Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 20:53
PatrolChris
Gday guys
Question about my 2010 GU patrol ute. I tow my carpenters trailer (single axle) everyday and im worried that its sagged my rear
suspension already. The cars only 15000 k's old and i really didn't think my trailer was that heavy however i must be wrong. Im planning a 4inch lift in the near future but want to say away from an airbag system if i can, im just wondering if a harder shock/spring set up wont sag.
Cheers Chris
Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:03
Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:03
Chris,
it all comes down to the rear coils which are pretty soft as standard. I had the earlier GUIII and put a 2" lift through it. Knowing that I was going to be carrying (and/or towing) a lot of weight, I had a larger and stiffer set of coils put in by Ironman. 22mm I think they were. If you're putting that much stress on the rear of the rig constantly, you might want to think about strengthening the top spring tower support with an aftermarket kit. I can recommend the ATOC kit made by Aaron at ATOC Auto’s in Belgrave South. That's if your
Melbourne based of course. There are similar alternatives. The top seats are a known weak point.
Follow Up By: Michael A (VIC) - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:56
Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:56
What Mick O said....
Follow Up By: PatrolChris - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 15:57
Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 15:57
Ok Mick cheers im just in Narre warren so its close by
Thanks for the help guys much appreciated
Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:10
Wednesday, Mar 30, 2011 at 21:10
Hi Chris
I take it that you have a coil cab so the sag in the rear is
well known. Coil springs come with different ratings usually 200 kg 400kg and 600kg.
I would suggest that you weigh your ute and trailer seperatly on a public weighbridge to find what springs are suited to your requirements.
As far as shockies go they should be matched to your spring length
If you fit new springs you may have to play with the towball height so that the trailer sits level with the vehicle
I would keep away from the air bag option as there downfalls are
well documented. You may like to seek further information on you vehicle and set up from Nissan Patrol
forum. Lots of nice people and good info there
Cheers Teza
Reply By: lizard - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 10:58
Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 10:58
As Micko said , I have ATOC kit , Polyairs , heavy duty coils (200 kg) and Gas shocks - I carry & tow varying loads
Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 11:55
Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 11:55
go the upgrade on coils but not a big lift, would go max of 2" and not heavy duty and fit air bags and you wont regret it ...
Will give level ride with any loads and comfort empty of loaded..
Many advice against air bags but all seem to very biased and half of them have some form of interest in the "springing" game, all that have fitted air bags are so happy with them they dont bother to "defend" it as they are simply ... happy....
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 14:01
Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 14:01
I have had air bags to supplement
the springs on my last two Patrols and have never had a problem.
My GU hasn't done much hardcore stuff but the GQ got flogged. I was
young and keen to see where it would go. The car won many 4wd competitions.
I tow a camper everywhere I go and like to be comfortable. Adjusting the pressure in the air bags is as simple as adjusting tyre pressures and makes for a comfortable, level ride no matter what is in or on the back.
On the lift I am with Joe too. 2'' is plenty unless you are planning something extraordinary. My GQ had a 2'' lift. My GU does too.
Follow Up By: Bueff - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 19:01
Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 19:01
G' Day mate,
I am a chippie myself and carry a lift off unit on my hilux that got all my
tools in it. Also got the Firestone bellows fitted, a pleasure to drive, pump them up when loaded and only 5 psi when empty. Had dramas before that the
suspension guys couldn't get the right spring for the back, the arse end always sagged. So got the bellow and they work a treat. You got a compressor onsite? just pump them up before loading. Made a shield out of flashing off cuts to protect them from flying rocks, no dramas
Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 23:27
Thursday, Mar 31, 2011 at 23:27
Hi Chris
I'd check with your insurance company before giving it a 4 inch lift, as RACQ Insurance only allow 50mm (2 inch)
At least that's what they told me when I gave my GU a lift kit.
I went with Old Man Emu from ARB
Cheers Ray