechanic and see if we haven' t tried all of them.
Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 13:55
Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 13:55
Wheels are those round things your car sits, they have black tyres with air in them.
Follow Up By: Leanne G - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 21:33
Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 21:33
ha ha very funny.
Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 05:46
Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 05:46
Leanne, did you happen to fit new
suspension when you started to get the death wobbles? If so, I would say it is the caster angle, can be easily fixed with new offset bushes. Cheers.
Reply By: TheRedRider78 - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 14:01
Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 14:01
Sounds to me like your king pin bearings are rooted. This is a common problem amongst all vehicle makes with solid front axles, including Toyotas!
Jack the front of the vehicle up so the wheels are clear, disconnect the steering arms from the swivel hub and then turn the wheel from side to side through the full steering arc. If you feel any notchiness at all, replace the king pin bearings, (or swivel hub bearings) and you'll be sweet. While you're in there, you can do your inner axle seal and swivel hub seals and felts, and repack your front bearings. Most 4x4 shops sell kits to do this job.
And I wouldn't go pulling out shims. That's just dodgy!
Follow Up By: Leanne G - Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 21:36
Monday, Mar 21, 2011 at 21:36
Unfortunately we have done all this and thought it was the answer. But no. Thanks anyway
Reply By: petesgq - Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 09:01
Tuesday, Mar 22, 2011 at 09:01
G'day mate, had the same problem in a 1999 Gu. Lot of chasing around and waisting money to find out that the mounts on the axle for the drag link were slightly off to one side. Cause (wombat)