Nissan Navara STX 550 V6
Submitted: Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 08:59
WBS
I am looking for opinions on the Nissan Navara STX 550 which is the V6 170kw, 550Nm torque version of the Navara. I am considering it as a tow vehicle for my 2.5 ton Caravan, replacing my old 80 Series Land Cruiser.
Happy to hear opinions, pro's and cons thanks.
Tom
Reply By: Dasmeg - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 09:15
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 09:15
Mate, try asking over at the navara asia
forum, i think a couple of people have bought them
Reply By: Member - Heather MG NSW - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 09:38
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 09:38
Are they on sale in Australia yet Tom? Have seen the brochures in Nissan Dealers but none anywhere to have a look at.
We are also interested in updating to one, currently have a D40 AD Dual cab Navara and also towing a 2.5 ton van.
Will be interested to read any replies.
Heather
Follow Up By: WBS - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 15:13
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 15:13
Heather,
Yes they are. I've had a look at one in the car yard but have yet to take one for a
test drive.
Tom
Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 09:39
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 09:39
My mate got the first one a couple of months back and I did a report here Tom.
Its brilliant for that application and tows a 2.5 yacht real
well with the combo of power torque and long wheelbase.
The 7 speed auto mates very
well with it.
It pulls more consistently than my 4800 patrols and would probably out accelerate them to 100kmh but its a little new to wind out fully just yet.
Like the 200 series it was remarkably quiet inside , this usually puts us off most diesels but not the STX 550.
My main concern with them is strength of chassis and limited articulation compared to GU Patrol - one day the GU may get that engine - but no one is holding their breath.
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 12:24
Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 12:24
G daY ROBIN
Personally I would be worrying about the Van steering the Navara.
The V6 certainly do the job in the pulling department.
But as you know they are a bit light in the tail, for me..
I suppose you could then do what I had to do the D22 we did own, and put in 300 kg's of sand, up the front of
the tub, to even up the dry weight distribution.
I am a bit like you, when it comes to being concerned about the chassis strength, when fully loaded up.
Reply By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 12:42
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 12:42
hi wbs
have a look at thread 85286
and
www.caradvice.com.au
www.carsales.com.au
there are write-up's in both sites
imho opinion i dont see any reason why the new stx 550 would'nt be a terrific tug
and should eat the load you want to pull uphil and down dale
and do it economically
Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 13:55
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 13:55
I think there is no doubting the vehicles engine and transmission performance, plenty of torque for towing. However as you are spending over $60,000 and can only choose from 3 colours, bear in mind for that amount of money there are other vehicles you could also choose, if you want a 4x4 ute, then this is it really, if you want simply a 4x4 you could also consider 2nd hand Land Cruisers etc, the list goes on. It's too early to get any reports on the vehicles reliability and re-sale value etc.
Follow Up By: WBS - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 15:23
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 15:23
I am thinking of moving from a Land Cuiser for a few of reasons
Just on paper, in comparison to my vehicle the Navara appears to be
More economical;
has a seven speed auto;
has plenty of power and torque (nearly 2/3 as more as my 80 series);
has all the airbags as prescribed in the latest safety standards;
has brake assist and other technological advances.
I have ruled out the 4 cylinder diesels as they cannot match the power of the V6 Navara. Hence my original question. Unfortunately they are the only 3 litre engine that comes in V6 so far. I'd get a Prado if it had a V6 3 litre diesel in it!
tom
Follow Up By: WBS - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 15:25
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 15:25
what I meant was 2/3 more power than my 80 series
WBS
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 19:12
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 19:12
You are correct in making those basic assumptions with regards to the power and fuel economy however it is still a ute and does not have the features of a Landcruiser wagon, it is far smaller etc etc. The base price of the STX550 is around $61k, you can only choose 3 colours and it is a bit of an unknown, with most likely average resale value. For around $10k more you could pick up a 2nd hand 200 Series TD landcruiser, perhaps $14k,depending on how desperate you are. In my opinion the 200 Series is light years ahead of the Navara no matter the engine and transmission, it's a convertable 8 seater and it's a wagon with much better ride quality and unquestionable re-sale value, it may be out of your budget, just food for thought.?
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 22:52
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 22:52
Far smaller than what TerraFirma.....I think if you take full consideration of all the space available - especially once you have a good canopy fitted - I think the STX550 would be bigger than the 200. Not knocking the 200 as they are a great car as
well. Take the STX550 for a drive and you will quickly see that it is more car like than any ute you have ever driven in the past.
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 08:47
Wednesday, May 18, 2011 at 08:47
I have driven one, nice drive, still a ute and yes with a canopy has space in the tray but it is not a wagon nor does it have the passenger space of a 200 series, merely making a suggestion given the $61k spend.
Reply By: Madfisher - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 14:00
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 14:00
We run a mixed fleet of hiluxs, tritons D40 and D22 Naravas. We seem to have more trouble with the d40s in particular then the rest put together. This may not apply to you but Nissan seem to be losing the plot.
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 22:55
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 22:55
What seems to be the major problems you are experiencing Madfisher.....I've now had my D40 since Dec 08 and it has 65000km on the clock...been accross Aus from east to west then back east again from
Marble Bar via Punmu,
Well 33 to
Warburton then Alice and thence accross the Simpson.....I've not experienced a single problem with it so would be interested in finding out what I might be in for.
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 23:15
Tuesday, May 17, 2011 at 23:15
You may have been lucky to have got a good one. Ours have about the same ks as yours but used in mining etc so would be equel to 200000k. We have six back in the yard for repairs at the moment , and are all diff issues on ea vehicle. Frankly I would not swap my 13 year old Jack for a d40. The luxes working in the same invuiroment rarely give trouble, and the Tritons apart from crook seats seem to be ok. D22s seem to give less trouble.
I also find the autos noisy and gutless compared to the others.