Moose to Gazelle - The 79 ute has been chipped

I have just had the performance moderations made to the ute in that a 3.5 inch Taipan exhaust was fitted together with a chip and an EGT gauge. The fitment of the exhaust was not without its difficulties due to the stretch and the confining nature of the big rear tank but it was all made to fit in the end. The overall change has been absolutely incredible. It’s gone from Moose to Gazelle. It freakin FLIES! I have had it tuned specifically to assist with the heavy weight of the vehicle and towing. The work was undertaken at Turbo engineering in Thomastown. They have used their own chip which is a complete tuning system as opposed to a fuel rail or fuel pulse module. Ray spends some 4 hours on the dyno with each fitment adjusting both fuel and boost to ensure all the planets align with the additions and to ensure that things can’t be over-fuelled (meaning more heat etc). As an interesting aside, for those who have posed the question in respect to the death zone for the V8 motors as far as Exhaust Gas Temperatures (EGT) are concerned 520C is NOT what you want to see on your gauge. 520 means you’ll be looking for a new motor real soon (EGT probe is aft of the turbo in this reading).

I will be writing it up in due course on the build blog but the immediately noticeable differences are;

-Wholly more responsive – It’s like driving a fully tuned petrol V8 (I kid you not, there is that much difference!)
-No flat spot when accelerating from standing start. Torque band is a lot wider . The vehicle just accelerates cleanly and powerfully.
-Much more acceleration on the highway. At 80 kph in 5th gear you can put the foot down and she climbs effortlessly upwards. Towing is going to be a dream as will dragging heavy loads up bloody high sand hills.
-It sounds a whole lot meaner at the back end with the 3 inch system and sports muffler (and this is important according to the crown prince!)

If this thing is tuned down, I’d be frightened to know what can be achieved with it bedded down and tuned right up. Quite simply these are one of the best mods I have ever made to a vehicle. If you were thinking of spending the dollars on this type of mod, do it but do your research and go to a recognised diesel expert. IMHO a simple plug and play fuel module is not what you want in your $70K ute.

Give me a week or two to drive her a while, decipher the dyno results and throw a load on behind her and I will give as comprehensive write-up as I can in the build blog.

Grinning like an 18 year old buck on “P” plates.

Mick ;-)

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 19:04

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 19:04
"Grinning like an 18 year old buck on “P” plates."

S'pose you have given 'Queen Vic' a burst around the block....lol

At least you should be able to keep up with my power house now...LOL

Jokes aside, that is one mod that will make a big difference. The 'Banks' chip in the Effie really makes her sit up and go too.

Look forward to mucho more details..

MJ

AnswerID: 455055

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 09:58

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 09:58
Even she notices the difference MJ. You got the 315 Toyo's on yet?

FollowupID: 728055

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 20:52

Saturday, May 21, 2011 at 20:52
Hi Mick. I went down the same path with TE a couple of months ago and was pleased with the end result after fitting a Beaudesert 3" and DTronic. Just out of interest how are the torque figures looking? I managed 383NM at the rear wheels, fairly sails up big dunes now! Good long and flat torque curve as well for a 1HD-FTE engine. Cheers
AnswerID: 455072

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 01:29

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 01:29
Hmmm!!
Thats interesting info mate.
May need to look into that myself :-)))

FollowupID: 728031

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 01:36

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 01:36
Sorry Leigh, forgot to ask, what was the pre and post figures at the rear wheels??

FollowupID: 728032

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 09:57

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 09:57
Hi John. The way all this came about was I bought a 6 month old DTronic from a guy in Darwin for $500, cheap enough I thought! Then got thinking about an exhaust.....so another grand. Fitted the exhaust and chip and booked it into TE to optimize the set up. Fitted EGT and happy with temps. Given this I have no before and after figures but from the seat of my pants there's a big improvement. Spent about $2200 all up.
Happy to give you a drive if you are over this way or perhaps Mick could put on a barby lunch and we could meet half way? (thanks in anticipation Mick) LOL!

Cheers for now

Leigh

FollowupID: 728053

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:01

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:01
Just so happens that I found a very nice BBQ spot at a local reserve. A mini gathering then gents lol. Won't be able to until mid-July tho lads. Probably a few others might pop along as well. Good idea.

FollowupID: 728056

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:09

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:09
Sounds good to me. Thanks Mick
FollowupID: 728061

Follow Up By: Member - jay D (VIC) - Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 11:12

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 11:12
Hi John

I have fitted a 3" beaudesert system with 4" dump pipe to my troopy and it made a noticeable difference to the power and driverbillity. It's a simple bolt up system but i did have to alter the rear outlet to miss the twin wheel carrier. Highly recommend it.
Im still looking for a bolt up intercooler kit next!

jay
FollowupID: 728248

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 00:49

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 00:49
Hi Mick,

I had a similair thing done with the ChipIt chip, a dyno tune where the fuel and boost pressures were modified for my vehicle. End result is some 800+Nm, gotta be happy with that :)

I also have an EGT guage and typical high temps are 460C (post-turbo). Interestingly, the higher temps are when cruising - put your boot into it and it drops a gear and the temps lower as the boost increases.

Was initially worried that EGT's would rise above cruising temps but have not had an issue. Have yet to fit the bigger exhaust - emphasis on yet :)

AnswerID: 455089

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 09:57

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 09:57
Captain,

you'll find your temperatures dropping with the 3.5" exhaust for sure. 480 was the max Ray could get with it running flat out on the Dyno. It's low 300's on the hioghway but will be able to get a better handle on it in the next few weeks. I'd try and slip an exhaust past the Minister of Finances ASAP. You've be very happy with the result.

FollowupID: 728054

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 01:37

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 01:37
Micky old boy, I'm coming over for a look and a drive :-))

AnswerID: 455091

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:02

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:02
NOW you come out of the study cave! You are Soooo shallow big fella ;-)

FollowupID: 728057

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 07:34

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 07:34
I was with Mick yesterday and we went for a 'Run' around the block and I've got to say...... WOW! It's almost as fast as my iTD42 :-)

Seriously it was like the old Nissan with two blokes with stupid grins on our faces. The amount of Go in his truck is 'just wrong' - bleep it's good! I can't stop smiling and it's not my truck!
I'll be talking to Turbo Engineering this week to see what they can do for me.

Great stuff Mick,
Alex B

Enjoy everyday, make your own luck & help a few along the way.

AnswerID: 455094

Follow Up By: Member - Alex B - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 07:38

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 07:38
Oops should read..."like the old Nissan Advertisement'... :-)
Enjoy everyday, make your own luck & help a few along the way.

FollowupID: 728039

Follow Up By: Mick O - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:06

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 10:06
Yep I reckon that "this is just so wrong!" comment uttered with a bleep eating grin sums it up well Alex lol. Frightening isn't it? Can't wait to get a full load and the trailer on behind and check out the difference then.

Cheers mate. Mick

FollowupID: 728058