SCAM! SCAM! SCAM!

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 03, 2011 at 23:56
ThreadID: 85417 Views:6014 Replies:14 FollowUps:30
Here's another pathetic one trying to work his slimey way in.
Let's all try to find him and string him up by the B#@@S

Please do not get suckered in to these scams.
Maybe we should have a scam alert on this forum.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You have received an enquiry about your CABIN TENT - 8' x 10' (16' x 10' with awning) as listed in the Exploroz Adventure Trader.

Enquiry From: Gary Calos - garycalos898@yahoo.com
Enquiry Text:

Hello,
I am interesting your item,i want the item and my mode of payment will be PayPal,I will like you to get back to me with your PayPal mail address because i will need to confirm it before making the payment or kindly email me directly on (garycalos898@yahoo.com)for fast response..Awaiting for your reply.

Gary.
Use reply in your mail program to send email to Gary Calos.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I wonder how much extra he will tell me he has deposited?

Reply By: John B13 - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 06:39

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 06:39
I like the idea of a scam alert. I guess we must be cereful of any liable/slander possibilities. How about posing opinions re scams alert?
John B.
AnswerID: 450263

Reply By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 06:54

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 06:54
Can't see the scam bit, please enlighten me.

cheers, Peter
AnswerID: 450264

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 07:43

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 07:43
I was thinking the same thing, poor English doesnt automatically mean scammer.
FollowupID: 722750

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 07:49

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 07:49
If you've used Paypal then you'd know that there's no need to "verify" it prior to payment. If it's a legit PayPal account than payment will go through..
FollowupID: 722751

Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:16

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:16
MrBitchi,

the prospective buyer obviously has a poor command of our lingo.
When he used the expression 'confirm your email address' (he didn't say 'verify'), he probably meant to say he needs to confirm the payment to the seller's Paypal account (aka email address) in the transaction process.
After all you want to make sure you're sending money to the right person.
AFAIK you can't pay someone without knowing his/her registered Paypal email addy.

I still can't see any bad intentions.

cheers, Peter
FollowupID: 722755

Follow Up By: Dagil - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:25

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:25
Hi Peter

Well for a start the guy has not contacted me to ask any info about the tent or
even to ask if I have paypal or how he can get hold of it, where he is, where I am
etc.

I suspect he will no doubt put a way too much money in my paypal account
and send me a fake receipt hoping I will not cheque with paypal

He will then ask me to either use the extra money for postage or to refund him
or pay a friend back who may come to collect the goods.

Either way he will not pay anything and hope he has suckered me.

Best thing is be vigilant and ignore anyone suspicious unless you personally speak
to them or they come to collect the goods and pay cash.

I understand online business is different as people will expect a store to more aware
of the pitfalls but these scammers prey on individuals until they get a sucker!

FollowupID: 722757

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:26

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:26
Maybe he is just as paranoid as us about scams and want to be certain before he hands over his hard earned cash.
FollowupID: 722758

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:05

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:05
Yeah I can't see the scam in the email you posted, asking for your Paypal address achieves nothing other than allowing him to send you money, he can't take your money. However if you haven't advertised paypal as a method of payment, then this poor bugger is barking up the wrong tree.

Paypal is extremely safe and is reputably supported.
FollowupID: 722794

Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:18

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:18
David,

in light of all the comments, what can I say - well spotted Watson!

cheers, Peter
FollowupID: 722799

Follow Up By: Andrew(WA) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 19:36

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 19:36

No doubt a scammer but excuse my thick head...when you say "they usually pay way too much into your paypal account" doesn't that mean you've got the money??? being a good thing?

I've used Paypal but very few times over recent years. I'm just confused as to how these pricks do it!!!!

FollowupID: 722846

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 07:25

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 07:25
You should do a search for 'scam' and then read the 2008 missive from an ex PayPal manager - that should give you some idea about how scammers are using this sort of information!
FollowupID: 722874

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 11:38

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 11:38
They must be getting desperate doing this for the amount relative to a tent.! LOL

FollowupID: 722890

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:03

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:03
Hi David,

Yes a scam alert would be a good heads up for all.

I have never used paypal but I saw the problem straight off.
We all get this sort of thing one way or another some time or other so an alert would be a good idea.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 450273

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:07

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:07
Just had a thought that the best way to get to this bu@@er is to tell them you do not accept paypal and only accept cash or direct deposit.
Good to have an account seperate from your main account so that there is no connection for safety reasons. that will sort the wheat from the charf.

Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 722754

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:28

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:28
Paypal is much safer than you giving your bank details for direct deposit - with paypal you are only parting with your email address - with your bank numbers they can do anything!!! I have been using paypal for almost 10 years as an ebay junkie! hoo roo
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

FollowupID: 722759

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce Y (Vic) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:32

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:32
aussiedingo wrote:
Paypal is much safer than you giving your bank details for direct deposit - with paypal you are only parting with your email address - with your bank numbers they can do anything!!!

We sold a vehicle on Ebay and we were getting bids from UK. The guy in UK won the auction and I was concerned about giving our bank info, so I contacted the bank (Westpac) to find out the best way to go about the transaction. I was told by giving the BSB number and Account number the only thing they can do is deposit money into that account. The sale was just after Christmas, we have received the $$ as a direct deposit, no problems.

Bruce
FollowupID: 722771

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:57

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:57
G'day again, the last car I sold to the UK a few years pack it was paid no trouble by paypay, but since that sale the family have come to OZ for their holidays, staying with me 3 different years in a row! damn paypal/ebay, they won't return my calls!!!! hoo roo

FollowupID: 722777

Reply By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:18

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:18
G'day, I have just received a similar email which I find suspicious, I verify that as there is no messages in my eo messages, I am always wary of "yahoo's" as well
(only my personal opinion) - paypal is to me the safest & fairest way of email money transactions (I have been using it for almost 10 years as an ebay junkie! I have had 1 international problem settled by paypal in that time) - the only thing that would make me look further into this enquiry. hoo roo

You have received an enquiry about your FOR SALE....TOYOTA 78 series FACTORY LSD, approx. 1000klm, as new! as listed in the Exploroz Adventure Trader.

Enquiry Text:

Hello,
I am interesting your item,i want the item and my mode of payment will be PayPal,I will like you to get back to me with your PayPal mail address because i will need to confirm it before making the payment or kindly email me directly on (garycalos898@yahoo.com)for fast response..Awaiting for your reply.

Gary.
Use reply in your mail program to send email to Gary Calos.

AnswerID: 450274

Follow Up By: Dagil - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:21

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:21
LOL!

Now I know what is happening, he is just gearing up to go on his hols,
A tent, a 4x4, what else, anyone got a fridge or a trailer for him?

I find it hard to believe that anyone will simply want to purchase hundreds or even thousands of dollars worth of goods from a private vendor without even contacting them personally to check them out first or even inspect the goods,

So called Gary Carlos has not even seen a picture of my tent and I bet he's not enquired about your car!

I can't believe some people see no problem with this and are trusting.

FollowupID: 722764

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 10:50

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 10:50
It is not a question of being blindly trusting, it is a question of not being suspicious about everything and anything. He has asked for email confirmation and offered to pay by PayPal and as per previous comments, unlike Western Union (which i would be very suspicious about) PayPal is quite safe and secure. All i was saying was a little bit of benefit of the doubt. I am sure if his English had been better we wouldnt be having this discussion.
FollowupID: 722784

Follow Up By: Member - Josh- Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:04

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:04
TonBon, The same person has sent the same email to 2 different people. That would indicate the suspicion was correct. It is not PayPal that is the problem. We had so many of these emails when we sold our cruiser. As mentioned they pay you to much or pay for postage then send you a fake PayPAl account showing payment has been made to you. You either send the goods believing payment was made or they say they over paid you and ask for a refund. I have not heard of anyone getting an email like this and it turned out to be honest.
These days I think it pays to be suspicious. One email I got about our car asked all sorts of questions about our trip, our family etc. I was sus about some questions he asked and they way he called me friend/mate/buddy. I told him I had got heaps of fake enquires about the car and was passing all fake enquires to the federal police, so was happy to be speaking with someone honest. Never heard back from him. Apparently he was coming to OZ to do a big trip from England. Yeah right. I would rather be suspicious than ripped off thousands of dollars. There are lots of scum out there.

Josh
FollowupID: 722793

Reply By: Rangiephil - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:40

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 08:40
Quote Use reply in your mail program to send email to Gary Calos. Quote

Gary is probably an engineer/sailor/petroleum engineer working offshore.

As I understand one scam he pays, then sends an "agent" for the goods, then says he never received them, and advises a dispute to PAYPAL who immediately freeze the payment to you.
You end up with no money and no goods.
Another is that some hitch arises with PAYPAL and then he sends a bank cheque for more than the amount and asks you to refund the difference via Western Union. The cheque later bounces.

I am AMAZED that the respondents who say they see no problem still have their bank accounts intact.

