Two Off Roading girls need help to buy the off road tasmania book

Submitted: Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 17:52
ThreadID: 86475 Views:2960 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
Good Morning

We are from England and are coming over to Australia and Tasmania next Feb

I would like to get hold of a copy of this book - can anyone help me get hold of teh authour? maybe i can get it shipped to the UK?

http://www.roving.com.au/

We are two girls coming over for a three week trip on dirt bikes

This was our last trip

http://theozrun.orgfree.com/

We are heading over to Tasmania this time and would love to get hold of a copy of the book.

I hope you guys can help?
Thank you

Katie

Reply By: Member - Megan and Kevin D (AC - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 18:16

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 18:16
Hi Katie
Loved reading The Oz Run - and loved your photos. I think if the book you want is 4 WD Tracks in Tasmania, you can buy it through the shop associated with this (Exploroz) website. Select "Shop" from the blue bar at the top of the site, "Book" and search for "Tasmania".
Good luck with your planning. Let's know how the trip goes.
Megan
AnswerID: 455143

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 19:29

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 19:29
Katie what an excellent read & photos (love the composition). Black bikini and black bike helmet and boots, definitely a good look. LOL.

Well done. You'll need to direct us all to your Tassie trip blog when completed.

If you love winding roads Tas is the place to go. By the way if they flattened out Tas I reckon it would be bigger than the mainland. If the map says 10km read it as if it's 15Km.

Fantastic place been heaps of times and yet to see it all.

AnswerID: 455152

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 19:57

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 19:57
Enjoy your trip to Tassie girls, I enjoyed your blogs.
AnswerID: 455157

Reply By: mikehzz - Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 23:12

Sunday, May 22, 2011 at 23:12
Visiting Australia AND Tasmania....:-) The poor buggers get left off the map every now and then as well. Cheers Mike from Australia, not Tasmania :-)
AnswerID: 455178

Reply By: Katie E - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 01:25

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 01:25
Thank you for all the positive feedback guys!

The feature will also run in Trail Bike monthy a UK monthly publication.

The book is going to cost over $60 is it worth it? It seems alot of money?
AnswerID: 455185

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 12:28

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 12:28
Welcome to the book world of Australia. Unfortunately all books in Australia are expensive compared to the US and UK. The publishing world was divided up and the UK got Australia and unfortunatley highly inflated prices are the result. The sooner it is broken down the better and we will then have a cheaper access to books. It's similar to the regions for DVDs.

We bought three novels before heading to the US last year. Had we waited and bought them in the US we would have paid one third the price. We'd bought them on special here. If we had paid full price the savings in the US would have been even greater. The same seems to apply when we go to the UK.

It would seem that the author of the said book is a self publisher and unfortunately they will always be more expensive. If you think it is worthwhile and necessary then it is not expensive.

Enjoy your trip and have fun.

Di and Bruce
FollowupID: 728161

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 14:03

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 14:03
Put simply it is the best resource available, particularly if you are wishing to access remote places of interest.
FollowupID: 728167

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 18:09

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 18:09
Hi Katie.
I bought a copy of 4WD tracks in Tasmania: Off road Tasmania
for my recent 2 week trip to Tassi.
And i thought $38 AU was expensive.
But reality it will save you a lot of research time and looking for tracks and places to go of road unless you are a local or member of a 4wd club etc.
Certainly helped me find some interesting places with the limited time i had.
One thing to remember i found a few tracks either closed or over grown since publication,or impassable due to high water.
Reminds me must contact the author to update the info.
And if your coming through Sydney you can borrow my book.

Rob.
I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 728189

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Monday, May 23, 2011 at 11:42

Monday, May 23, 2011 at 11:42
Katie,
The Author of the book is a guy by the name of Chris Boden, book is published by Roving Land and Recreation Services
PO Box 30
ROSNY PARK 7018
TASMANIA
or roving@southcom.com.au
if you make contact i'm sure they would forward you a copy.
Baz
PS If you don't have any luck contact me and i'll get a copy and send to you.
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 455216

Reply By: Member - DereelGirl - Friday, May 27, 2011 at 19:03

Friday, May 27, 2011 at 19:03
Wow, what a read & I haven't even made it to the Nullabor. Makes me want to go out and get another bike and ride. Instead I'm heading off in 5 days time in style compared to you two gals and in the opposite direction. Have a great time in Tassie and I look forward to reading the next installment.

Cheers, (ex WIMA member)

Robyn
AnswerID: 455638