Company car crackdown

Submitted: Friday, May 06, 2011 at 17:25
ThreadID: 86108 Views:4511 Replies:13 FollowUps:43
I've always thought the current novated lease tax rules were irresponsible for a government who should be encouraging people to drive their cars less not more to save tax.
Looks like the rules are about to change and there will be less incentive to get the km's up.

I have heard all kinds of stories such as public servants driving around Canberra aimlessly at the end of financial year to get there km's up.
I know one bloke from work who used to drive from Sydney to the roundabout at Hexham go around it and back to Sydney without stopping just to get the km's up to lower his tax.
Another guy who looks for people going interstate to drive his car to get the km's up.
Sorry for those who will be disadvantaged by the changes but the current rules are crazy considering all thats going on regarding protecting the environment, carbon credits etc.

The fuel companies are going to be upset as there will be a drop in fuel used for sure if these changes go in, especially when we are talking 570,000 cars using the scheme.

http://smh.drive.com.au/motor-news/company-car-crackdown-20110505-1eag8.html

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 17:44

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 17:44
Thats the sort of things Socialist Governments do after they spend wildly on the lower income earners and the welfare recipients. Whats news?? Michael

AnswerID: 453461

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 18:53

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 18:53
Must be good to Jet Set all around the world, stay in 5 Star accomodation, and when back home in Aussie Land live in a rent free Mansion with servants and get driven around with a driver who is on call 24/7, and after all that when she retires Julia Dillard gets a Fat Super package and all the perks that go with it, and her mate Wayne the Duck Swan, tries to screw people with this new tax.

FollowupID: 726242

Follow Up By: farouk - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:05

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:05
Political byass is showing chaps, of course it is only the Labor heirachy who get these perks!!!!
Colin
FollowupID: 726256

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:06

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:06
Not trying to look like I am sticking up for the Pollies, but in Australia you have just the same opportunity to become one of "them" and enjoy the perks also. I would take advantage of EVERY perk I could if I was in their position.

Regards, Peter
FollowupID: 726257

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:18

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:18
So you should, because the pay is pathetic compared to private enterprise!!

FollowupID: 726259

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:26

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:26
Exactly my point, they are only doing what they are allowed to do, so for the likes of Daza and other knockers, if you can't beat 'em, join 'em.
FollowupID: 726261

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 21:57

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 21:57
I agree, it's like club members whinging about the committee & not being prepared to get off their backsides & give it a go themselves.
FollowupID: 726277

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 08:03

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 08:03
Must have hit a raw nerve with some Gillard followers lol lol,

Nah i'm just a self employed person who doesn't bludge on the system.
FollowupID: 726301

Follow Up By: farouk - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 10:04

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 10:04
Not really Daza it is just that we are not afflicted with the same syndrome of the other party which is "we are born to rule" let me remind you that the Labor Party have been in power since 2007 "get over it !!"

Colin
FollowupID: 726311

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 11:52

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 11:52
No Gillard follower here Daza, just don't like the perks that self employed people get as much as I don't like the perks the pollies get, but as I said, I could be one of them if I wanted so no use whingeing about it. I need to use my car just as much as a tradie needs theirs to earn a crust but I can't claim jack bleep for my car. What's the difference?

FollowupID: 726328

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 13:07

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 13:07
Hi TTTSA

So you don't like the perks self employed people get.

I don't like some of the things Small Business people have to pay out to have employees working for us but we do it.

Just recently with the Public Holiday Payments and Sick Leave entitlements ect.

We have a good bunch of Tradies working for us and to keep good people you pay them good money with all their perks.

So if you can't claim for your car like Tradies can, get your self a better Tax Accountant, there are ways around it.

Some accountants don't try hard enough or don't want to rock the boat.

FollowupID: 726332

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 13:52

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 13:52
TTTSA, You don't like the perks that self employed people get like putting your home on the line to start a busness, late nights doing paperwork having employees steal from you because the boss has plenty and he is lucky,working for years with no holidays or days off,working while you are sick, not getting payed for jobs because your employee stuffed up yet I still have to pay him the list goes on.So after all this, I will take the odd perk when I can. Cheers Mick
FollowupID: 726336

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 17:24

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 17:24
Lets not get out of hand here, That is Your choice to put your house etc on the line, as it is My choice not to, BUT I still need to use my vehicle to earn a living just like a tradie etc does, you can't tell me that fuel and running costs aren't included in the quote when they do a job, so that fuel is paid for by the customer so why should that be claimed as an expense to earn your money when I cant. You are doing what you are allowed to do, I don't have a problem with you personally. I NEVER pay cash for any service that is done for me so as to make sure you guys are paying some tax at least.

