dog packs in Vic High Coubtry

Submitted: Monday, May 02, 2011 at 19:29
ThreadID: 86030 Views:7471 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
spent easter and last week moving across the high country.
last wednesday night we camped at Bentley Plains hut next to Moscow Villa and after dinner a couple of the blokes and kids went for a walk into the swamp to see what they could find ( thinkings wombats /roos and horses).
were a bit surprised when they ended up being stalked by a mob of 5 feral dogs.
the dogs hang around for over half an hour, splitting up and working around to the sides of the group.
reinforcements were called for and the dogs took off when we went towards them flashing lights and making a fair bit of noise.
interestingly they were heard around the camp later during the night.
on thursday as we went up to Davies high plain for the night we noticed several dogs hanging on fences ( obviously shot) up the top of limestone road.
must say wondered if these dogs are such a problem perhaps we should pack the cannon next trip.
anyone else had a run in with these dog packs.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, May 02, 2011 at 19:38

Monday, May 02, 2011 at 19:38
Hi Howard

A few years ago I found some 30 dead sheep , mostly throats torn out , just 50 meters over the fence where you camped easter saturday.

A farmer showed up , loaded , thought it was my dog , took a while to calm him down to.

Hope you all got home saftely and had a good round trip.

AnswerID: 453087

Reply By: Member - Josh- Monday, May 02, 2011 at 22:30

Monday, May 02, 2011 at 22:30
I haven't been in the vic high country for some years now, but have had trouble with dogs a number of times. They got really bad for a while and we actually had a ranger recommend we take a rifle for protection. I think around about the same time they starting baiting or hired shooters/trappers to reduce the numbers. We had food taken from can by them and we weren't game to go out to stop them. One night they were rumaging through our stuff and pushing on the tents trying to get in side, quite scary. Glad to hear you were in a group and noone was hurt by them.

Josh
AnswerID: 453111

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, May 02, 2011 at 22:43

Monday, May 02, 2011 at 22:43
Hey Howard.
I'm guessing it was you that stopped at Buckwon on Friday morning to allow your Irish mate with the 76 Series and trailer catch up??
You then followed me across the Murray at Tom Groggin??
I recognized the 79 series in your profile picture.

Pity we didn't realize we both frequent on here. LOL

AnswerID: 453113

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 18:57

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 18:57
John,
yes that was us.
didnt take you long to get the picture of TC crossing up
Must admit I was thinking at buckwong you were heading south ( vic rego plates) and was a bit surprised when you went ahead.
after we crossed my mate showed me a photo of him crossing christmas 2 years ago and water was over the bonnet of the 76.
i enjoyed Davies hgh plains ,hadnt done it since 2005 and no trailer this time.
safe travels
howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 725953

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 20:22

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 20:22
Yeah mate was heading back to Pinnibar to exit via the Anderson track etc to Omeo.

The only reason we were crossing the river again when you saw us was for a few pictures.

Its a fantastic part of this country, I try and get up there a few times a year all being well.

Ditto on the safe travels to you also.

FollowupID: 725966

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Monday, May 02, 2011 at 22:45

Monday, May 02, 2011 at 22:45
G'day Howard,Wild dogs seem to be plentiful in the VIC, NSW high country.
We used to hunt and fish in the mountains and high plains above Eucumbene and Gungarlin, and saw them often, large dogs, looked like dingo/shepherd cross in all colors.
Be careful if you are on property not known to you as the farmers in our area trap them with dog traps, shoot them and hang them on the fences.They do this as evidence, because the local NPWS are in denial of their numbers.
They kill a lot of stock and wild life but rarely eat it , they seem to do it for the thrill, It is a big problem at lambing time. they live in the hills and come onto the flats at night to kill. Please be careful with young children around at night, don't let them wander. The dogs don't scare easily.
Safe travels, Keith
AnswerID: 453114

Reply By: Member -Toonfish - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 00:04

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 00:04
Over Easter we also went up to the high country but based ourselves in around abbeyards on the border of the alpine park and had 2 packs of dogs aound our area but not directly seen but heard mostly at night .
we took precautions and kept food scraps to a minimum and rubbish in car over night (very little rubbish anyway).
Had a great time never too worried, met with a baitlayer/trapper that contracts to DSE and said we would be suprised how many feral animals are up that way and are very cunning .

its a shame but im guessing bad owners of pets are partly to blame.

have fun out there

toonie
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

AnswerID: 453118

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 04:35

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 04:35
All unattended dogs, in the High Country should be shot on site.
I do
AnswerID: 453121

Follow Up By: petesgq - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 07:23

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 07:23
Here Here, If its feral anything shot it, pig, dear, camel , donkey , horse, goat, cat, rabbit, indian minor bird,cane toad.
FollowupID: 725884

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 09:15

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 09:15
...... and white man?
FollowupID: 725892

Reply By: trainslux - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 12:13

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 12:13
Yes the dogs do pose a threat to you if your not careful.
They work in packs, are smart, and will try and break up your group to attack individuals.

