Body lift or just leave it alone?

Submitted: Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 13:54
ThreadID: 86045 Views:5712 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
G'Day all. I am thinking of fitting a 25 mm body lift to my HDJ 79R trayback, and am wondering if anyone has had it done.
I am only thinking of doing the cab, as the tray is already quite high enough, but am wondering if there is any problem's to be wary of if I do, or if I will be creating my own problems?
Main reason for this is to raise the front fuel tank, and side steps for that little bit extra clearance.

Cheers & Regards

Reply By: Mick O - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 14:17

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 14:17
Paul, I’ve done a bit of work on my 79 and ended up with around 70mm for rear tray clearance and extra ground clearance. I would suggest that a 50mm lift is a valid consideration on clearance issues alone. It is within the appropriate specs for roadworthy and insurance in most cases and also allows a wider choice of tyre. Without knowing your specific purposes and travel habits, it’s a bit hard to say. I’m running a 285/75R16 as opposed to the standard 270/70R16’s (I think). Any move to a larger tyre will require a bit of extra room in the front wheel well as provided by a lift.

Are you considering beefing up the suspension at the same time. I’d recommend that as part of any lift strategy as the rear leaf springs are notoriously soft despite the vehicles apparent load rating.

Creating the dream off-roader

AnswerID: 453157

Follow Up By: Flighty ( WA ) - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 16:15

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 16:15
Mick
Thank's for your input, main use of vehicle is "tradie" use with oxy/acet equipment along with your normal tools of trade for a travelling boilermaker, so it is reasonably heavy.
Heavy duty rear springs / front coils with foam cell shock's & air bags help out that end, on top of 265/75 16s.
Main reason is to just get that "wee bit " extra height for CSR but, on the other hand don't really want the "need" a ladder to enter/exit the thing either.

Cheers & Regards

FollowupID: 725925

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:49

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:49
"Main reason is to just get that "wee bit " extra height for CSR but, on the other hand don't really want the "need" a ladder to enter/exit the thing either."
why worry about a 1inch body lift if. you want a bit of extra height go to 285/75 tyres instead of 265 that will give you 1/2 an inch painlessly.
for the CSR you dont need extra body lift its a "remote" trip not a "tough"trip . found a few dunes didnt find any rock hopping.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 725943

Reply By: Rockape - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 16:31

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 16:31
Paul,
I considered doing a 50mm lift on my old 75 series and still have the marks adaptor lift kit in the shed.

The reason I didn't do it was I would have had to make another shroud for the fan and while some things were easier to get under the bonnet others became harder, so I decided against it. 25mm shouldn't worry you to much, a few things it can affect is, anything going from the chassis to the body, your slide on the steering shaft, the shroud on the radiator and any hoses from the body to the engine (heater,a/c) + your gearshift boot.

Hope this helps,
RA
AnswerID: 453166

Follow Up By: Flighty ( WA ) - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:28

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:28
RA.
Cheers for that, the items you have mentioned will be looked at pretty close before a decision is made.
The air con/ heater hoses will need to be sussed out pretty carefully I think.
Cheers & Regards

FollowupID: 725938

Follow Up By: Rockape - Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:37

Tuesday, May 03, 2011 at 17:37
Paul,
I am sure you won't have a problem with the a/c but just make sure you have enough length in all the accessories that attach to the cab from anything that is attached to the chassis.

RA.
FollowupID: 725940

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 11:59

Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 11:59
For the CSR, you have enough clearance with your present setup.
Lifting the cab 25mm won't make any difference. Its pretty hard to hit the sidesteps because the chassis rails sit a fair bit lower than the steps.

I do desert trips with both standard and raised 79series and the main issue is rampover angle because of the long wheelbase - the chassis can easily get hung up on the tops of soft dunes (such as in the north Simpson). The usual 2" lift and upsized tyres help improve this.
AnswerID: 453258

Reply By: Lyle87 - Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 18:23

Wednesday, May 04, 2011 at 18:23
Paul why not just do a suspension lift and beef it up at the same time two birds with one stone. i did the same to my 75 ute then put 35s on looked like it was ment to be but bit slow without a turbo i would suggest that you get 33s witha 2 inch lift. I dod all the work myself pretty easy really.

Boileys do it with bigger roads
AnswerID: 453290