2008 d22 navara single cab - smoking

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 15, 2011 at 13:22
ThreadID: 87003 Views:2866 Replies:3 FollowUps:0

A mate of mine has a 2008 dx navara 4x4 ute 2.5CR diesel. It seems to drive pretty well and goes well offroad. However, he is concerned about puffs of blackish smoke that come out of the exhaust when he is changing gears or taking off. It's not like it leaves a huge cloud behind him, but it is certainly noticeable. There is no coughing in the engine or anything. I think it's only done like 70K km's

The nissan people (including their service people) have told him this is standard with the D22 2.5cr engine, and the D40's do it as well. Apparently, they are just releasing carbon that is coming out of the engine when the accelerator is down...

I was just wondering whether anyone who has one of these utes has had this problem before and how they solved it/whether it is just 'standard'. He's heading on a trip with me soon and was just concerned that something might go wrong.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Zook

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 05:56

Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 05:56
Zook
Get your mate to put it on a Dyno, at a Diesel specialist.

AnswerID: 457574

Reply By: Dasmeg - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 07:22

Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 07:22
Mate, no need to chuck it on a dyno, all d22 2.5cr blow a bit of smoke during acceleration or changing gears, it has to do with the egr valve, i have a 08 d22 and it did this, if you go to the navara asia forum there is heaps of info on alleviating this

Dasmeg
AnswerID: 457580

Reply By: zook - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 11:01

Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 11:01
Thanks guys

He doesn't have internet so its a bit hard (hence my asking).

I have also noticed that the d22s and d40's I have seen have a tendency to smoke a bit. It just seems funny given the age of the utes.

I have had a quick check on the navara forum and they seem to say its ECU issues, so i'll pass that on.

Seems to me that it is just the way it is and he should have no worries in remote areas.

zook
AnswerID: 457603