Arkaroola Ridge Top Tour

Submitted: Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 16:52
ThreadID: 86946 Views:4318 Replies:10 FollowUps:24
Did the Ridge Top tour at Arkaroola as it seems to be a 'rite of passage' when you are there.
But, is it me or should the driver of the LC 'bus' (11 on board), have used Low Range going down the steep slopes? I can understand that the V8 has enough grunt to climb in High Range, but the slipping and sliding of the wheels being held by the brakes made me a little apprehensive. The tires didn't have lugs on the outside of the tread either, just a round section. No idea of the brand. Maybe the lugs wore off!

The slopes you climb on this tour are about 1 in 10 (guessing) with entry and exit points rutted - like the rest of the track. We saw several other vehicles (the same type) on the track and they were also locking up wheels under brakes so it must be a policy thing.

Damn dangerous in my book.

Bill B

Reply By: Rangiephil - Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 16:59

Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 16:59
It was so easy that the old 1HZ ute that I went up in was not put in low range on the way up.
So it was not that steep. While I understand that the resort likes to reserve it for themselves to make money, it is in no way a difficult trip.
I was left underwhelmed by the "adventure" of it, but the view was nice.
Maybe the truck climbed well because everyone's wallets were so light.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 457290

Reply By: Member - Kevin S (QLD) - Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 18:04

Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 18:04
I think high range a policy thing. And I think keeping the track to themselves is largely a safety issue so that there is no other traffic in potentially dangerous tracks.

I can understand some experienced 4X4 drivers being a bit blaze but a substantial proportion of their customers do not fall into that category. I thought it was an outstanding experience and good value.

Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

AnswerID: 457301

Reply By: Madfisher - Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 18:52

Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 18:52
1 in 10 is not very steep, and I would think h range 4wd in 2nd would be ok. Just for interest sake the climb up to the cutting on Mt Panorama is 1 in 8. One of my old warm holdens could accerate up it in top gear.
AnswerID: 457305

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 19:51

Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 19:51
When I did that tour some years ago, Doug Sprigg was the driver and he likes to took you in the face as he tells you about the place - can't say he looked at the track all that much because his head was turned around talking to us non-stop!!

Great tour and worth every cent. Can't remember any issues about what the gearing and braking but I guess those guys know those tracks better than we could imagine. Don't need chunky tyres in the Flinders - they used to use Dueller 604V on splits.
AnswerID: 457318

Reply By: Member - Josh- Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 21:05

Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 21:05
We did that tour when we were up there. I remember the vehicle slipping as you say and thought they were doing it on purpose to make it more exciting. We never felt unsafe. It was actually our wedding anniversary when we went, was magic. A great place to visit.

Josh
AnswerID: 457329

Follow Up By: Rose B - Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 22:39

Monday, Jun 13, 2011 at 22:39
Hi there - just wondering if this Ridge Top Tour is like the Skytrek at Willow Springs in the Flinders Ranges. Any one been on the 4WD Skytrek - costs about $75. Is it worth the money?? Also have to ask is there a mice plague at the moment?? Leaving in two weeks from Melbourne via Flinders Ranges, Lake Eyre and heading to the Centre for 3 weeks - can't wait but not sure about the mice!!
Any feedback would be much appreciated.
Rose
FollowupID: 730471

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:04

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:04
G'day Rose, another thumbs up for Skytrek from me. Has got a bit dearer since we
went but still worth it. Not difficult but steep in some parts. You had to have low range to be allowed on it then, but that may have changed with the proliferation of
single range softroaders. Go early,take some tucker & your camera..its a great day
out....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 730506

Follow Up By: Rose B - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:40

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:40
Thanks Oldbaz
Look forward to the Skytrek. Just wondering though about travelling with a 4WD and towing a trailer that is not off-road but a caged one do we need mud guards? Keep seeing stuff about the back window damage from stones? Could you explain this for me?
Thanks so much
Rose
FollowupID: 730510

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:03

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:03
Hi Rose, I assume you refer to some form of stoneguard, & the answer is yes. Start
with a decent set of mud flaps on the rear of the vehicle. You may then add some
form of stoneguard to the front of your trailer. Some are made from a light metal
frame with shade cloth attached..this is attached across the A frame & angled forward to deflect stuff downward. Others ,including me, use a horizontal frame with
shadecloth, laid flat on the A frame & taken forward to the tow hitch, with the corners
angled to allow turning the vehicle. Some commercial types can be purchased as well.
cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 730515

Follow Up By: Rose B - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:09

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:09
Thanks Oldbaz - will pass this info onto the hubby....don't think I'll get involved with this stuff!!!
Cheers Rose
FollowupID: 730518

Follow Up By: wendys - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 16:19

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 16:19
Skytrek is excellent. We did it as a self drive. Would do the Ridge Top as a self drive, too, if it was allowed - but would definitely be using low range going down those gradients. The couple of times we've been on the Ridge Top Tour, didn't really notice what they were using. Never felt unsafe, anyway.
FollowupID: 730556

Follow Up By: youngharry52 - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 12:59

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 12:59
Another thumbs up for Skytrek. What a great day out. Low range was mainly for the downhill bits....

