Green timber

Submitted: Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:06
ThreadID: 86537 Views:3377 Replies:13 FollowUps:30
It still amazes me how many people are still cutting down green trees at campgrounds and trying to get the timber to burn? They must think that any wood burns because derr it's wood? go figure.
We spent the last 4 days in the Snowy Mtns Trout fishing, and as soon as we rocked up to our campspot, there is half a ton of green tree sitting there that had been freshly cut. Unbelieveable.

cheers Unc

Reply By: petengail - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:21

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:21
I agree its complete idiocy. I cant imagine that there is not some decent dry downfall in the area, did a lot of trout fishing at Eucumbene in another lifetime, and was never short of firewood
AnswerID: 455427

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:29

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:29
Don't know if it's still happening, but on NSW coast, National Parks used to supply campers with green wood waste from local sawmills, nicely cut to a foot lengths. Would have been good if allowed to dry out for a year or two!

AnswerID: 455428

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 15:14

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 15:14
Hi John,
Yes it still happens but the last lot I used was at Apsley Falls nearly a year ago and it burnt alright so would not have been all that green, but nicely sawn, Looked too good to burn. LOL.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 728348

Reply By: Axle - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:46

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:46
Just Tip some diesel on it, and make a real smoke screen...lol. or petrol will light up your day, and everything else for ks around ..lol.

AnswerID: 455430

Reply By: vk1dx - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:54

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:54
I would also ask why is anything being cut down. Strange to just limit the thread to green timber. Or do some people think it's okay to cut dead wood down. I wonder?

AnswerID: 455433

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 16:28

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 16:28
Nothing wrong with cutting dead wood down.
It’s going to fall down and rot anyway.
FollowupID: 728351

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 16:47

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 16:47
Dennis

Maybe you are just being flippant but there are signs everywhere in the Snowy and Vic high country to say not to cut it down. You never know it may be the habitat of some rare or endangered animals.

But then again maybe you really do not care.

FollowupID: 728353

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 16:59

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 16:59
Umm Dennis,

Many animals depend on hollows in dead wood for shelter and nesting. People wonder why they don't often see animals out in the bush. Near well used camping areas its partly because the dead wood has been removed and their habitat is gone, so no animals.

Even when collecting wood from the ground it pays to check for critters before throwing a log on the fire - or preferably dont burn hollow timber.

There is a reason for those signs when approaching some national parks telling people not to collect firewood within the park.

Val

FollowupID: 728355

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:26

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:26
In the Warrumbungle Shire, the council has signs on all roads in, advising that the collection of fallen timber from the roadsides is illegal.

They are doing their bit to protect the habitat of all fauna, and flora, no matter how big or small.

Next time you're out in the bush, have a careful look around and under timber on the ground, and see what calls this environment home, without willy nilly burning it on a bonfire.

You can still have a decent campfire without creating a flamin' inferno, and burning every stick in sight, and whatever lives inside it, or on it.

Cheers all, Fred.
FollowupID: 728359

Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:36

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:36
I agree with Dennis to a point, The dead tree is going to come down eventually either in a wind or when its tottally eaten out with white ants, which makes it a dangerous thing anyway, As far as the bird nests and other critters, if you cut something down have a look first to see if there is anything visible ,if not no harm done, and besides the wood getting picked up off the ground by campers is from a dead tree that was standing originally!!, Can get to green with all this caper, common sense must prevail!.

FollowupID: 728361

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:42

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:42
Fair comments Axle, and that's the thing, common sense, which isn't all that common anymore.