FollowupID: 726354

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 19:56

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 19:56
I claim everything from fuel to the paper that my quote is on, are you saying that business owners should not be able to claim anything at all or just cars and fuel? As far as you needing your car to earn a living, if that is the case you maybe eligible for a allowance or maybe it is factored into your salary
FollowupID: 726383

Follow Up By: TTTSA - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 20:20

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 20:20
I am a wage earner and I need my car to drive to my workplace so that I can slave away for 8 hours and earn my wage. No bus, train, tram, will get me to work on time so I need to drive there, just like a plumber, sparky or who ever does, so what is the difference between the two situations. Is that too hard to understand? Your fuel cost I am assuming IS factored into your income, or a brickies, cos I have paid for his fuel when he quotes for the job he is doing for me, yet you can still claim that as an expense to earn your income.

Go figure
FollowupID: 726386

Follow Up By: Member - Michael and Chris (QL - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 22:04

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 22:04
Mark, there is only one bit of advise I could give you and if you live your life by these simple rules you should be successful. WINNERS make it happen and LOSERS let it happen. Good luck
FollowupID: 726407

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 08:35

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 08:35
I put my house on the line to be self employed.... it still is on the line. Yes, it's my choice. As an employee for many years, my "work" started at 8am and finished at 5pm. I couldn't claim fuel/vehicle expenses if I drive to one place of work, & then home again.
I now can, although I pay expenses to get my service vehicle to many jobs in a week. I also claim whatever I can back through the tax system. Why not? They (Govt depts) don't hold back when asking me for money. The amount of $$ I pay for licenses to keep my business alive is horrendous, as is the insurances involved. My "work" day is now every waking moment 7 days a week, and some of the sleeping hours as well. My hourly rate, if calced backed to the hours per week I put into my business would be horribly small.

So why do I do it?

Because anything worthwhile comes at a cost. I certainly wouldn't have my 4X4, or my Tvan, or my Honda cruiser motorbike, or my nice house, if I wasn't self employed. Did any of this come from my claiming expenses from the Govt? Obviously some, a small proportion, but not all. The bulk came from me putting my @55 on the line every day, with the very real knowledge that at any time it can all end, to make the profits on a job that goes towards the life we lead.

I don't harangue people for not being self employed, it's a personal decision, but it annoys me to read people knocking those of us who are.... many small businesses grow to a point where they employ people. People who then knock their bosses! Take away the small businesses in this country and where are we all going to work? Are there enough public service jobs? Do we all want to work for the public service?

Not a soap box rant, just simply typing out my opinion of it.

FollowupID: 726530

Reply By: Member - Jon W (Toowoomba QLD) - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 18:57

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 18:57
Wonder if they held a focus group for labor members who salary sacrifice.
Jon W
AnswerID: 453469

Reply By: Member Al (Sunshine Coast) - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 19:21

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 19:21
Consider this........ every tax dollar that is avoided by means of tax perks is a dollar that will have to be paid by the ordinary taxpayer who has no opportunity to get benefit from tax perks.

Classifieds: FREE BOOKS

AnswerID: 453477

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 19:41

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 19:41
Al. its not avoided, it was/is allowed, govt policy!! Michael

FollowupID: 726248

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:55

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:55
Al,

Consider this. Every dollar that is saved through this 'perk' is a dollar that is spent on general goods (subject to GST), banked (oh, interest gets taxed doesn't it), maybe spent on property (whoops, forgot about stamp duty). Not much avoiding tax really.

So what is your definition of an 'ordinary' taxpayer? I consider myself to be fairly ordinary, yet I lease a vehicle. I don't get family allowance, no baby bonuses, no dole, no low income tax rebates, donated money to the QLD floods, still get hit with the one off tax, pay my own medical insurance, etc, etc. My novated lease is the ONLY tax concession of any form I get and statistically I still pay a damn sight more tax than your 'ordinary' tax payer.

Matt
FollowupID: 726266

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:06

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:06
Ok just to alienate everyone, the FBT exemption in Australia has always been a crock.
Very few countires in the world give tax exemptions for company cars.