FollowupID: 730663

Reply By: Member - Bill B1 (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 08:52

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 08:52
Have since been informed the track in most uphill places (going to) is more like 1 in 3. The bulldozer had just been through so the surface was very rough and ready.

My main concern was the going down these steep sections on brakes. I thought that was a definite no-no for 4WD drivers.
Bill B

AnswerID: 457358

Follow Up By: Great Divide Tours - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 09:15

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 09:15
Hi Bill
I'm glad someone else shares my view that their use of high range is a bit suspect. I asked why during my visit and it was company policy to use high range because using low range led to more maintenance costs apparently. So IMHO cost was put ahead of safety. I am a little experienced in off road driving and training and I felt uncomfortable in the back of the Cruiser as we not only slipped down hills but scrabbled for traction on 1:3 climbs on loose rock. Their tyre wear must be huge given the punishment.
In regard to Sky Trek, definitely worth the money as are most of the other private/fee access tracks in the Flinders, some do require an experienced driver though.
Vic Widman
FollowupID: 730491

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:18

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:18
I have often wondered how the Arkaroola and Skytrek tracks compare next to something like Mt Gibbo and Pinnibar tracks. I have not seen either of them. But I have been up in the Vic high country plenty of times. And getting a bit sick of damaging the car. (lifted 100 series).

How do they compare Bill? Or are they just a steep dirt road?

FollowupID: 730508

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:20

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:20
I was directing that response to Vic.

Not Bill.

Sri
FollowupID: 730509

Follow Up By: Great Divide Tours - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:40

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:40
I often say 7 days in the high country is one of the best 4wd trips from a scenery, 4wdriving and camping experience (is there anything else?) point of view. Having spent 7+ days in the Flinders ranges doing as many of the private tracks I could fit in I now say, the Flinders is on par with the High Country for scenery, 4WDriving and camping (albeit on dry creeks as opposed to wet ones). Skytrek on the first drive over it is as good as Pinnibar/Gibbo in terms of scenery and 4Wdriving. The Mt Samuel private track is the piece de resistance (my French is hopeless-sorry) the notes say only do this track if you don't mind damage to your 4wd, we didn't damage anything but it was one of those tracks that had me jumping in and out of the Cruiser to check my clearances on sides, under, front and rear, good fun and very rewarding if done right.
FollowupID: 730511

Follow Up By: Rose B - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:00

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:00
Very informative Great Divide Tours - sounds like we will have to spend more time in the Flinders Ranges exploring and 4WDriving but for the time being only can manage a drive through on the way to Lake Eyre - will stop at Wilpena Pound from Mildura and then do the Skytrek next day, then continue on to Lake Eyre... willl give us a taste of the Flinders Ranges and 4Wdrving. You seem to know the Flinders quite well - do you recommend Wilpena Pound as a place to stay two nights or any other recommendations... can't be too off road as we are really just passing through.
Cheers Rose
FollowupID: 730513

Follow Up By: Great Divide Tours - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:25

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:25
Hi Rose
I would recommend camping at Rawnsley Park which you pass on your left as you drive towards Wilpena Pound. Ask for the bush camps which are just half a k past the official camp ground, more space and a great view across to Rawnsley Bluff, part of Wilpena Pound, take in your own firewood if you want a camp fire, you can probably purchase bags of it in Hawker. From here the road is sealed these days all the way to Wilpena Pound and up towards Willow Springs and Skytrek, you need a full 6 hours to drive Skytrek and don't be afraid of heights or low range, check out Phantom Rock too at the end of Skytrek, it will be on the mud map you get when you pay your fee. Sorry, I'm raving on, there is sooo much to see in the Flinders (and Australia). To see Lake Eyre properly you need to take the plane flights out of William Creek, getting pricey now but still worth it. Better than Marree flights IMHO.
FollowupID: 730523

Follow Up By: Great Divide Tours - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:25

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:25
Hi Rose
I would recommend camping at Rawnsley Park which you pass on your left as you drive towards Wilpena Pound. Ask for the bush camps which are just half a k past the official camp ground, more space and a great view across to Rawnsley Bluff, part of Wilpena Pound, take in your own firewood if you want a camp fire, you can probably purchase bags of it in Hawker. From here the road is sealed these days all the way to Wilpena Pound and up towards Willow Springs and Skytrek, you need a full 6 hours to drive Skytrek and don't be afraid of heights or low range, check out Phantom Rock too at the end of Skytrek, it will be on the mud map you get when you pay your fee. Sorry, I'm raving on, there is sooo much to see in the Flinders (and Australia). To see Lake Eyre properly you need to take the plane flights out of William Creek, getting pricey now but still worth it. Better than Marree flights IMHO.
Vic Widman
FollowupID: 730524

Follow Up By: Rose B - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:48

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:48
Thanks for the info Vic
Just wondering as far as Rawnsley Park what are the pros of camping there compared to the Wilpena Pound Resort. Also will be staying two nights as one night will be when we have just arrived from Mildura and the other day the Skytrek then gone the next day through Flinders just for a look. Do you know how far Skytrek is from Rawnsley Park as that will definitely be a full day out....Understand your raving as I am so excited at the moment and i am just packing - (for five of us there is heaps of gear!!!)
The countdown is on 12 more sleeps!!!
Rose
FollowupID: 730527

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 13:04

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 13:04
Vic

We took a quick drive (no time even for camping) from Canberra to Lake Eyre and home at Easter.