Fred
FollowupID: 728362

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 19:17

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 19:17
I don’t carry a chain saw so I’m not going to be knocking down trees big enough to have hollows in them.
I don’t collect in areas where it’s forbidden - but dry mallee or similar which I can cut with an axe or hand saw is fair game.
In Perth WA I burn 4 tonne of Jarrah a year in a slow combustion heater.
This is purchased from a local wood supplier who collects it as dead timber –it’s all perfectly legal.
FollowupID: 728364

Follow Up By: Rosco in WA - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 19:30

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 19:30
Having "a look first" may be over simplistic. You may see nothing during the day, but at night the dead tree may be a habitat - maybe the occupier is inside the tree during the day and not visible. Maybe it is really small? Maybe the tree is used seasonally? We tend to put out own values on it - a dead tree to us is of little use - except to burn - but to native fauna it may be a vital part of their ecosystem.
I collect fallen wood to make my fire and have never had to cut a standing tree down - dead or alive. Not excessively "green" am I, but certainly can see what's right and wrong with respect to our impact on a site, both now and for the future.
What I am finding, worryingly, is far more widespread and severe damage lately since the advent of cheap and small chainsaws - even some of the most remote campsite vicinities have been decimated to neatly lopped stumps.
FollowupID: 728366

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 10:39

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 10:39
dont forget all the deadwood accumulates to make fuel for fires which is the purpose of fuel reduction burns
FollowupID: 728415

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 11:24

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 11:24
I go out of my way not to run over a snake or goanna - but where do you stop?
Peeling back the bark on a log before you burn it – to save the ants and cockroaches?
Come to Perth in autumn when CALM is doing a prescribed burn through the forests.
They’d be burnt in their billions - it’s like a drop in the ocean.
FollowupID: 728419

Follow Up By: Rosco in WA - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 11:35

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 11:35
I take your point Dennis, but I am talking about smaller, confined areas where people camp. Cut down all the standing trees and what sort of campsite do you have left? We've all been to the moonscape campsites in otherwise lovely settings out in the bush where every living thing seems to have been used in the fire. I still can't see why a standing tree, living or dead, needs to be cut down for a one-off fire.
FollowupID: 728424

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 12:08

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 12:08
I’ve looped Australia twice in a 4WD – from Perth to the tip of Cape York.
There are many authorities and councils around Australia that encourage fires by supplying wood piles or fire places at campsites – I have rarely encountered signs restricting fires using either standing or fallen dead timber.
FollowupID: 728432

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:59

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 13:59
Hi Unc

Yes there are still those brainless people out there. When we pulled into Eringa Waterhole last year, someone had taken a chainsaw to one on the River Red Gum that had low hanging branches. An yes on the fire pit was a very chard piece of timber that they could not get to burn.....I wonder why.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 455434

Follow Up By: Uncle-Laurie - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:16

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:16
Brainless yes , absolutely.! Maybe it could be something for either Ron Moon or Pat Callinan to touch on strongly on one of their shows?
Something I have not seen them do yet. Too much time spent on raving about products.

cheers Unc
FollowupID: 728358

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:33

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 18:33
G'day Stephen. I put those people in the same category as city shooters heading bush.

They have to get their new saw out and chop down timber willy nilly and their campfire is usually a disaster of lots of smoke and no fire.

Just like the shooters, who have to shoot up everything in sight, as soon as they leave the street lights of the big smoke behind.

Fred.
FollowupID: 728360

Follow Up By: muffin man - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 21:55

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 21:55
Yeh, Maybe Pat and Ron could do a story on chainsaws.
MM
FollowupID: 728373

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 23:43

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 23:43
.......city shooters heading bush........as they leave the street lights of the big smoke behind......

BIIIIIGGGGG generalisation there, Fred. Sounds like you have gripes about us poor useless city-folk.

Whilst I'm not a shooter and I do live in the city, I could equally tar everyone who lives in the bush as a dumb hick, couldn't I?

It would seem to me that there are plenty of knobs living in the bush as there are in the city!!!

FollowupID: 728382

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 03:30

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 03:30
I agree with Mark. City-dwellers don't have a monopoly on stupidity. Just check out all the drunk drivers going home from any get together in the bush, for example.

Lots of city folk don't understand life in the country, but the reverse is also true, so generalising probably isn't all that helpful.

