Phil100
Has anyone been down the Darling from
Wilcannia to
Menindee before in a boat. Currently planning a trip in september to take advantage of the flows for our group with 3 tinnies. I've been on trips upon different sections along there, but never done the full distance in one hit. Just wondering if anyone here has done this before, and if anyone has done an extended camping trip (4 days) out of a tinnie before and has some tips,
Thanks in advance
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 04:09
Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 04:09
G'day Phil...Have a look at
This Archived Thread
Sounds like my kind of camping trip mate.
I reckon just go and do it and deal with any obstacles as they present themselves, and that's what makes for a great adventure.
Good luck with it all. Wish it was me.
Fred.
Reply By: rags - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 09:45
Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 09:45
If you can find a copy of the ABC DVD 2 men and a tinny from a few years ago, it may be worth watchng,as this is about a journey via tinny from QLD down the
Darling river and then back up to start of
Murray river which they then follow down to river mouth in SA.
It feature
John Doyle [Roy and HG] and our new govt climate change Carbon Dioxide expert Tim Flannery [whiich could make it hard to watch these days depending on your
views]
Reply By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:38
Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 12:38
The Leyland Brothers did it before their West East crossing. They wrote a book on it called Great Ugly River
Fab..
Reply By: Marny - Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:18
Tuesday, Jun 14, 2011 at 14:18
My grandfather and uncle did that trip about 20 years ago and they had a ball. Do it on a fresh flow and you should be right