Empress Springs

Submitted: Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:19
ThreadID: 86321 Views:1959 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
G'day All, just a bit of a heads up.. the David Carnegie Rd, from the GCR to Empress Springs is still a bit boggy in sections and has very large washouts and deep ruts where people have driven on it while wet .. it's probably advisable to give that rd a miss for the next few weeks. The grader drivers still won't go on it yet as it is too boggy for them.
A Vehicle was stuck on that road yesterday, luckily they managed to get themselves out.
Our rd up the back to the caves 15km's up is still under water also, hopefully should dry out pretty soon. The rd to the caves 5km's out is ok, just a little soft.
Good news is the Great Central is in great condition, with the only real problem being the soft stuff at Lake Throssel, 45 km's from us, but that is coming along well and is not really causing anyone any trouble.

Reply By: wizzer73 - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:27

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:27
Thanks for the update. Will be there in a couple weeks.

Any reports on the Connie Sue road condition?

thanks
wizzer
AnswerID: 454456

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:40

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:40
G'day no worries mate, see you in a coule of weeks.
I have heard there are some good washouts on the Connie Sue, but don't have any real reliable info just yet, although today a group( who also visit this site) have headed down there, and will let us know when they return next week, how it was.

Al
FollowupID: 727298

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 15:11

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 15:11
Al good idea who that was as a group of my mates would have been at your place this morning. They could be in for some fun on the Connie. They were going to be turning off the GCR at the Parallel Rd.

FollowupID: 727305

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:36

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:36
Alan,

Thank you for the good news about the GCR.
Look forward to using it soon and we should see you on the 4th of June

AnswerID: 454457

Follow Up By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:42

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 14:42
G'day Wayne, no worries mate, see you on the 4th. Have a great trip. :-)
FollowupID: 727299

Reply By: Member - pilbara60 (WA) - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:40

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 20:40
will be your way about late july with 5 cars heading home to karratha so hopefully the roads are dry and we can drop in . cheers wayne
AnswerID: 454493

Reply By: equinox - Monday, May 16, 2011 at 21:30

Monday, May 16, 2011 at 21:30
Hi, that would be Empress Spring. Only one spring that I know of!!! :)

I've been twice now and have found water, others have said they have found none....

AnswerID: 454502

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 12:38

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 12:38
G'day All, just an update for you if heading this way.
The road to Empress Springs (or spring for Equinox :- ) )
Is now passable. We have had a couple of different reports from travellers ranging from great, to just Do able.. and as each persons ideas of road conditions usually vary greatly, we'll take that as a pass. :-)
The graders still aren't heading up there just yet as it is too soft for them, but can now be done in 4wd at least. There are some soft sandy patches and some washouts, so care still needs to be taken. I still haven't managed to get up there myself for a look yet, but should be able to manage it soon.

Al
AnswerID: 455340