fuel aconomy for pajero 91 gls model [petrol]

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 13:24
ThreadID: 8543 Views:2265 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
thought i called get same feed back from same pajero owners on fuel aconomy on the paj it,s a 91 gls 3 ltr model petrol i filled it up last week with a full tank and got 677 ks out of it before the petrol light came on and that was all round town is that good or bad considering it,s got a 90 ltr tank in it i thing .any feed back would be helpfull thank you

Reply By: Savvas - Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 14:05

Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 14:05
Don't have a paj, but I'd suggest that's quite a good result.
AnswerID: 37415

Reply By: Mickl - Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 14:14

Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 14:14
Tank size is 92 litres, to work out l/100ks you need to how much fuel you used (litres needed to refill to full) to do 677km.. the low fuel light coming on dosen't tell you a lot unless you work out how much is left in the tank when it comes on( this can be anywhere between 5 to 20 litres depending on what the manfacturer thought was a safe reserve amount). If you had run it dry to do 677 ks your figures would have been around 13.6 l/100, if you had around 10 litres left this would have dropped to around 12l/100.... not bad for a 6 cylinder around town.
AnswerID: 37416

Follow Up By: greendog - Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 14:42

Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 14:42
mick greendog here just found the docket i put in 78.1 litres of fuel after doing 677 ks i,m no good at maths mate so hope you can help me thanks peter
FollowupID: 27098

Follow Up By: Mickl - Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 15:49

Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 15:49
Greendog, divide fuel used by km's, multiply by 100.

ie; 78.1/677 = 0.11536 (which is liters per k)
Multiply by 100 (to change to per 100k)
= 11.536 L/100ks (rounds off to 11.54 l/100k)

I would have to say these are excellent fuel figures for around town driving for a 3lt 6 cylinder 4wd. My mates 1990 Triton (same engine and trans) gets around 12l/100ks on the open road (unloaded etc) and loaded up or off road it can go up to around 16L/100ks.
FollowupID: 27099

Reply By: Member - Vince - Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 15:57

Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 15:57
Hi greendog.
I had a 89 v6 paj & recorded similiar fuel cons.
I changed the computer which resulted in more power & fuel economy was great unless u drove over 3000 rpm. Above that figure the economy dropped by 3lt per 100k.
Regards Vince.
AnswerID: 37421

Reply By: Stuart - Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 19:01

Saturday, Nov 15, 2003 at 19:01
G'day,
l had a 95 V6 pajero and l found that if l used premium unleaded l would get between 50 - 70k's more out of a tank, it is about 5 cents per litre dearer so it works out pritty good value, it is also a lot better for your engine, worth a try anyway! Also do not put it on gas, a friend did and he had nothing but trouble with it and it still cost him about the same to run it. Hope this helps. Regards........Stuart
AnswerID: 37429

Reply By: Rodney - Sunday, Nov 16, 2003 at 20:11

Sunday, Nov 16, 2003 at 20:11
My V6 3L pajero with roof racks and pond always ontop gets around 400litres in the city and about 600 - 700 on the highways. When i push the car over 3000rpm on the highway, I notice the fuel guage will start to fall quiet quickly. If i sit on 100 or 110 my fuel figures are reasonable. I know i have more wind resistance but could anyone tell me why my figures are alot higher than greendog.
AnswerID: 37497

Follow Up By: greendog - Sunday, Nov 16, 2003 at 22:51

Sunday, Nov 16, 2003 at 22:51
thanks rodney for your feed back mate ya i reckon my figures are spot on maten as soon as the petrol light came on i was striaght to the servo and took on 78ltrs i try and fill to roghly the same spot when i filled it up the last time ,i,vfe just filled it up with bp ulimate and i reckon i,m going to get a better result this time any i,ll let you now soon cheer,s greendog
FollowupID: 27170