On the way home we swung east through Parachilna Gorge for a look down the eastern side of Wilpena pound. No time for stopping as you could imagine.The Gorge was dry, dusty and no big deal - sorry guys but that's what we saw. Thus our image of the Flinders was "no big deal". We were sure that we had misssed something and the response above said that we should go back.

Pity that they are private though. That could add some load on the pension that we could do without. But we are after the views. And we did see some on a short video on the SkyTrek drive.

We will go back one day.

FollowupID: 730530

Follow Up By: Great Divide Tours - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 13:55

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 13:55
Rose, I just think that the bush camps at Rawnsley are more likeable than the green manicured grass and "you shall camp there" regime that you get in a formal camp site such as Wilpena, also, Rawnsley park was foremost a sheep station that has made tourism a big part of their business whereas Wilpena is basically a big tourism operation owned by who knows whom?

Phil, a drive through the Flinders when it is in flower is one of the most stunning sights ever, it was brilliant at the end of September last year, at other times, yes its just a pretty drive. You definitely have to pay your entry fees to do all the best bits on the private sheep stations, well worth the money, once you have done it I'm sure you will agree. For me to put it in the same category as the High Country is a big call.
Vic Widman
FollowupID: 730535

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:10

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:10
Vic

Thanks for the hint. That is a bad time of year for us.

FollowupID: 730539

Follow Up By: Rose B - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:36

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:36
Thanks for the insight Vic - sounds like the place to go is Rawnsley - we like sheep!!! - how far is it to the Skytrek?
Rose
FollowupID: 730544

Follow Up By: Great Divide Tours - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:45

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:45
Sorry Rose, forgot to answer that question before, say about 30 mins drive without stops for sightseeing, maybe even less now they have sealed most of the road. Its only about 35k's by road. You need to be at Willow Springs no later than say 9am to give your self sufficient time to do the whole trek and sight seeing along the way.
Vic Widman
FollowupID: 730546

Follow Up By: Rose B - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 15:11

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 15:11
Awesome - just spoke to Wendy at Rawnsley Station - sounds great. I think it's going to be hard to keep moving on when every where we go there is so much to see....

Thanks for again for your help and insight.
Rose
FollowupID: 730549

Follow Up By: youngharry52 - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 13:09

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 13:09
Hi Rose,

Best to ring Willow Springs maybe 2 days before planning to drive it just to be sure it's open and not booked out.

FollowupID: 730666

Follow Up By: Rose B - Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 17:47

Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 17:47
Thanks for the advise - didn't ever think it would be booked out!! As we know exactly when we are getting to the Flinders I will book this week.... just to make sure.... Have you driven the Skytrek yourself? If so what's it like??

Thanks again...

Rose
FollowupID: 730712

Follow Up By: youngharry52 - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 08:32

Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 08:32
Yes we drove it last September. Absolutely loved it. Like being on top of the world. We took our time and enjoyed every minute. took the whole day. Low range is good for the downhill bits. Shouldn't have any trouble getting in, booking is just a precaution.

FollowupID: 730750

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:17

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 11:17
I must agree with guru Vic above. Skidding downhill on the brakes doesnt sound like
the safest option to me, & doesnt appear to be the cheapest either. Wear & stress on
tyres, brakes, axles etc must count eventually. Maybe done to make the journey seem
more exiting than it needs to be, or saving time. I find the higher revs,lower speed ,better engine braking & control of low range makes the difficult stuff more
enjoyable & less stressful on man & machine....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 457375

Reply By: mudbro2 - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:14

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:14
When we did the Ridgetop tour the driver told us that they only need low range for the last climb to Sillers Lookout, and they only get about 7k out of a set of tyres. As for the Flinders Ranges, last time we did Skytrek we camped on the station (willow springs) and from memory you get a discount for the track for guests. The road from Wilpena Pound to Blinman is Bitumen all the way. Most of the stations offer camping with some facilities and are cheaper and less crouded. Phil.
AnswerID: 457396

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 15:24

Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 15:24
I asked the driver why he did the climb in high range and he replied that they were blowing too many transfer cases when they were using low range. He did however did the descent in high first gear and did not rely solely on brakes.

AnswerID: 457402

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Saturday, Jun 18, 2011 at 20:09

Saturday, Jun 18, 2011 at 20:09
Image Could Not Be FoundCamped in Parachilna Gorge last week end for 2 nights and did'nt see a Mouse.have fun cheers GD
AnswerID: 457831