Good news for GCR

Submitted: Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 12:40
ThreadID: 85358 Views:2424 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Great news, the road is open to ALL vehicles all the way from Kata Tjuta to Laverton now. and is in pretty good condition down this end, apart from one section 30km's from us that is still a bit boggy, but easy enough in a 4wd.
Reports are that the top end of the Connie sue is pretty rough at the moment with some bad washaways.
The David carnegie Rd is still a bit dicey to Empress Springs, but the grader should hopeful;ly be up the shortly. I'll be going for a drive up there myself in hopefully a couple of weeks, i'll let you know how it looks :-)
In the next few days I will drive up to the Caves North of the Roadhouse and see how it is drying up.
The weather at the moment is fantastic, with warm breezy days drying the roads up, and the country looks great after all our rain, 525mm for the 3 months. 200mm in the first week of March alone. Plenty of water in the lakes too!
Last rain we had was 2 inches on the 17th, so as long this keeps up, the roads will be in good shape for Easter.
Happy Travels.

Al

Reply By: Millsy - The Uteshed(WA) - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 12:45

Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 12:45
Thank's for the Update Al.
2 weeks to go before we head over from Perth.
AnswerID: 449966

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 14:21

Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 14:21
No Worries mate, see you in a couple of weeks!
FollowupID: 722407

Reply By: wizzer73 - Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 19:39

Friday, Apr 01, 2011 at 19:39
That is good news. We are heading out from perth your way end of may to do the connie sue. Sounds like it could be challenging. Does the connie sue ever get graded?

wizzer
AnswerID: 450003

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 12:56

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 12:56
G'day Wizzer, will be good to see you come through.
I'm not sure when they're getting a grader on there, as I never usually see the warburton grader drivers. But if i hear anything, i'll let you know.
FollowupID: 722528

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 14:56

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 14:56
Just got some info to say that parts of the Connie sue are non existant at the moment.
I know a couple of 4wds headed that way a few days ago, but I don't know if they had any luck or not.
FollowupID: 722546

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 12:52

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 12:52
oh what a difference a day makes.
We had a rush of trucks through, and at the one remaining boggy spot last night there was a B Double, two trailers in the opposite direction, and a small Isuzu truck, all bogged side by side.
Graders are up there now trying to pull everyone out and create a side track.
AnswerID: 450070

Reply By: BrownyGU - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 17:57

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 17:57
Thanks Guys,

We will be heading accross from NT to WA, So might pass a few of you

Cheers.........Browny
AnswerID: 450104