AFAIK the USA doesnt.UK does a llittle I think but based on emissions and few other countries do.
These company car perks were always to support the Australian car industry and have really become something of an anachronism, seeing most fleets now allow "user chooser" and fleets no longer buy the Falcodores.All they do now is encourage purchases of Mazdas.

These tax concessions are also a major incentive for lucky executives to drive into cities and increase congestion . I recall a survey many years ago now that came to the conclusion that 60% of cars crossing the Harbour Bridge at peak hour were company registered cars.
So much for Government talking about reducing Greenhouse gases.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 453480

Follow Up By: Rangiephil - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:10

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 20:10
Oh , I orgot all the tradesmen who buy twin cab utes so they do not have to keep a log book and then have the government pay for their holiday and in fact all private fuel. ( well half or whatever percentage tax as it is an expense)

That is AFAIK why all jap utes are 1tonne payload, as that used to be and I think still is the cutoff for justification of private vs business usage.
Regards Philip A
FollowupID: 726258

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 07:26

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 07:26
Rangiephil, if you are going to compare Australian tax to overseas, particularly the US you should consider everything.

No US taxpayers don't get FBT exemption, but
1)There is no FBT int he first place
2)There are no taxes on cars. A BMW 3 series is $90k here, $38K there, a 200 Series Landcruiser is $120K here, $68K there, etc.
3) Fuel is $1.00 per liter there, and name your price here.

I know which I would take.

FollowupID: 726297

Follow Up By: gbc - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 08:45

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 08:45
It has to be a 1 tonne dropside ute for 100% write down without logbooks. If it's a styleside then you need logbooks.
Where do I sign up to get the gov't to pay for "my holiday and in fact all my private fuel"?
100% writedown is depreciation and either a cents per kilometer or actuals on running costs.
The tax dept takes photos of 4wd regos in places like double island point, barge landings etc., and god help you if you're claiming 100% and not working.

And if you think being a tradesman and having a family and ONLY being able to shop for the current crop of POS dual cabs is fun, think again, and no they aren't all one tonne rated either.

FollowupID: 726304

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 18:12

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 18:12
Boobook - that is really cherry picking or selective viewing of the US Tax System....contrary to popular belief you pay just as much if not more in tax in the US than we do here. For instance...if you sell your house...or anything of value for that matter there is a capital gain..everytime you walk out of a store..well in most states you will pay a state tax in addition to the taxes that are already included in the price. Sure their income tax rate is lower but they certainly have other taxes that make up for it...AND they have a population approaching 300M that can garner the economies of scale. City taxes are also higher and there are more of them...for goodness sakes they have to pay for city police, state police, 20 different types of federal police and so on and so forth....please don't wish the US tax system (or its system of government) on us.
FollowupID: 726366

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 22:01

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 22:01
Patrol22, no disagreements re personal taxes, I am a little familiar with US taxes. ( don't forget interest on the family home is deductable too).

I was limiting the area to the discussion of vehicles in Rangiephil's post. Cars and car related costs are significantly less expensive than here due to less taxes was my point.
FollowupID: 726406

Follow Up By: Mogul - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 17:53

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 17:53
gbc, what you have posted is incorrect.

Have a look here for the corect info.

MT2024 ATO ruling
FollowupID: 726584

Reply By: Outback Gazz - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 21:04

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 21:04
Mark - I would be more concerned about the 22,000 people employed by the ATO who collect the tax off hard working Aussies and then give the money to 27,000 people employed by Centrelink who in turn hand out 85 BILLION DOLLARS annually to people on welfare in this once great country !

Some people just get it better than others !

Gazz

AnswerID: 453486

Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 21:06

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 21:06
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 726269

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 18:14

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 18:14
Those big numbers you are talking about there Gazz are way off if you are referring to those on income support benefits....the vast majority of those "welfare" dollars are spent in middle class welfare....ie 30% rebate on health insurance, paid maternity leave for those earning up to $150K pa etc and so on.
FollowupID: 726367