BEWARE of anything out of the ordinary when selling on ebay.
Regard sPhilip A

AnswerID: 450275

Follow Up By: Crashley - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 12:02

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 12:02
YEP that's what i had the first time i sold something on a sales website a while ago.
i got a reply that they were offshore blah blah
plus he asked no questions about item and then one hour later , got the exact same thing from a female who works offshore blah blah....

I know why people get ripped off, they don't do any research into internet scams before they use the internet to buy or sell things.

It's not just ebay that attracts scamers, I have had it using many classified advert companies.
FollowupID: 722787

Follow Up By: Member - geelong gypsies - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 15:50

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 15:50
lol, I sold a car a couple of weeks ago. I had it advertised on ebay, carsales/carpoint and trading post. I was getting 4 of these emails a day.

I must have been the unluckiest bloke in Australia. Everyone who wanted to buy it, couldn't come in person, they all had agents/brokers etc and all of them were either working overseas, or working on offshore oil rigs and were having comms. problems due to storms/rough weather.

I rarely use ebay these days but up until '07 I used to sell 1000s of items a year and never had a problem with direct deposits. Paypal is owned by ebay and it is just another way for them to get their hands on your money.

FollowupID: 722821

Reply By: vk1dx - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:20

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:20
May I suggest that to buy online you follow what I do.

Purchasing from ebay: I only buy from "good" sellers and ONLY pay with paypal or cash on pickup.

If NOT ebay: I never buy from a business/site/seller that does not give a street abbress that can verified in the white pages or with street view and not a private address, only businesses. I also never purchase anything from a site that has a number of bad reports found by Google etc. One or two in hundreds or more does not bother me but a whole bunch of reports does worry me. I NEVER believe any reviews or atestations posted on the sellers site.

For selling its cash in hand ONLY on pickup. Otherwise its Paypal and not handed over or posted until the funds have been cleared to my account.

In other words I just use common sense. Apparetly a "sense" that is missing these days.

And as one said above, I am wary of those "free" email addresses such as yahoo etc.

AnswerID: 450279

Follow Up By: Dagil - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:27

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:27
Well said!

But I did read about someone that would send a fake Paypal receipt via email
so you MUST check your actual paypal account and if still unsure contact paypal to confirm payment has been made.

But the best way for secondhand goods is CASH when buyer pick up the goods.

If anyone wants to send someone else to pick up the goods tell them to get the person who is picking up the goods to hand over the cash.

FollowupID: 722766

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:41

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:41
Ten years ago when I opened my ebay/paypal account (which is owned by Telstra) I opened a Visa debit card account only for all online transactions always just enough money there to cover purchases, that way they can't hack it! I have bought 'n sold stuff all over the world - not only from ebay. Paypal is safe & secure, it also shows the https:// (the "s" means secure as in your bank etc. sites)
hoo roo

FollowupID: 722774

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:57

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 09:57
Hi David

Exactly. That's why I said "Otherwise its Paypal and not handed over or posted until the funds have been cleared to my account".

I don't mind the goods to be picked up but if you read my post in all instances when selling I said that its cash or "Paypal . . cleared to my account"

Just as I would have done with cheques/cash years ago. Its so simple I wonder about those who get caught.

Dingo

We have also used Paypal for several years. Both for ebay and many other online businesses and auction sites. They are very reasonable with their issue resolution and we do not have one single complaint against Paypal.

But where money is involved, just like in the real world, we always keep a hard copy paper trail and do not trust anyone. I do not even trust my own computer not to fail and screw up a payment receipt etc etc. Print it all and only dispose of it after receipt of the goods and also only after any warranty is over.

FollowupID: 722776

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 14:24

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 14:24
I seriously doubt that Ebay/Paypal has the faintest link with Telstra as it is an American owned company for starters.

Two Google searchs revealed these answers to the question at the bottom

eBay is a publicly traded corporation. eBay began doing business in 1995, and it based in San Jose, California. Shares of eBay trade under the stock ticker symbol "EBAY." Pierre M. Omidyar is the founder of eBay and the chairman of the board.

eBay is owned by multiple shareholders who invest in the cocmpany. Numerous people own parts of eBay, including Pierre Omidiyar, the founder, Meg Whitman and John Donahoe

Read more: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Who_is_the_owner_of_eBay#ixzz1IcSlcBTV

FollowupID: 722894

Follow Up By: aussiedingo. (River Rina) - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 14:42

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 14:42
ebey Australia is owned by Telstra - not ebay international

FollowupID: 722897

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 10:01

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 10:01
According to what I have been able to find out Telstra do not own Ebay AU and in

fact bought the TRADING POST to be able to sell in opposition to them

Read here

http://www.itwire.com/business-it-news/technology/18497-telstra-trading-post-in-uphill-battle-against-ebay-ovum

http://www.zdnet.com.au/no-paypal-mandate-at-new-trading-post-auction-site-339289354.htm.