They also try and bait you out using a dog decoy tactic.

Have had to deal with several feral dog packs, (not in the high country) so am aware of how smart and cunning they can be.

Other 4x4 forums, ie outerlimits have had several stories of chaps stalked and attacked by dogs in the HC when they have been bogged/ broken down etc.

When we were there a few years ago they were around and precautions were taken. The ones we saw were very large, would not want to have to tackle one, let alone a pack of them.

T
AnswerID: 453149

Reply By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 16:55

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 16:55
So how would one go if a forearm (22 calibre rifle...bolt actoin) was included?
What are the protocols and laws regarding this for protection in the high country??
I would imagine that having a shooters licence and registered firearm would/should be enough...But is it ????.

Cheers Keith
Nothin is ever the same once I own it ...........

AnswerID: 453168

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:28

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:28
Would personally prefer a little more than 22 calibre myself, unless your talking 22.250, 220 swift. For me a 25cal and up would be handier.

FollowupID: 725936

Follow Up By: trainslux - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:28

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:28
Regardless of all the hoops and political issues re firearms there etc.

Not sure that a .22 would do much more than pee them off.

Dogs I have seen there are quite large.

Quality knife kept on person at all times as a bare minimum and I mean bare.

T
FollowupID: 725937

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 19:00

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 19:00
I was thinking along the lines of my 22.250 or sons 243wssm.
need to check legalities .
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 725956

Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 21:58

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 21:58
12 guage and some bird scare shot will get them moving
Mary
PS the type they use on airports -gives an initial blast then a overhead xplosion.
"Some people walk in the rain,others just get wet."

FollowupID: 725987

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 15:46

Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 15:46
12 guage and Buckshot will stop them from moving :))

FollowupID: 726040

Follow Up By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 17:02

Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 17:02
OK...you all have a point about the calibre.
Spose I could take my 243...but thort the explosion noise from that reverbrating around the hills would be a bit of overkill (pardon the pun).
I am a bit of a marksman ...and...so far...I have never seen anything walk or run too far with a 22 slug in the brain...but then I am human ...so I guess I could miss.....maybe

Cheers Keith
Nothin is ever the same once I own it ...........

FollowupID: 726053

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 21:15

Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 21:15
Keith, You are spot on about that "explosion noise" from 243, they have a very loud "crack" my 375 HH is quieter.

FollowupID: 726090

Follow Up By: Darrynrj - Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 20:37

Thursday, May 05, 2011 at 20:37
Unfortunately most of this area is National Park with no firearms permitted at all. Some other areas of the Alpine National Park in Vic are open to Deer hunting by stalking only. If one was to obtain a Victorian Game Licence for deer and carried a firearm that was a legal caliber for hunting Sambar Deer you would be covered BUT it is illegal to discharge that rifle for any other purpose other than taking deer. Having said that though, if one was discreet then any wild dog can be sent off to its maker and no one would be too worried.

In areas of State Forest in Vic you only require a shooters licence and there are no restrictions on what you can shoot re feral animals.

These issues highlight the total inability of government agencies to manage public land.

Regd's Darryn
FollowupID: 726165

Reply By: Andrew & Jen - Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 16:47

Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 16:47
Hullo Howard
Just back from about 4 weeks in the Vic High Country and SE NSW.
Apart from seeing many hanging on fences, particulalry around the general Omeo area, only heard them once this trip and that was just south of Bendoc at the Delegate River Camp.
When talking with the park ranger the next day down near Club Terrace, he mentioned that they were about to start an extensive baiting program in the area.
On a previous trip earlier this year, the dog inspector(?) at Omeo was talking about a similar extensive baiting program in his area. Certainly if you go by the signs, many places now have 1080 laid.
I also heard the other day of some intersting research where they have fitted some wild dogs with tracking devices to get a better idea of their movement patterns during the day and night in order to more effectively lay the baits.
AnswerID: 453282