FollowupID: 728387

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:54

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:54
"City-dwellers don't have a monopoly on stupidity"

Too right they don't, but I think they have the blueprint :-)))))))

FollowupID: 728468

Reply By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 15:47

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 15:47
Guess it will dry for future campers?

Happy camping - Phil
AnswerID: 455441

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 16:52

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 16:52
Green wood can take a year or two to dry out properly. Anything left at a campsite will probably end up on the fire long before it is dry enough to burn properly. It will just smoke without producing much in the way of heat.

Val.

FollowupID: 728354

Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 20:27

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 20:27
Well up here in NQ, where it rarely gets cold & we like to camp under trees, the bogans have this strange liking for cutting the trees down around where you camp. Too lazy to walk a hundred yards to play with their chainsaw or axe.
So over the years some of the popular campsites have lost a lot of trees & are no longer shadey.
Another bogan act, which I am sure is widespread, is to light your campfire against the stump of the biggest tree. This is another short sighted stunt.
Another one that gives me the sh--s is how you can end up with a camping spot covered in ash from every 2nd bogan having to light his campfire where no one else has. That I know is not isolated trait of the Northern Hairyback Subspecies.
AnswerID: 455468

Reply By: harlequin - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 20:31

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 20:31
to ban cutting down dead trees outright is a blanket generalized knee jerk reaction which we have too many of in todays world.
Better to learn all you can about the species you intend to harvest, here i can only remove free standing dead trees with only primary branches, not secondary tertiary or leaves. when i have sounded/ bored the tree to make sure it is dry rot and termite free these are what crate the hollows for future homes.
Able to freely and easily remove all bark, full of huntsmens,centrpedes, beetles and snakes.
then cut from the outer branches back making sure there is not rot/hollows
be conscientious for the benefit of all. andy
AnswerID: 455469

Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 22:57

Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 22:57
Unc,
we have simply out grown the planet and we will pay the price, I am not a fatalist, just a realist. 2 many people and not enough nature to support us. We are on a march (trot) (run) (gallop) to destruction.

Val, is correct when she states that all is well in nature wether it be the white ant, the dead hollow log or the red gum, they are all part of the eco system.

I am not a Green and have pulled more trees than I care to admit to, but I am a realist and have watched the changes over the years.

We cut green bulloak and belah for our fires because they burnt slowly.

Have a good one

RA.

AnswerID: 455481

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 07:08

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 07:08
Hi Unc,

I agree with Rock ape, Too many people in Australia and the world. If we were an animal, we'd need to cull.

I use my chainsaw to cut a tree down but it has to be dead but most of the time I'm camping on private land so there isn't the pressure from other campers and there is heaps of dead laying wood.

I have found on occasions the I camp on reserves that there is very few fallen branches around.

The desire that Australia has to continually increase our population is stupid. We will eventually end up like the rest of the world crowded and crap.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 455501

Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 10:03

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 10:03
Wilko,

Perhaps you don't realise this, but to a large extent, Australia's economy is reliant on population growth. Without it you and many people would be out of a job.
FollowupID: 728411

Follow Up By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 12:01

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 12:01
Hi Rob,

Some times I'd rather be out of a job and still have the freedoms we once had. One day they'll try to ban campfires, then camping, then having a good time. Australia Economy is reliant on Mining (till the government and greens kill it). If the worlds population leveled off, our mines and economy would still be strong.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 728429

Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 12:05

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 12:05
..ummm OK.
FollowupID: 728430

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 14:29

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 14:29
Wilko,

Sorry mate but I'm gonna have to pick a bone with you on this one.

"Leveling off" the population and expecting the economy to still be strong is pure nonsense. Any demographer would know that.

Our modern secular media always tries to con people into thinking that the world is over populated and that the economy will suffer as a result. Well, the answer is poor, perhaps corrupt, government and mismanagement - not population.

But it's thanks to the growing population in other countries (that still have a future) that the economy is getting stronger.

