D22 Navara power

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 15:34
ThreadID: 86816 Views:5326 Replies:4 FollowUps:3

i'm looking for the best way to extract a few more horses from my 3.0l TD D22.

i'm carrying a custom made set of drawers under the canopy in the back and have just up sized the tyres slightly and obviously this has slowed it down a bit. once the camper is hooked on and loaded up i suspect it will be a significant change.

Just after ideas and experiences regarding diesel chips vs exhaust mods vs tuning vs anything else there is out there that might bring my available power back up without hurting the fuel economy too much.

thanks heaps!

Jackson

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 16:13

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 16:13
Jackson

gday mate, i recently fitted out my 3.0ltr D22 with a 3inch dump pipe and exhaust.the increased torque was instantly noticeable as now the turbo spools up alot quicker giving you more power from idle.

my navara was fitted out with a Hurricane brand exhaust and i am very happy i spend the $1300 to fit it.

cheers.
AnswerID: 456694

Follow Up By: Jacko84 - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 18:55

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 18:55
And gave it a nice note as well I'd assume!
FollowupID: 729806

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 19:03

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 19:03
Jackson

i thought that it would mate but it sounds entirely stock. unless you looked at the bigger diameter pipe you wouldn't even know.
FollowupID: 729809

Reply By: toohey - Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 17:53

Tuesday, Jun 07, 2011 at 17:53
g'day jacko
dtronic chip from arb BIG improvement.
cheers toohey
AnswerID: 456706

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 05:25

Wednesday, Jun 08, 2011 at 05:25
Jackson

I fitted a 2 1/2" exhaust to ours, when I had one, but wish I had done it in 3", and a 3" dump pipe.......but $$$$'s stopped me.
That and a real dyno tune.. ( dunno what they did, but wow , the difference )

I believe a Dtronic chip is the way to go as well, Again I did not do this, for the $$$$$.

Towing, and the tub really loaded up, I got 6.5km/lt.....
Rest of the time I got 9.5km/lt.....

AnswerID: 456749

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Jun 09, 2011 at 17:32

Thursday, Jun 09, 2011 at 17:32
Might be worth a visit to the Navara D22 Forum - these guys have been running a variety of chips and configurations for some years now.
AnswerID: 456898

Follow Up By: Jacko84 - Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 12:57

Friday, Jun 10, 2011 at 12:57
cheers, will check it out!
FollowupID: 730080