If you have anything to contradict that please post it.

FollowupID: 723128

Follow Up By: snoopyone - Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 10:05

Friday, Apr 08, 2011 at 10:05
And here as well

http://apcmag.com/trading_post_cures_ebaypaypal_pain_launches_free_auction_site.htm

Logic seems demand why would they buy another auction site to compete with themselves?????????

FollowupID: 723129

Reply By: Crashley - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 11:16

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 11:16
It's a scam.

I have just received the same email address querie this morning.

They DO send fake receipt then have you post the item to them which they say they will pay you for......

Enquiry Text:

Hello,

Gary.

I have had many of these from all different sales websites such as boatsales.com.au and get queries from all different email addresses with the same type questions from when i sold my boat etc.

Anyone who doesn't ask real questions about your item or try and bargain you down has to be dodgy!!

Be Safe Online!

AnswerID: 450297

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Adele - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 11:54

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 11:54
Hi David,

Thankyou for drawing this issue to our attention, this email account was banned from our system this morning (we received an email report from another seller on Sunday who received the same enquiry). We encourage anyone who believes they have spotted a dubious Trader Ad, or has received a suspicious Trader Enquiry to email us on info@exploroz.com or use the Trader Feedback System.
Online Shop- Adele

AnswerID: 450299

Follow Up By: Dagil - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:13

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:13

It is so reassuring not only to myself but I am sure other members too
that you act so promptly on these matters.

And like you say anyone else who comes across what they deem to be dodgy should speak out straight away to let others know about the scam and stop other users being conned.

Thanks Team ExplorOz

FollowupID: 722796

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 12:13

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 12:13
Hi David.
I received the same email this morning for my Waeco fridge compartment.

Vince
AnswerID: 450300

Follow Up By: Dagil - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:15

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:15
LOL!!

I was right he did want a fridge as well - See post 4 of 9

Hope you didn't answer!

FollowupID: 722797

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:52

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 13:52
David.
We should have got together & done a package deal LOL.

Vince
FollowupID: 722810

Reply By: Bazooka - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 16:08

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 16:08
The very least you should do David is report the email adress to Yahoo. Likely they won't do anything, and he/she probably has hundreds of free email accounts but they can track the IP Address (possibly) and close all his Yahoo accounts if they get enough complaints.

Had a related scam a few years back when I was looking for a good quality mountain bike. Didn't twig at first but eventually told 'him' (amongst other things) that I had his IP and had forwarded it to the Fed police. Also reported the email address to Hotmail.
AnswerID: 450319

Reply By: hazzaneatz- Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 16:46

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 16:46
we had the same type of thing happen last week when selling my work van.....
immediately thought it was a scam. played along for a bit with them..... and when stressed to them its CASH only they still tried it on with the paypal stuff.
who on earth would buy a 1992 ford econovan without even inspecting it first??? can not believe the extent people are going to these days.

AnswerID: 450322

Reply By: Outback Gazz - Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 18:54

Monday, Apr 04, 2011 at 18:54
Howdy Dagil

Sure wish PayPal was around when I married my first wife - could have saved a fortune !!!!!!!!

Gazz
AnswerID: 450343

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 11:40

Tuesday, Apr 05, 2011 at 11:40
Car Sales talk about this type of scam, I gotta say though most people I know would smell the rat long before it bit. Too many unusuals..

Car Sales Website Scam Explanation
AnswerID: 450405

Reply By: harryopal - Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 16:40

Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 16:40
Good afternoon all,
Reading through these threads there are so many untrusting, suspicious people out there.
I recently got an email telling me I have won one million pounds in a Texaco promotion lottery (and I didn't even have a ticket.)
How good is that? Next thing you lot will be telling me it's not genuine.

Yours tropically, Harryopal
AnswerID: 450497

Follow Up By: Dagil - Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 20:24

Wednesday, Apr 06, 2011 at 20:24
Of course it's genuine !!!

You will receive your winnings in 'CALOS' pounds very soon.

This is not a scam!
To prove it all you have to do is send me your full bank details, credit card details, home address, drivers licence number, passport number, birth date and the times when you are most likely to away from home for more then a few days.

Then I can send you the money..... The Carlos money

Your best friend Gary Calos

PS. oops! I have accidentally put 2 million Calos pounds into your account
I will send my friend round and you give him the extra money I have paid to you in cash!! AU$ preferred

I thank you my friend - Gary

: )
FollowupID: 722997