12 volt fridge

I am looking to buy a 12 volt PORTABLE fridge as a backup for the main caravan fridge. What are the best brands for value for money & quality? My price range is up to $1200.
JohnB13

Reply By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 09:36

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 09:36
Hi John I'm a bit of a Evakool fan so a little 42l or 47l ? would probably fit that budget.
Portable to me is something I can lift on my own I also own an 85l model and a 150l model and especially the last fridge it shouldn't be called "Portable" lol

Cheers Michael
AnswerID: 450052

Follow Up By: John B13 - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 09:48

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 09:48
Ta for that Michael,
Is the Evacool acompressor type like the Ingel?
(I guess if one were a 90pound weed a large esky might not be a "portable" but if you used to "roady" for the Angels, any fridge is a portable.)
Will take your advice on board. John.
FollowupID: 722504

Follow Up By: Member - michael H (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 19:53

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 19:53
Yes Mate Danfoss compressor same as Waeco I think

Cheers Michael
FollowupID: 722571

Follow Up By: Corrugate75 - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 07:57

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 07:57
G'day,
We run two 47L Evakools which have caused us no problems. If you can afford them get two smaller (of whatever brand) rather than one large 85L plus. More portable - one beer, one food, etc.
We bought the Evakool as it is Aussie Made - (in Caloundra QLD) and that is important to me. Also I had an Evakool esky and the fridge is the same as the esky with a compressor attached. (Same as Waeco compressor.) I like that I can stand on the Evakool, or use it as a seat, and the insulation is good enough you don't need an extra cover bag. Just my two bits worth!
Corrugate75
FollowupID: 722600

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 11:08

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 11:08
We have had an engel 39ltr fridge since 1995 and so far the only problem is someone keeps drinking all the beer it holds... burger.
It has been in the rear of 2 dual cabs and now permanently resides in the rear of the Patrol. It has endured the roughest roads and the hottest weather in Aus. and Never missed a beat.
Yes they are dearer than some others but IMHO one of the best.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 450061

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 11:14

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 11:14
I have had a Waeco 50 l dual zone for several years which works very well.
AnswerID: 450063

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 12:41

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 12:41
John,

Both Engel and Waeco produce 12 volt compressor style upright fridges.
Rather than use it as a backup to your existing fridge, you may like to consider replacing it altogether, thus gaining improved efficiency in cooling with a compressor style fridge.

I have recently upgraded to a camper trailer with a built-in Waeco 65 litre compressor fridge. The first time I used it the bloody thing didn't work, but I had my 40 litre Engel as a backup.
On further investigation at home after that trip, I found both 80Ah AGM batteries installed in the camper were cactus and not holding a charge. After replacing them with new ones, the fridge is now working fine.

One point I should perhaps mention is my perception that we fit more in the 40 litre portable Engel than the 65 litre upright, however it is good to stuff most of the vegies, meat and other food into the Waeco and leave more room in the Engel for my beer and herself's JB tinnies:-)

Bill.

AnswerID: 450069

Reply By: Member - SKL - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 15:15

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 15:15
Hard to go past Engel 40l. You can get a 2nd hand one for around $500 if your lucky. Atleast you will get 20 years out of one.
AnswerID: 450086

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 15:44

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 15:44
John,
I have an Engel that I bought in 1974 and have used it in multiple 4wds for trips. I recently got sick of moving it between the troopy and LC100 and bought a Bushman. It has the same Danfoss compressor and comes complete with a series of collars and lids allowing different sizes. It is made (assembled) in Aus which I also try to buy when possible.

On a recent trip I was impressed with how quiet the Bushman was and how low the power consumption was. The construction seems solid and the controller has all the options you need.

The Engel lives on in the troopy and I am sure it has many trips left.

AnswerID: 450189

Follow Up By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 15:46

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 15:46
They usually offer good deals at the shows. I got $200 off the Penrith show price for buying the last demo unit.
FollowupID: 722664

Follow Up By: John B13 - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 06:33

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 06:33
Thanks for that advice guys, will take it into consideration.
Kind regards, John.
FollowupID: 722744