For example, in some parts of Africa (where many claim that it is over-populated) the economy is supported by its large, youthful workforce and thus ensures the future for all generations. The older residents don't have a formal 'pension scheme', but are supported by their large families. And just before you pay out and say, "why are some parts of Africa so poor, then?" the answer to this is corrupt government and vested interest by western powers.

However, the Western world is being crippled by an ever aging population, with fewer youth to provide care. Birthrates are below the replacement level, thus resulting in a demographic 'winter' that looms over certain countries.

Because many of us are so spoilt in western society, even slight 'inconveniences' become intolerable. You just take a look at many young people in our own country, and you'll know what I mean. Hence euthanasia and birth control (strongly backed by the Greens) become the apparent answer, only leading into further trouble.

Just remember, if we don't have respect for human life at any of it's many stages, then the economy is not relevant because nothing is more important than a human being.

Tim.
FollowupID: 728443

Reply By: Member - nick b - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 07:30

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 07:30
I think the forum might need a soap box but the only problem is that its made out of "WOOD" !!!!!!

Cheers Nick

AnswerID: 455503

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 08:05

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 08:05
Why wood you want a fire anyway? I've been camping for years and never had a fire. If I feel a bit chilly I put on an extra coat. Although I am not a greeny I believe in leaving the enviorment as you found it. Even dead trees have their place in the ecological system. Perhaps if those people who light fires were to have to pay a carbon tax they would not be so keen.
Perhaps it is about time we licensed chain saws??????
AnswerID: 455507

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 11:33

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 11:33
I’ve looped Australia twice in a 4WD – from Perth to the tip of Cape York.
There are many council supplied wood piles or fire places around Australia – I have rarely encountered signs restricting burning dead wood.
It’s legal, so if it offends you – stay away from places that allow it or encourage it.
FollowupID: 728422

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 14:24

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 14:24
Dennis, in NSW sawmill off-cuts are often provided to try to discourage people from collecting wood from the bush. Unfortunately the tactic often backfires as the supplied wood is green - so people go into the bush to get some wood so they can have a fire. Plus some people get the message that green wood is OK for firewood.

It is not unusual when approaching NPs for there to be signs advising campers to collect firewood before they enter the park. And FWIW landholders in NSW are not supposed to cut down even a dead tree without permission.

Ray I respect your views about not having a fire, although I would not try to emulate you. For one thing wood is a renewable energy source. Also the amount of energy in wood that we use in a small fire would be very small compared to the energy required (via petrol/diesel) to get to a lot of the camping areas that we visit.

(But I dont really accept other's argument that "I might as well burn it because it will rot anyway" because burning happens quickly while rotting takes quite a while.)

Also one of the things that I really enjoy about camping is having a fire - BUT we only ever have a small fire. We also use wood for home heating.

Its annoying to see people having a huge blaze then having to sit way back from it because its too hot to be close! Then throwing on any available wood at the end of the evening - why not leave unused wood for the next person?

As with most things a bit of of moderation and common sense goes a long way. We don't need to deny ourselves some small comforts. But we don"t need to overdo them either "just because we can".

Val

FollowupID: 728442

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 15:28

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 15:28
Hi Val - The places I get don’t have saw mills and its bush timber that’s used in the outback and northwest of Australia. I guess you get more civilized services around NSW - probably paid for by all that GST we send your way :-)
FollowupID: 728447

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:51

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:51
Gotta agree with that Val. Good comments.

Dennis, keep sending that GST mate LOL NSW needs all it can get :-)))
FollowupID: 728466

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 09:54

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 09:54
If people think stubbies will burn, why wouldn't they think green wood will burn?
AnswerID: 455514

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:49

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:49
Love it love it love it :-))))))))
FollowupID: 728465

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:58

Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 17:58
Yes, sadly that sums it up very nicely as far as some are concerned.

Val.

FollowupID: 728471