Hubs running hot

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 22:13
ThreadID: 8631 Views:1326 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Ive got a 99 Patrol coil cab ST 4.2d and have recently notice the front free wheeling hubs run hot, but not all the time.Ive had new bearings put in and we have made sure they are not over tightend plenty of grease and no sighns of extreme heat when pulled down. This could be normal as i dont usually touch the hubs on a regular basis if you know what i mean.I just got knew tyres thats when i felt the hub.You cant leave your hand on them for to long thats how hot htey get.Its both sides can any one shed some light on this.There is no Brake drag and everything else looks allright, Do they run Hot sometimes??????.
Thanks guys in advance.

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 22:24

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 22:24
Quino.
If your load sensing valve on the rear axle is not calibrated corectly or has fallen of the full braking will be on the front brakes. just a posibility. Eric.
AnswerID: 37870

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 22:28

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 22:28
Mine do that too, was told you can actually use TOO much grease.

Will get round to servicing them again soon, try a bit less..
AnswerID: 37871

Follow Up By: Quino - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 23:27

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 23:27
Truckster how hot do they get and can it cause any damage?
Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 27481

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 23:40

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 23:40
Mine get that hot you can only touch them for 2-5 seconds
sometimes not enough time to unlock them, they are THAT hot...
FollowupID: 27482

Reply By: Member- Rox - Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 22:43

Wednesday, Nov 19, 2003 at 22:43
Try a crountry run with few uses of the brakes (unlike city driving) to see if the get hot from Braking or driving.Designing a new camper Heaps of choises
AnswerID: 37874

Reply By: Member - Bob W - Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 07:59

Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 07:59
Your front hubs should only feel warm i.e. keep your hand on indefinately if adjusted/packed correctly. Too much grease causes 'churning' and heat generation, only pack bearings with a bit more around seals and FWH components.
Adust bearings with road wheel in place and tighten just enough to eliminate free play -- by rocking wheel. Maybe do one side at a time to see if there is a differance.
Bobw
99 GU 2.8tdi
AnswerID: 37890

Reply By: johnsy - Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 12:08

Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 12:08
Guys is there a torque setting perhaps because it would be very easy to make a spanner up to go on a tension wrench?
AnswerID: 37912

Follow Up By: Tony - Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 12:46

Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 12:46
The torque setting with new bearings may differ with bearings that have k's on them and you are only re-packing no replacing.

The feel method is by far the best with new or old bearings.
FollowupID: 27504

Reply By: Browny - Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 18:25

Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 18:25
G'Day Quinno,

As Rox has mentioned, be wary of heat transfer from the front breaks, check them only after a fair run with bugger all breaking, around town mine are super hot and only luke warm on country trips.

Browny
AnswerID: 37944

Reply By: Member The J - Man - Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 19:07

Thursday, Nov 20, 2003 at 19:07
G'day Quino,
You say in your post that you've "had new bearings put in", were they put in by you or someone else? If it was someone else, take the car back and let them feel the heat and ask them to fix it. I'm not too familiar with Patrol hubs but I reckon that they can't be too diferent to most FW hubs. If there is a lock washer between the tensioning nut and the lock nut, is it being used properly? ie: bent over both nuts so that neither of them can move?
AnswerID: 37950

Reply By: Member - Tim&jan - Friday, Nov 21, 2003 at 18:53

Friday, Nov 21, 2003 at 18:53
when we did mine it torked the bearings to 150lbs this sets and seats them then we use a little tork rench and set it at 8lbs not running hot just luke warm how they should begu bush basha
AnswerID: 38049