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 19:10

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 19:10
Howdy Patrol 22 - My Brother in law, who recently stopped working for Centrelink gave me the figures ( chucked his job in because it stressed him out too much to see how much money is wasted on people who don't really deserve it ) The 85 billion expenditure is actually stated on the centrelink website and is the TOTAL amount of dollars handed out for ALL types of welfare in this country - I was not suggesting it all went on income support ! There are obviously thousands of people that rely on and need welfare but after numerous chats with my brother in law, I ( and he ) can tell you that nearly half is wasted on people that don't deserve it !! And we won't even THINK about how much our indigenous cousins are getting ! The other point of my post was - how much do you think the wage bill is for approx 50,000 people each week, cars for management, office rents, chauffers, taxis etc etc and ALL the entitlements that public servants get ( I know about that coz my wife is in the Police force ) ? I just seem to agree with Daza - Michael & Chris as I'm self employed and if I had my time again I would certainly not go the self employed option, especially now that I'm not far off retirement and NOBODY is going to give me a payout for the 40 years of busting my guts for little reward !

All the best and happy travelling !

Outback ( I claim my fuel ) Gazz

FollowupID: 726376

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 21:35

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 21:35
Hey Outback Gazz,

You forgot the wage bills for the tens of thousands of health workers and public servants, and their costs and entitlements. Not to mention the massive costs of hospitals and offices/wages for private health 'insurance' (was there ever a bigger misnomer?) - a lot of it required to 'repair' people who live unhealthy lifestyles, drink, smoke, play 'dangerous' sport, get injured on the roads because of their own or someone else's stupidity or error....

Need I go on? It's called being part of a civilised society. Got a problem with 'welfare' of any sort? Write to your fed member, give an amount equivalent to your own tax perks or govt handouts to charity, give your super tax breaks to a supermarket checkout operator or some other poorly paid service provider.

There isn't ONE person on this forum who hasn't been in direct receipt of considerable govt 'welfare' or largesse in one way or another. Just that some like to whinge about what others have been given and ignore what they themselves have.
FollowupID: 726398

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 21:56

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 21:56
Hear hear Bazooka......well said and oh so true!
FollowupID: 726404

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 22:39

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 22:39
G'day Bazooka - The wage bill for tens of thousands of health workers and public servants, their costs and entitlements DOESN'T COME FROM CENTRELINK !!! By the sound of it you are one of the shiny bums that is on the governments payroll and are probably embarrassed by the amount of money you get paid for your efforts - hence your reply ! If you read my post properly you will see that I said there are obviously people that rely and need welfare - if they deserve it that's great - but if you have tunnel vision you more than likely CAN'T see that there is far too much money going to people that don't deserve it ! Next - I DO NOT HAVE ANY SUPER WHATSOVER ( cannot afford it ) so giving my super tax breaks to someone would be equivilent to feeding an ant for breakfast ! At the age of 42 I lost my house and everything I owned - except my trusty old Patrol ( got stung in business ) and not once, I repeat, not once, did I aproach Centrelink or any other Government department for any form of assistance, I just knuckled down and kept busting my guts to have the basic things I now have. And as far as whingeing goes, I am a realist - I see things as they are and I say it as I see it, so if ignorant people see that as whingeing then god help them ! No need to go bazook about it !

All the best Bazooka

Gazz

Ps my accountant has often told me I would be better off on the dole - but I don't want to be a burden on hard working taxpayers !!!!
FollowupID: 726410

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 00:58

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 00:58
My reply was to get some balance in the 'discussion' Outback Gazz, nothing more. And it was obviously in response to more than just your comment.

Like the wages of the Tax Dept and Centrelink workers you attacked, our medical facilities and services are all paid from tax receipts, apart from the private sector health funds - in which case it's partly from members contributions. These people (mostly) work hard, pay their taxes, and spend money in their communities, and in doing so they help the private sector and self-employed people stay in business (where do you think the rent on offices goes?). A lot of 'govt' workers could earn much more in the private sector but for a range of reasons they choose to work in the public sector - just as you chose to be self-employed.

There are undoubtedly many cases of undeserved govt payments as you say, plus quite a few who use the system to drain it both legally and illegally for their own benefit. That's one of the reasons extra staff are required in govt depts unfortunately - for compliance, that is to 'keep the bastards honest'. ALL govt benefits should be strictly means-tested in my opinion. Remember the days when politicians were able to have their super plus claim the age pension - before eligibility was tightened? They were legally entitled to it, but ethically? I doubt it. Australia is full of well-off people with their snouts in the trough. Meantime pensioners, carers, the disabled, etc struggle for support. Something VERY wrong there.

Good for you that you worked hard. Most people do. Some are grossly underpaid for their work, some work for nothing. Others do little and get paid for it. Not an ideal situation but hopefully over time some of those anomalies will be fixed. Without super you will eventually be eligible for a taxpayer funded pension and medical benefits (as little as that is because so many others avoid and 'minimise' tax). You should make sure you get your reasonable entitlements.
FollowupID: 726421

Follow Up By: Outback Gazz - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 09:18

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 09:18
Morning Bazooka !

I think you should get into politics with your wise words ( obviously the Labor Party would suit ) Yes, I fully understand how the system works, I know where the money comes from, I know where it goes to and I know how it's distributed. And I also agree with you that there are many thousands of people who should get more than they do eg. the pensioners and carers etc you mentioned - it certainly isn't fair ! It's just very annoying that so many people think that self employed people all earn 300k a year, have 6 rental properties and only work 4 hours a day and can claim everything including beer, wine, steak and holidays as an expense and don't pay tax ! We both could sit here til xmas telling stories about wasted money in the government but the 2 that get me going are, at the centrelink where my brother in law used to work ( not sure if they all have them ) there is a "tranquillity room" which has a big screen tv, a stereo, 100's of dvd's and cd's, cappaccino machine and numerous couches where the staff can "spend time" after they have received an abusive phone call. He said that room is like a picture theatre / coffee shop all day long ! He said there are people in that room that don't even answer the phone. My other gripe is, there is a copper at my wife's work that each year without fail has 4 weeks off ( not during holidays) on paid "stress leave" - well, each time I see him loading up his landcruiser with beer, camping and fishing equipment he doesn't look too stressed to me ! Anyway mate, I'm about to head off to work ( no double time for me ) and make some money so I can subsidise the dvd collection at centrelink - and yes I would hope to receive a pension when the time comes but I would have an educated guess that I would have to live to be 360 years old to get the money back that I put into the tax department !

Self employed people, on average, live 4 years less than non self employed people - I wonder why that is ?

Bazooka - enjoyed chatting with you and if we ever meet in the bush the beers are on me ( well the first 12 anyway )

Gazz

FollowupID: 726442

Reply By: lbudgie - Friday, May 06, 2011 at 23:15

Friday, May 06, 2011 at 23:15
i know someone who put there car up on jacks and let it idle in drive all night to get the k's up.
AnswerID: 453501

Reply By: patsproule - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 06:51

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 06:51
Ok. I'll bite. I have a novated lease on a Pajero. My second one in 8 years. It's registered in my name by the way - not the company and I control it's running costs etc through the fleet company. Novating it is the only way I can afford to drive a $40,000 4WD (the price paid for it when bought into the lease second hand). I'm a uni lecturer and I work by absolute ring off in the job (it's very different to what you probably imagine). 60 hour + weeks are very common, high stakes and expectations (particularly in research output required of you) and no, we dont get all the holidays off like school teachers. All this and I make quite a bit less money than the average wage a miner or a school teacher does. There is very little I can claim on my income tax... the odd private purchase of a textbook and maybe some internet usage. Our combined income is enough that we dont get any childcare benefits so we pay out $500 a week to have our youngest cared for while we try to make ends meet and meanwhile the energy bill just arrived at double what it was last year. And now this comes along.

So, my company does offer novated leasing of a motor vehicle and yes it is reasonably attractive. Yes, my income tax reduced from $30,000 a year to $17,000 a year but out of that saving I actually pay another tax called.... wait for it..... FBT! Yes, to make it worthwhile in terms of FBT I have to do 25,000km + a year (gets you into the 11% FBT bracket), and yes it probably does encourage you to drive a bit more. But you pay that 11% on 100% of the driving - there is no concession as it's use is considered 100% private & not company related even though I drive it regularly for company purposes. That's 11% of the statutory cost of the vehicle, plus something like 12% finance interest.

In our case we simply use this vehicle over our other one whenever possible and without even trying we clock 30,000km a year. But it's not like if I keep doing more KM I end up making more money. I'm paying for the vehicle through taking home a reduced wage. The more expensive the vehicle, the more KM, the less I take home. If you think Novating is essentially a free car then you are very wrong. Of course I'm angry. My car is the one tax break I get and it is about to become un-affordable for me while being locked into a contracted term.

