12V submersible pump showers

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 19:47
ThreadID: 85384 Views:9919 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Afternoon/evening all. I've bought a few of the 12v submersible pump type showers over the past couple of years, work well when they work. Problem is when I get home from a trip, put it away in the shed and then 6mths later when I want to use it again it won't work. I know they aren't expensive but I should be able to get more than 1 trip use out of them. Usually they appear to rust up inside the pump and then they are useless.

I've just tested the shower out prior to packing for the next trip and yep it's buggered again. Any suggestions how to stop them from seizing up?

Fortunately I only use it for emergencies as I have a 12V bilge pump (caravan type) and that's fantastic to use either as a shower or to transfer water into my main water tank.

This cheapy, which has seized and blowing fuses on my transformer, was lent to somebody last trip to use.

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 20:12

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 20:12
Hi Duncan,

Do away with the el cheapo pump but keep the hoses and hand piece. Replace the pump with a submersible bilge pump like the one here;

https://www.whitworths.com.au/main_itemdetail.asp?cat=133&item=67109&intAbsolutePage=1

I had one of these for years - it never gave grief like those other types.

Another option if you can afford it and if it will fit into your engine bay go the radiator water plumbed heat exchanger type, they are brilliant.

all the best

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 450115

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 01:47

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 01:47
Hi Phil yep kept the hoses and shower head as they are pretty good. Plumbed them into the bilge pump and they work good. A glind system under the bonnet is an option for another day.

Cheers & thanks.

FollowupID: 722590

Reply By: Rangiephil - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 21:17

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 21:17
or one of thesewhich fits any cheapo shower. I bought mine from Caravans Plus

Whale 12V Pump Submersible 12 litres/m In Stock
$64.60

ID-5599 Whale 12V Pump Submersible 12 litres/m. Self venting 12v submersible water pump with anti air locking design. .... more info.

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 450118

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 01:48

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 01:48
Will keep that in mind thanks Phil.

FollowupID: 722591

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 22:30

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 22:30
" Any suggestions how to stop them from seizing up? "

Yep !

Maintenance is the key...........

Here's what I do >>>

(a) Don't put it away wet. let the water drain out of it first..

(b) At the end of the trip, unscrew the foam filter housing, remove the end cap (small philips head retaining screw), and spray some Lanox around the impeller shaft, give the impeller a spin, blow out the excess, and re-assemble (and I'll usually smear a little lanolin grease on the o-ring as well)...

That's it, job done, and she's good to go for the next trip...

Our el cheapo has been in use for at least 8 years, and is as good as new:)

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 450124

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 23:45

Saturday, Apr 02, 2011 at 23:45
Yes Ed, I have a $20 pump/shower set now 3 years old and have no problems.
Don't know why after reading of many complaints but I must be doing something right.
Like you I dry it out after use being careful to drain the hose but I haven't gone in for preventative maintenance.
When it does fail I will replace the pump with a small marine pump.

FollowupID: 722585

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 01:50

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 01:50
Hi Ed, never thought about the foam filter side of things. Always let it drain and dry out. If I end up buying another will consider spraying something like teh Lanox as you suggest,

FollowupID: 722592

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 11:02

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 11:02
O-rings are great seals - but they just don't work well when dry - especially in a rapidly spinning shaft which will wear away the rubber quickly.

After having seen all my friends' showers seize up from water in the motor, I opened up my new one and sprayed Lanolin Oil over the shaft seal.

Lanolin Oil is one of the best waterproof oils you can get.
FollowupID: 722620

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 06:18

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 06:18
I agree with Phil B, we have had one of these pumps since 1998 and used as a shower, have never had a problem with it.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 450137

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:10

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:10
Stuffed if I know what I've been doing wrong as I always drain them well and let them dry out in the sun. Will try the lubricant stuff in the future.

FollowupID: 722634

Reply By: dags666 - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 06:58

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 06:58
Duncan been going beach fishing for years the best thing is to let it dry then spray with inox all of it run the pump and spray it. we use it for water and rust proofing all the camping gear every thing is ready to go next time For the vechile we use penetrol it dries hard and the sand doesnt stick to it

dags
AnswerID: 450138

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:14

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:14
Dags how do you spray inside the pump and then spray. Do you spray into the actual pump and let it draw the penetrol through the impeller?

FollowupID: 722635

Follow Up By: dags666 - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 17:53

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 17:53
Sorry Duncan spray the inox in the inlet side of the pump while the pump is running with no water. The penetrol is for the body of the 4wd
Dags
FollowupID: 722682

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 07:09

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 07:09
GDay Duncan
I just pump some premixed automotive coolant (same as I use in the car) through my high pressure washer when I finish using it. Stops the internal valves & impeller from corroding when not in use.
I reckon the same would work for your 12 volt pump.
Stu
AnswerID: 450140

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:15

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:15
G'day Stu could give that a go as I have no shortage of coolant.

FollowupID: 722636

Reply By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 08:08

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 08:08
You may like the look of one of these if you carry gas in your travels. Very upmarket, but looks good.

Portable Gas Hot Water link

I have no idea how good they are, but noticed them and earmarked them for future consideration.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 450146

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:17

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 13:17
A bit extreme for what I was referring to Jack, but if I had a caravan or camper trailer that system looks the goods.

FollowupID: 722637

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:50

Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 16:50
I have the same type of pump and also dry it after use then spray with lanolin.
Another thing I have done is to get rid of the little foam filter and simply place an old stocking end over the whole pump to filter any water it is in. Then when finished just wring the stocking out or dispose of it.Then clean and spray the pump as the others have advised.
Mine is now approx 8 yrs old and still going.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 450201