cold starting the ol 60
Submitted: Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 21:41
Member - pilbara60 (WA)
evening all , having a bit of problem with the ol'60 series . the ol girl is so hard to start of a morning its getting beyond a joke . have replaced glow plugs , power supply rail but that got me through last cool period . the glow plug light in the cab only stays on for a few seconds (5 seconds at best) . have been told yesterday that there is glow plugs on the air intake manifold that are commonly forgotten about when doing plugs and maybe i should put glow light on a manual switch so i control the time. any thoughts ? i am still thinking of rebuilding the motor later in the year but i want to take the 60 to
alice springs in the next few weeks . cheers in advance wayne
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:02
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:02
I put a manual glow plug switch on little Wes's rocky and it worked
well. Just bypass the relay.
Make sure the switch is a push button so it goes off when let go.
Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:05
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:05
G'day
Pilbara 60, have you got a workshop manual?
There are a few things to
check going by the manual.
I can send you a copy of a few pages if you like.
Maybe MM me with your email addy.
Follow Up By: Member - pilbara60 (WA) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:13
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:13
have a gregorys manual so if you can point in the right direction would be muchly apreciated
Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:24
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:24
I guess you have read page 92. There isn't too much there though.
I can email you a lot more detail from the genuine manual if you like.
Follow Up By: Member - pilbara60 (WA) - Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:31
Thursday, Jun 16, 2011 at 22:31
cheers dave b , will mm my email address to you. i will do almost anything to keep the ol girl on the road . seems a shame to just junk the old girl cause shes getting a bit long in the tooth cheers wayne
Reply By: B1B2 - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 08:18
Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 08:18
pilbara 60,
in the 80 series the glow plugs are still on for some time after the gp light goes off. you can
check for current on the rail if you have a dc ammeter tong tester. is your battery spinning the engine at the same speed as before, how is the voltage?
a compression
test would give you some good info if all above is ok. does it start ok when it is hot? lots to systematically go through before thinking of a rebuild.
cheers,
bill
Reply By: Shaver - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 10:48
Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 10:48
My 60 Sahara was doing the same with the light going off after a couple of seconds & not starting. Disregard this & wait untill you hear the Relay go clunk after the light goes out which is about another 10 seconds. It should start immediately.
Follow Up By: Member - C J- Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 13:47
Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 13:47
My 60 was doing the same thing and I did what you have said. That helped alot I then added a 2nd battery and that solved the problem completly,also soldered the bars together leading up to the glow plugs as they used to burn through when glow plugs where heated longer than normal. After doing this I never had a starting problem again.
Follow Up By: ob - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 17:21
Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 17:21
Looks like Mr Toyota didn't change things much with the 1HZ engines either.
I thought my old ute was dying too. Then I found out that just because the light in the cab was going out didn't mean the glow plugs stopped. All I do is count to about 5 or 6 after the light goes out before cranking the engine. It fires up no worries after that
ob
Reply By: PeterInSa - Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 17:22
Friday, Jun 17, 2011 at 17:22
Had a similar problem in cold
canberra, a fellow traveller suggested could be a problem with the glow plug timer, he suggested that when the glow plug light goes out, turn off and try again, do this 3 or 4 times prior to starting, I inderstand that this technioque gives more current to the glow plugs to heat up more and give a good start.