Pat
AnswerID: 453506

Follow Up By: Mark - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 09:34

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 09:34
Hi Pat,
Sorry to hear how this change is going to affect you as you sound like one of the genuine users of the scheme and are not abusing it. Its unfortunate that once again genuine people have to suffer thanks to others who abuse the system.
We just can't go on wasting the resources we have and there is no doubt the current scheme is rife with abuse and the end result is thousands of litres of fuel going to waste and more vehicles on the road.
I think it would have been better if the government had phased it in over time however as changing the rules on the fly does not give people the opportunity to look for alternatives.
FollowupID: 726308

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 10:16

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 10:16
"Its unfortunate that once again genuine people have to suffer thanks to others who abuse the system"

How can one abuse a system that is followed to the letter of the law?
If you abuse it and break that law you will ultimately get caught and it will cost you far more in the end.

I think it should read...
Its unfortunate that once again genuine people have to suffer thanks to an inept government that is abusing the intelligence of every Australian taxpayer by its extreme policies and spending and is looking to claw back money from any place it can to float the interest costs on the debt we now owe.

FollowupID: 726313

Follow Up By: farouk - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 10:20

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 10:20
Pat, a very well written posting which explains your situation without the rantings of political bias.
The sad part of what is going to happen to you is as you pointed out; the Govt of the day brought this in and you took out a contract on that basis and now you are sstuck with it and it is going to cost you,totally unfair and I would be angry too.

Colin
FollowupID: 726314

Follow Up By: Mark - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 10:54

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 10:54
John,
The government have made it clear that the reason they are changing the scheme is that the spikes seen at the end of each threshold indicate some are manipulating the system as we all know is true.
I don't think putting the car on axle stands and letting it run to get over the threshold is following the system to the "letter of the law " now is it?
FollowupID: 726318

Follow Up By: Rangiephil - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 11:42

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 11:42
I guess I am biassed, based on seeing a friend of mine who owned let's say for the sake of argument a canoe shop.

EVERY holiday he took when I knew him was "delivering a canoe" to Queensland to NT etc etc. The point to this is IMHO the twin cab brigade still are able to shonk a high percentage of their private K's as business as they can at least choose a 6 week logbook period that perhaps includes a job that is far away.
I guess it is the fault of the government that Taxation does not do lifestyle audits comparing stated income with outgoings and lifestyle.

Regards Philip A

FollowupID: 726326

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 14:18

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 14:18
patsproule - Exactly - My car is also on a notivated lease - I would have never brought a new car if I did not have the lease.

I have a normal job and have to do 25k a year - I do it easy without having the lease as we go on our yearly aussie drive.

In our tax bracket it is the only little bit of a break we get, but hey its not a big break

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 726337

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff P (SA) - Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 21:28

Saturday, May 07, 2011 at 21:28
I'm with Patsproule and Tonyfish#58 here. I too have a novated 4wd, the only way I could have afforded it and have to do 25k each year. I missed by 150 km one year and it cost me $3700 in FBT no pro-rata allowance and no allowance for being 2500 km over the two years previous. The trips I do in it would otherwise be out of the question, less support therefore for the remote tourism places we go, and we struggle on my reduced income, but thats the choice we made. Its legal, I made the mistake of being honest so suck it up Princess. If you know people cheating the system the ATO has a phone number you could call.
FollowupID: 726397

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M - Tuesday, May 10, 2011 at 10:18

Tuesday, May 10, 2011 at 10:18
Wow, so people rorting a tax incentive/benefit is now the new standard for cutting it?

We should be able to save billions of dollars of Government money under that mantra. Family allowance, unemployment benefits, low income housing, primary producer tax breaks, child support, GST rebates, public housing, etc, etc. Lets kill the lot off because one thing you can be sure of is that somewhere, someone is rorting these benefits, each and every one of them.

The VAST majority of people who access this scheme are just like Patsproule and Tonyfish#58; not abusing the scheme but using it to reduce their taxable income. Since when did (legally) minimising your tax become a social crime in Australia? I would be more concerned with with the number of people who are illegally ripping off our tax dollars (anyone read the recent report on Centrelink?), than with the few who drive unnecessary kilometres to reduce their FBT contribution.

