Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 28, 2011 at 15:32
jdh
After a year in the planning we find that the
park is closed (perhaps). We have tried ringing various Shire councils and get conflicting reports, reports contrary to the NP one.
Has anyone recently traveled that way and is access possible?
The Diamantina engineer cautiously indicated that the road from Davenport Downs to the
park centre was done but some area were still quite rough.
We dont really care what pathway there might be but this being the second attempt at getting there any access is better than none.
Forever hopeful John
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2011 at 17:41
Tuesday, Jun 28, 2011 at 17:41
G'day John, we went there last year about this time & were a bit underwhelmed with
the place. Stayed at the largest
waterhole..name escapes me. About 1.5k long by
200m. I fished without success..lost a very large something..catty maybe. Had to stand in knee deep mud to access the
water.
Camping is on the treeless flat about
70m from
water with no hope of
camping any closer. One long drop dunny & a box to
put your money in. We accessed from the south & exited to the Boulia/
Winton Rd west of Middleton. Roads were quite good but cant help with current info. We
planned to
camp a few nights but left next day thinking it not as exiting as anticipated......cheers....oldbaz.
Reply By: Govo - Tuesday, Jun 28, 2011 at 21:46
Tuesday, Jun 28, 2011 at 21:46
Hey john,talked to a mate in
Longreach tonight who has a daughter who works in the local info centre and was advised that Diamantina NP is now open, myself and a few others are heading out that way in 3 weeks time.Hopeing to do Lark Quarry then go thru Diamantina NP then up to
Lawn Hill NP,
Normanton then across the gulf to musgrave, am trying to get info on the
mitchell river at Kowamyama to see if it is ok to cross.
Follow Up By: Member - Glenda and Max C (QLD - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 08:04
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 08:04
Govo
We are leaving next Tuesday for
Lawn Hill , via
Bladensburg,Lark Quarry and hopefully Diamantina. We might catch up on the road.
Max
Follow Up By: jdh - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 12:02
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 12:02
Govo, This access road you are talking about. Is it the
Winton to Lark Quarry then the Diamantina River Road past Old Cork Station? From the reports I have the
Diamantina Lakes to Davenport Downs is open though I dont know about the road to
Boulia. The
ranger says the
park is open but that after 1.5inch rain last week some "travelers" have ripped the road up trying to get in/out! The
ranger from
Bladensburg is going to check the roads this week. As far as traveling from
Lawn Hill we last drove straight up from
Lawn Hill to Bowthorne Station and then the
Savannah Way. Your trip sounds like fun and thanks for the information. Cheers
Follow Up By: Govo - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 16:37
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 16:37
Max, if you see 2
orange and 1 green and 1 blue motorbikes all loaded up and old fellas riding them ,then that will be our mob, for sure say gidday if you come across us.( a warm cuppa would be much appreciated :)
jdh, not sure where the road was closed but from what I understand it was the road thru Diamantina via
Hunters Gorge from the ol cork rd, not sure if this is where your headed.
Cheers Govo
Reply By: Member - Myles F (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 18:07
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 18:07
Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundG’day John,
I hope you get there.
Diamantina Lakes National
Park is rated in the top 10 Australian National Parks with very good reason… I can tell you though, it’s not because of the facilities provided. We camped right on the river and caught a Yellowbelly with every shrimp offered. A couple of photos attached to whet your appetite.
Myles.
Reply By: p_marns - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:00
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:00
hey guys, anyone here tell me how long from
birdsville to davenport downs?
Follow Up By: Govo - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:10
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:10
Going by the map I have it's about 400 kms
Follow Up By: jdh - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:17
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:17
Distance is 387km via
Birdsville Dev Track then up through Currawilla, Palparara to Davenport Downs. I think the Eyre Dev track to
Boulia is not open.
Follow Up By: Govo - Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:29
Wednesday, Jun 29, 2011 at 20:29
whats 13 km between friends :)
Follow Up By: jdh - Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:57
Thursday, Jun 30, 2011 at 07:57
Govo,
Your follow up poped up on my screen just as I hit the submit button. But regarding the 13km. These could be the hard
miles (note doesnt sound as good if you say the hard kilometres). :-)
Reply By: Govo - Friday, Jul 01, 2011 at 17:39
Friday, Jul 01, 2011 at 17:39
Hey guys, new update on Diamantina NP, they had more rain out that way so at this stage the
park and road is still closed, have to contact the
ranger out there on thurs next week for a update, he was hopeing the Northen section of the
Park will be open by then..here's hopeing anyway.
Follow Up By: jdh - Saturday, Jul 02, 2011 at 08:27
Saturday, Jul 02, 2011 at 08:27
Thanks for the update Govo. We have rangers number. Its now make or break - we're off with fingers crossed and alternative plans in the map folder.