boab seeds..

Anyone ever tried eatin these??

While at the 4b show there was a chick sellin paintings that lived in Kunnanurra...

She had a few and was eatin the pulp out of them... Kinda tangy and nice!

Yes I am bored.

Reply By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:31

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:31
Geez . . . you must be bored Truckster . . . .

Nup . . . never tried um.

(equally as bored).
AnswerID: 38378

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:33

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:33
Thinking of somewhere to setup my new train layout..

N Scale, wanna 6ft x 8ft or somethin like that. Just no spare room in house.. :(
FollowupID: 27879

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 15:13

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 15:13
You need a board on a pulley system off the roof . . .

Never done that in a house, but used it in a garage for the same thing.
FollowupID: 27886

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 15:25

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 15:25
yea done that for roof rack..

Thought about it, but yea wait for a bigger house, or might ask dad if I can use one of the 4 spare rooms him and mum have!
FollowupID: 27889

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 22:57

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 22:57
Truckster,

Why dont you make a pelmet run along the wall for your train set. Then you can let them run all the time and it will be out of the way of little hands(and bigger kids). You will be able to use the whole house that way. I saw this once somewhere but for the life of me can't remember where.....?Willem

Always going somewhere
FollowupID: 27938

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 23:21

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 23:21
Old bloke in Cronulla had a set that ran thru the walls of his house...

It also went down stairs to the garage! this was HO/OO back in mid 70s though!

I used to spend HOURS drooling over it as a 10-13yr old, I met him while working at George Brays Train Shop in Gymea, I was sort of stocking the shelves boy!
FollowupID: 27943

Reply By: Andrew - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:34

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:34
...and what were the boab seeds like... Bored too.
AnswerID: 38379

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:40

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:40
Hey Truckster - what caught your attention - the chick or the unusual snack?
I've tried the pulpy stuff the seeds sit in, but never the seeds themselves. I can think of lots of better things to eat.
AnswerID: 38381

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:52

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:52
LOL the paintings were actually stunning!
She werent bad..

the pulp is kewl, the seeds are a PITA! KFC is better, but they are HIGH in Vitamin C.. one of the highest things..
FollowupID: 27881

Reply By: dogart - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:44

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:44
Truckster,
Boab - Adansonia Gregorii
my partner is from Derby (grand daughter of Rusty from Rusty's Drapery) and used to eat them when she was a kid.
She says that yeah the white pulp is tangy and a bit chalky but nice enough to eat
a few, but hey ya eat anything when you're a kid!
Looked in my book "Bush Tucker" but couldn't find any further info on the boab.

wolf
AnswerID: 38382

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:47

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:47
Presume you're talking about the whitish pulp between the casing and the seed itself. If so then yeah I've tried them. Found a lot of variance in the taste though. Some not bad, others quite dry, fibrousy with not much flavour...I think it depends on the age of the seed. According the the bush tuckerman Les Hiddins, this pulp is a very rich source of Vitamin C.

:o) Melissa Petrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog
AnswerID: 38384

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:53

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:53
Hey Truckster,

A bit off subject but I was wondering if you can give me a link to Dave of the Cube Lock rear storage system "fame". Looked at it once before and tried a link you once provided from the archives but seems to be out-of-date now.

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
http://members.westnet.com.au/flatdog
FollowupID: 27882

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:55

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:55
Thats the stuff.. I'll get a photo in a minute, there aint much pulp left though!!!

Les Hiddens - LEGEND..

"Les Hiddins, the "Bush Tucker Man", once inferred a connection between these two unusual residents of the Kimberleys. The seed of the boab is edible - it is high in vitamin C - and it was suggested that if the artists of the Bradshaws came to north-western Australia from Africa, boab seeds, also known as "sour gourd", may well have come with them as a transportable food source."
FollowupID: 27883

Follow Up By: flappan - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 15:15

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 15:15
Ah the Bush Tucker Man . . . what a bloke.

Got all his vids . . . too bad he doesn't do that anymore : (
FollowupID: 27887

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 15:23

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 15:23
yea got all his books, vids, and even have the hat :D

Les is one person I would LOVE to meet and spend a week travelling with.. what an opportunity to see some weird and wonderful places.
FollowupID: 27888

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:51

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 14:51
Mate I reckon it would be like eating a mouse, all furry. Maybe if they were a bit green, but the ones I have seen thay are all dry a bit like poly styrene
AnswerID: 38386

Reply By: Wombat - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 18:02

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 18:02
I think I may have inadvertantly eaten one of those boab seeds when I was about twenty and the bloody tree is growing inside me. That would explain my current shape. Might make an appointment to see an arborist!"Live today as if there may be no tomorrow"

Wombat
AnswerID: 38414

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 20:50

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 20:50
I think you current shape has more to do with alchohol consumption than the consuming of a boab tree seed. !!!'S Rioghail Mo Dhream

FollowupID: 27919

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 20:48

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 20:48
They should be called bloab seeds.....

See...if eaten whole they expand in your tummy and are difficult to pass......

They also result in much gas being created inside there........

I knew a bloke up north who used to eat them regularly....then as a party trick he would set an 44 gallon drum up at ten paces, drop his dacks and try to hit the drum while farting the pips out...........

Boab seeds are quite nutricious, you know......
Willem

Always going somewhere
AnswerID: 38438

Follow Up By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 22:34

Tuesday, Nov 25, 2003 at 22:34
G'day Willie, just as well telly wasn't available when your out bush. You wouldn't of had nearly as much fun. lolne cede malis
FollowupID: 27934

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 00:16

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 00:16
ya hit the nail on da head there Willem
fairly edible pulp but seed why would ya.
have a recipe here somewhere i think.
Met Les hiddinds a few years back when he was making a map and guide reference book for the Norforce guys up north. (DERRRR)
some weird grub there mate!
pity aussie bush grub died out a bit i love to use the goods when i can ..
will post some recipes when i find them.
1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
AnswerID: 38484

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 00:45

Wednesday, Nov 26, 2003 at 00:45
Oh yes the Adansonia gregorii Boab Tree,

shirt loads of them on adult trees when green they are best roasted then the fruit inside is stewed and slightly more edible or if the nut is kept you can roast the inner seeds like peanuts too.
kind of looks like nougat when fruit is left do dry before opening.
makes you very thirsty if eaten this way though.,
lucky there should be a swollen boab tree nearby?
the tree also has an edible sap when mixed with water.

How bored am i???????1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
FollowupID: 27959

Reply By: Member - Bear - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 21:53

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 21:53
Truckster

We were on the Gibb in Sept and spent the night with Norm and his family at Ellanbrae Station (spelling??) they were great people but I was amazed that there kids ran towards a boab tree after they heard a nut/seed fall to the ground!! They would run so as to beat the other kids to the feed. They loved them!

Has anyony tried to grow one from seed??
AnswerID: 38736

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 22:33

Thursday, Nov 27, 2003 at 22:33
I got some seeds here, think it would look good in Melbourne with 2 Boabs one each side of the driveway? :)
FollowupID: 28698

Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 10:49

Friday, Nov 28, 2003 at 10:49
I bet you would be the first in your street!!
FollowupID: 82644

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 29, 2003 at 10:31

Saturday, Nov 29, 2003 at 10:31
Wonder if you need council permission to dig a hole in the ground (thinking of the thing on ads for current affair where you need a PERMIT to trim a tree didnt watch the show)
FollowupID: 82719