As for reducing cars on the roads, it looks like the changes will be to apply a flat FBT rate (20% ?) regardless of annual mileage. This would effectively mean that those doing over 25,000 Km a year will be worse off and those in the 15,000 to 24,999 bracket will not be affected. But, it is also an incentive for those who drive less than 15,000 Km per year to now lease a car. Hardly reducing the number of cars on the road.

Details tonight I guess, but at least my Nan will be able to watch digital coverage of the next election campaign; thankful for small mercies I suppose.

FollowupID: 726643

Reply By: Member - Paul&Bill M riverton- Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 00:15

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 00:15
Labour party are hopeless this maybe our recession we have to have again thankyou ju liar.......????????
AnswerID: 453582

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 08:41

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 08:41
Now that really adds to the debate..........NOT!
FollowupID: 726435

Reply By: Diesel 'n Dust - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 09:03

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 09:03
Morning all,

I couldn't read every post in this thread but it seems many people are angry about this new scheme.

I mentioned this idea of mine to my Parents.

I've you decide to continue to work, let it be self employed or whatever job, after the retirement age (65?) that you should not pay any income tax. Cause I guess for some folk out there they had started work at an early age and for all those +40 years of work you have paid TAXES! I think this is fair.

1. You are not a drain on the system
2. With GST etc etc the Govt still gets taxes of you too
3. There are many capable +65 people out there to fill jobs

And I thought this idea would be great if the traveling Grey Nomads of Australia could have some part time work, seasonal work like harvesting, that that income would be tax free! Cause I see at the end of the day that's disposable income and may get spent along the journey supporting small business or whoever.

I really think that this incentive could work cause I reckon many semi retired people would work but say what's the point when you'll get stung by income Tax. I'm 33 now and have some super now gathering some pace, however in my Father's era no Super Scheme were in effect. And he was forced to retire at 60 but luckily in his industry he is still needed.

I Know my idea is a bit off topic from the original post but I've being meaning to get this off my chest on this Forum.

Matthew

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

AnswerID: 453596

Reply By: Rangiephil - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 10:01

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 10:01
Quote And I thought this idea would be great if the traveling Grey Nomads of Australia could have some part time work, seasonal work like harvesting, that that income would be tax free! Unquote

I think the government intends to raise the tax free threshold to 10K this budget from 6K. 10K is a fair bit to earn from occasional work.

Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 453603

Follow Up By: Diesel 'n Dust - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 10:51

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 10:51
But do you think my idea could work??

Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 726451

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 18:57

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 18:57
Gees Rangiephil......if that comes about I might even brush off my sparky ticket and install the odd powerpoint or 3 myself :-)
FollowupID: 726595

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 20:39

Sunday, May 08, 2011 at 20:39

The origins of the current rates of FBT are from the late 80's when FBT was introduced. Back then businesses generally picked up the FBT and it wan't shown on your group certiificate. There were some people with executive perks of a free company car, but there were also geneuine business useage. To compensate real business it the mileage criteria was introduced. Real business use olbviousl had a higher mileage than executive perk use.

Since then salary sacrifice has also been created. And this was mainly in leiu of pay increases. Remove salary sacrificing and watch the pay claims arise.

some of these extremes people go to arn't worth it, by forcing the KM's up just to get the tax benefit, you still spend money on fuel, wear an tear. Plus as the average km's per year is less than 15K, novated leased or company cars have higher mileage and you get less as a trade in.

If you cant do the mileage your better off not having a novated lease.

Already I can see ways around this, novated lease on two cars one a high value 4wd and one a elcheapo. Use the elchaepo for your running around, pay only 20% of a low value. Keep your high value 4wd for holidays and trips. As the mileage on this will be low you pay a lower % on the higher capital cost vehicle. The other additional benfit is that you high value car doesnt depreciate as much because it is not having to do 25K Km a year.

AnswerID: 453663

Reply By: Honky - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 11:41

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 11:41
What about my situation.
I am a travelling salesman who does around 55,000 ks.
I am not on commission nor overtime.
I have private use on the company car and do around 8,000 private ks and am on the 7% statutory rate.
When I am on the road I do about 12 to 14 hour days. Lucky I do not drive a truck.
The payoff is the private use of the car.
The company does not do the log book way as it will penalise the top management.

Looks like I am going to get stung on this one.

Honky
AnswerID: 453702

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, May 09, 2011 at 20:16

Monday, May 09, 2011 at 20:16
Phew!!!!

AnswerID: 453768