Submitted: Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 11:18
Member - Michael & Jill
Hi all, I'm about to make a battery bank for my
camp trailer & would like any advice before I start cutting the cable in case in I've got it wrong.
I have 4 new 65a/h AGM batteries & I will connect them parallel using 140 amp 6 B&S 13.2mm2 cable with 6 B&S lugs to give me a 260a/h 12v bank.
Is this heavy enough cable?
I will charge my bank with a 100w & 120w 12v solar panels kits.
Can you use 2 separate solar system with 2 lines going into bank?
I have calculated I will use about 80a/h a day.
Is this enough
solar power to keep up with my daily usage under mainly fine weather?
I have another 120a/h AGM battery battery that I was going to use in the bank but after advise from other ExplorOz
forum users about mixing different a/h sizes have decided to use as a back up battery if bad weather affects the amount of
solar power input.
With the power system I have gone through above (weather permitting) do you think I could leave the generator & fuel tank at
home for the next 3 week
bush camping trip?
Any info & first hand knowledge greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Michael.
Reply By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 12:16
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 12:16
Hello Michael,
your 6B&S wire is more than adequate.
Your solar panels are good for about 50Ah per day, so you have to find an extra 30Ah to satisfy your daily load requirement.
Yes you can use two solar systems (panel plus regulator) working on the same battery bank.
Yes you can leave gennie at
home, if you're going to use the alternator to charge your batteries for 30 minutes every morning. Less if it's a sunny day, more if it's overcast.
Check the battery voltage at 2 pm by which time it should have reached 14.4V.
If not, increase the alternator bulk charging incrementally (say in 10 minute steps) every morning until you hit this voltage/time window.
cheers, Peter
Follow Up By: Member - Michael & Jill - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 14:12
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 14:12
Thanks Peter for your advice, I will start on it today. I had the 100w panel on my 120a/h battery but found I was under 50% by the 3rd day & don't like going under 50%. I thought the panel may have been putting back 40a/h on a good day.
With the bigger bank & adding another 120w system to it I was hoping to to get 90a/h on a good day to keep in front of my daily usage & use the back up battery on rainy days. I will take your advice & run a cable from the alternator to the bank if I'm going backwards in supply.
Cheers Michael.
Follow Up By: Battery Value Pty Ltd - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 14:30
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 14:30
You're welcome Michael,
it looks like adding the second 120W system will probably just be adequate (although nowhere near a combined 90Ah per day).
Either way, yes by all means provide a charging cable (fused at both ends of the positive leg) from the alternator to the bank, and also wire an isolation switch in series.
That way you have your alternator supplying the bulk charge, and your solar gear supplies the higher absorption voltage for full charge.
cheers, Peter
Reply By: CSeaJay - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 13:17
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 13:17
Michael
Without going into calculating daily usage and all that, wow you have heaps of batteries!
We (family of 5) can
camp for a week with only two AGM batteries in the CT, and 120W solar. And yes we do have high power usage as we have an 80l weaco which we use as fridge/freezer. with five people opening it regularly.
Mate you have many batteries but only at 65Ah. Pity you couldn't upgrade those to a 90Ah or higher, then youd be laughing
But surely if you are wise on power (packing in new drinks into the fridge in the morning when the drinks are already cooler, etc) and having that "spare"connected to your alternator for when you take a sightsee drive, surely you'd be fine.
Avoid the generator, all that extra weight and carrying petrol specially if you have a diesel car.
Michael you are silent on having a duel battery setup in your car; If you don't then this would be my very first step; It also then provides an alternative battery source to connect lights onto so you don't put all the load onto the CT bank
CJ
Follow Up By: Member - Michael & Jill - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 14:49
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 14:49
G'day CJ, I was going to increase my bank by adding another 120a/h to it but instead of paying $350 for it, my battery supplier had a special on 65a/h for $85 each.
I was able to 4 of these & have a bigger bank for around the same price & keep my 120a/h as a spare.
I will put a duel system in using my spare but I may up grade my 9 year old 4wd shortly & don't wish to pay for cable & other items unnecessarily.
Cheers, Michael.
Reply By: Witi Repartee - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 13:51
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 13:51
Crikey..how did we ever survive on a single 120a battery and two 60 watt solar panels for two years? It's not for me to tell you how to travel or what to leave
home..but make sure you do turn off all the lights and electronic comforts of
home you are carrying and just enjoy the night time outback ambiance and stars and silence.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael & Jill - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 15:39
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 15:39
When I
camp on my own all I require is the fridge to keep my beer icy cold & food from going off & a light for an hour a day. This would use about 20 to 25 a/h a day but I enjoy my wife coming with me & my wife enjoys camping with some of the comforts of
home. This is how I balance 26 years of happy.
What I would like to know is how you travelled for 2 years if this was your only power source. Please let me more & we may be able to use some of your advise as that is what I was seeking. We enjoy
bush camping where there is no other power source & like to go on 2 to 3 week trips at a time & are trying to dump the generator & turn the petrol jerry can to diesel for my 4wd.
Cheers, Michael.
Reply By: Witi Repartee - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 18:20
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 18:20
Michael, the longest stretch we did with out an external power supply/top up was 20 consecutive days and regularly did 14/15 days bush.Used gas for cooking, showering, etc.
Our system ran lights, TV, inverter, 2 laptops, phones etc....and we had normal kitchen appliances and other luxuries including aircon etc and the obligatory hair dryer !! for when we were in powered campsites. We just didn't see the need to run all these all the time...after all one of the points of camping is to get away from civilization and it's mod cons and enjoy a simpler lifestyle. Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Michael & Jill - Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 20:34
Sunday, Jun 26, 2011 at 20:34
Thanks for your
feedback. What you achieved for 20 days is outstanding & will drive me to look at other areas where we are wasting power.
Cheers, Michael.
Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Jun 27, 2011 at 08:20
Monday, Jun 27, 2011 at 08:20
Michael,
All sounds good to me. Lots of storage and lots of solar, good heavy wiring.
I'd query your 80 Ah per day calculation though. We don't use more than about half that. The fridge is the big load, and accounts for about 2/3 of daily demand. We don't stint on lighting (halogen), laptop, charging torch etc batteries. If you are running a big fridge, or running it as a freezer, or 2 fridges then you would obviously use more than we do, but I doubt that you would get up to 80 Ah even then.
I think I'd leave the gennie at
home but carry a few metres of 6 B&S (or 8B&S if it's not too long) twin cable to temporarily link your battery bank in parallel with the cranking battery, as Peter suggests, for a while if the sun doesn't shine enough. Much easier to use the generator that's under the bonnet than to carry a separate one!
John | J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |